Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 24

Topic: Hmp5000/12

  • Topic Tools
  • Display
  • Bookmark and Share
  1. #1
    New Member
    Points: 847, Level: 7
    Level completed: 49%, Points required for next Level: 103
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    London
    Posts
    5
    Points
    847
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    Hmp5000/12

    Hi,
    I have just purchased HMP5000/12 and I am unable to connect this to the Sky router DG934G. I have followed the instructions as mentioned in the user guide and using the correct password.
    The router has WPA-PSK key. I get the message as Test Connection Fail. I have no problem with any of the other devices - mobile phones, laptops, tablets.
    Can anyone help?
    Best regards

  2. #2
    Diamond Member
    Points: 49,796, Level: 69
    Level completed: 4%, Points required for next Level: 1,354
    Overall activity: 100.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience Points25000 Experience Points
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    5,925
    Points
    49,796
    Level
    69
    Thanks
    146
    Thanked 159 Times in 141 Posts
    Rep Power
    9
    Hi,

    you can try the following:

    1) restart your router and test again
    2) deactivate encryption on your WLAN (only for testing purposes)

    Toengel@Alex

  3. #3
    New Member
    Points: 847, Level: 7
    Level completed: 49%, Points required for next Level: 103
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    London
    Posts
    5
    Points
    847
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Hi,
    Thanks for responding.
    I have done both but did not work.
    Do I have to add services/open any ports in the router? Currently, all in bound services are blocked in the router.
    Thanks

  4. #4
    New Member
    Points: 666, Level: 6
    Level completed: 58%, Points required for next Level: 84
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    1
    Points
    666
    Level
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Hello,

    I do have exactly the same problem as youwith my new HMP5000.
    The Media player recognizes my WIFI network but I get the message Test Connection Fail when connecting using the correct WPA password.

    Did you fix it?

    I contacted my BBOx provider and also The Philipps Company.
    So far no solutions.
    Here is what i tried and did not work :
    - restarting the router
    - reseting the HMP 5000
    - changing the WIFI frenquency
    - deactivating encryption
    - changing WPA key to WEP key
    - deactivating router firewall
    - deactivating router MAC address filter
    - deconnecting other connected PCs, tablets and network printer


    Connecting the HMP5000 through Ethernet cable is working fine.
    As well as connecting HMP5000 to another open wifi network.

    Please help !
    Fred

  5. #5
    New Member
    Points: 847, Level: 7
    Level completed: 49%, Points required for next Level: 103
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    London
    Posts
    5
    Points
    847
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Hi Fred
    I could not get this working.
    I have made my mobile a wireless hotspot and the media player connects without any issue. So I am guessing that this is an issue with the router. I am checking still but am not able to make much progress.
    Best regards

  6. #6
    Gold Member
    Points: 3,429, Level: 16
    Level completed: 95%, Points required for next Level: 21
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Overdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!Veteran

    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Santiago, Chile
    Posts
    307
    Points
    3,429
    Level
    16
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 13 Times in 11 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    Hi !

    Make sure you have the latest Firmware installed in your router.
    Also, ensure that you are not using MAC filtering (aka "Wireless Access List in your router).
    Check that you use a fixed WiFi Channel (do not us "Auto Channel" mode).
    And last, check if you router have any suspect "special "WiFi modes, if so, turn them off (at least for testing purposes).

    Cheers !

  7. #7
    New Member
    Points: 847, Level: 7
    Level completed: 49%, Points required for next Level: 103
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    London
    Posts
    5
    Points
    847
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Thanks Tias. I have checked all of these and it has not worked unfortunately. Any other ideas?

  8. #8
    New Member
    Points: 649, Level: 6
    Level completed: 50%, Points required for next Level: 101
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Canberra
    Posts
    1
    Points
    649
    Level
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    I'm having the same trouble, I'll call Philips tomorrow. In the meantime thanks SuryaReddy for the mobile hotspot tip, like you I can connect to that without any problem.

  9. #9
    New Member
    Points: 847, Level: 7
    Level completed: 49%, Points required for next Level: 103
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    London
    Posts
    5
    Points
    847
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by karinw View Post
    I'm having the same trouble, I'll call Philips tomorrow. In the meantime thanks SuryaReddy for the mobile hotspot tip, like you I can connect to that without any problem.
    Hi Karinw
    Did you get anywhere with Philips Support?
    Surya

  10. #10
    New Member
    Points: 399, Level: 4
    Level completed: 49%, Points required for next Level: 51
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registered250 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Sydney Australia
    Posts
    4
    Points
    399
    Level
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    I am connected okay to my wireless network and can access Facebook, Youtube etc. BUT I can't access files on my PC. I am constantly told my "Login Failed" Which login is it looking for? I have been using my Windows 7 login but it tells me that has failed. I am now beginning to understand why Dick Smith had this unit on special it simply won't do what I want i.e. play movies I have on my PC - Can you help by possibly explaining what password the bloody thing wants for shared folders?

  11. #11
    Points: 1,669, Level: 11
    Level completed: 40%, Points required for next Level: 181
    Overall activity: 10.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    LE
    Posts
    112
    Points
    1,669
    Level
    11
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    4
    Hi Neko,

    are you able to use DLNA features with other devices?
    like sharing contents from tablets to PC or TV?

    Regards,

    Andrea

  12. #12
    Gold Member
    Points: 3,429, Level: 16
    Level completed: 95%, Points required for next Level: 21
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Overdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!Veteran

    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Santiago, Chile
    Posts
    307
    Points
    3,429
    Level
    16
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 13 Times in 11 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    Hi !

    Instead of trying with Shared Folders (which I have never been able to make work as I want either, although I can't claim I've invested very much time into it since there are better ways, read on) install a decent UPnP/DLNA server in your PC and off you go !
    I can recommend Serviio or Twonky.

    Cheers !

  13. #13
    New Member
    Points: 399, Level: 4
    Level completed: 49%, Points required for next Level: 51
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registered250 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Sydney Australia
    Posts
    4
    Points
    399
    Level
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Hey Tias! Thanks so much for the advice. I installed Serviio (it's brilliant) and it is able to see my HMP5000. I've added folders to the library. Can you tell me what I must do when I open the HMP5000 to play a file? Sorry to sound porangi, but I learn better with detailed explanation.

  14. #14
    New Member
    Points: 399, Level: 4
    Level completed: 49%, Points required for next Level: 51
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registered250 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Sydney Australia
    Posts
    4
    Points
    399
    Level
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    I've worked it out. Can access everything. You're a God! New question do you know if I can attach Apple TV (so it plays everything not just iTunes)?

  15. #15
    Diamond Member
    Points: 49,796, Level: 69
    Level completed: 4%, Points required for next Level: 1,354
    Overall activity: 100.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience Points25000 Experience Points
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    5,925
    Points
    49,796
    Level
    69
    Thanks
    146
    Thanked 159 Times in 141 Posts
    Rep Power
    9
    Hi,

    Apple TV can easily connected via HDMI directly to your TV.

    Toengel@Alex

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Topics

  1. HMP5000 slow wireless
    By Jeffrey in forum TV: Other
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 01-08-2012, 11:58 AM
  2. Question about HMP5000
    By Gintaras in forum TV: Connectivity
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-19-2011, 01:04 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •