Results 1 to 10 of 10

Topic: USB-recording

  • Topic Tools
  • Display
  • Bookmark and Share

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    New Member
    Points: 751, Level: 7
    Level completed: 1%, Points required for next Level: 199
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Môtiers/Switzerland
    Posts
    3
    Points
    751
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    USB-recording

    I have a problem with my new 46PFL9706K02 TV ( firmware Q5551-0.14.93.0_bld11a release for TV550R3).
    I have appended a Western Digital 500 gB (usb 3.0 / 2.0 compatible) harddisk to the usb port and tried to format it. The formatting process started, ended correctly, but then the writing speed test failed. It gave me the message that the speed is not enough and to find a a faster external drive. ( i am surprised, since a 3.0 usb drive is the latest issue on the market). Furthermore, when I go to the TV guide, my external drive is not recognized, as I am asked to connect my external memory.

    Can someone tell me which external driver I can use to record on it. Are there compatible brands and other which are not? Or if there is a bug with the TV can Philips fix it.

    The guy at MediaMarkt told me that i have bought the best TV on the market. I have put the price, and i'd love to have a TV that works correctly.

  2. #2
    Bronze Member
    Points: 843, Level: 7
    Level completed: 47%, Points required for next Level: 107
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    23
    Points
    843
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Dan64 View Post
    I have a problem with my new 46PFL9706K02 TV ( firmware Q5551-0.14.93.0_bld11a release for TV550R3).
    I have appended a Western Digital 500 gB (usb 3.0 / 2.0 compatible) harddisk

    ...
    The guy at MediaMarkt told me that i have bought the best TV on the market. I have put the price, and i'd love to have a TV that works correctly.
    500GB --> 2.5" external drive, powered by USB?

    There are compatibility issues between USB 3.0 and USB 2.0 devices, even if every printed or online advertising claims "backward compatibility". Some can be solved by firmware (TV, HDD), some by an external power supply.
    USB 2.0 ports are delivering 0.5 Ampere max. at 5 V according to USB specs, USB 3.0 ports 0.9 A. Most 2,5" - HDDs are consuming some 1A during spin-up. Philips has decided for the USB 2.0 specs. Come in and find out.
    The 2.5" HDD power issue can be solved by an USB 3.0 hub with power supply - sometimes. USB 3.0 to not run into the low power trap again.

    P.S.: If i would know the experienced owner of an Radio & TV - Shop since decades, i would trust his statements as "you have bought this or that".
    Now it's the turn of "the guy at MediaMarkt" to solve your compatibility issue.

  3. #3
    New Member
    Points: 751, Level: 7
    Level completed: 1%, Points required for next Level: 199
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Môtiers/Switzerland
    Posts
    3
    Points
    751
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Thanks for your advice. I'll try an 3.0 usb external driver with power supply, if I can find any. I'll tell you then.
    I understand you're being ironical about the Mediamarkt guy ... They all say that I guess when it comes to buying a device... still, this is no "ordinary" TV.

  4. #4
    New Member
    Points: 751, Level: 7
    Level completed: 1%, Points required for next Level: 199
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Môtiers/Switzerland
    Posts
    3
    Points
    751
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    A usb 2.0 with power supply is what is needed. I've bought one and it works! I have recorded a few films but as I have read recently, the system needs to be improved. You can only record what you are watching and this is a pity. Phillips should cope with that.

  5. #5
    Platinum Member
    Points: 4,691, Level: 20
    Level completed: 11%, Points required for next Level: 359
    Overall activity: 7.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registeredTagger Second Class1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Athens/Greece
    Posts
    640
    Points
    4,691
    Level
    20
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    But the TV has only one tuner. How can you watch one and record something else?
    A second tuner is needed for this.

  6. #6
    Platinum Member
    Points: 8,349, Level: 27
    Level completed: 34%, Points required for next Level: 401
    Overall activity: 20.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered5000 Experience Points1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    591
    Points
    8,349
    Level
    27
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    4
    This is kind a funny thing with the tuners.

    I mean, if you want to be on the safe side, you buy a TV with DVB-C, DVB-S and DVB-T tuner. The you can move and still use your TV without an additional box.

    If you want to use recording without being limited to watch the same channel you are recording, you have to double up the tuners ... So 6 tuners are needed.

    I would prefer two slots to buy the appropriate tuners and if I move or the protocols are changing for some reason, I can exchange them by the proper ones.

    Else, there should be some consolidation and partitioning of common functions/resources to manage that effort. I see some potential for innovations regarding this. If you have something, you are moreless alone in the market.

  7. #7
    Platinum Member
    Points: 4,691, Level: 20
    Level completed: 11%, Points required for next Level: 359
    Overall activity: 7.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registeredTagger Second Class1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Athens/Greece
    Posts
    640
    Points
    4,691
    Level
    20
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    In reality, these extra tuners have limited functionality, as SAT providers promote their receivers, for example.
    What we need are TVs with two DVB-T tuners. The rest are not thus important.

    What is strange, is that Philips TVs in the past were popular for having double tuners. I have two of them (one CRT and one LCD). These TVs could not record at all. Now that we have recording, we are missing the second tuner...

    The guys that design the products need to think more about all these

  8. #8
    Bronze Member
    Points: 603, Level: 6
    Level completed: 27%, Points required for next Level: 147
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Stuttgart/Deutschland, 32PFL7496K/2 (3-2012)
    Posts
    19
    Points
    603
    Level
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    3 tuners are one?

    so my TV has 3 tuners (DVB-T, C and S)
    I can select 2 tuners (e.g. DVB-T and DVB-S). So, why can´t I record a programm with the SAT-Tuner and watch anotherone with the DVB-T-Tuner?

  9. #9
    Moderator
    Points: 13,966, Level: 35
    Level completed: 88%, Points required for next Level: 84
    Overall activity: 47.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!10000 Experience Points
    Philips - Thomas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    1,485
    Points
    13,966
    Level
    35
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 14 Times in 13 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Hi

    no you don't have 3 Tuners.
    The TV has a Tripple Tuner so 1 Tuner, capable of handeling 3 different Signals.

    Regards
    Thomas
    Forum Mod

  10. #10
    Bronze Member
    Points: 603, Level: 6
    Level completed: 27%, Points required for next Level: 147
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Stuttgart/Deutschland, 32PFL7496K/2 (3-2012)
    Posts
    19
    Points
    603
    Level
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    ok. Thanks - that´s pity

Similar Topics

  1. USB Recording: your experiences
    By Philips - Thomas in forum TV: USB-recording
    Replies: 111
    Last Post: 05-27-2012, 09:28 PM
  2. USB-recording with no EPG available
    By noid in forum TV: USB-recording
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 04-24-2012, 12:24 PM
  3. USB recording, again and again (37PFL7666H)
    By Vince69 in forum TV: USB-recording
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-28-2012, 08:24 AM
  4. usb recording not possible in Greece
    By limpitakis in forum TV: USB-recording
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 12-23-2011, 07:33 PM
  5. 9715 and USB-Recording !?
    By stargate in forum TV: USB-recording
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 11-01-2011, 03:10 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •