Page 14 of 14 FirstFirst ... 4121314
Results 196 to 203 of 203
  • Topic Tools
  • Display
  • Bookmark and Share
  1. #196
    New Member
    Points: 553, Level: 6
    Level completed: 2%, Points required for next Level: 197
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Tagger Second ClassNew Achievement!3 months registered500 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Posts
    3
    Points
    553
    Level
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by jeromec View Post
    2 weeks later, after sending some info to Philips, I had zero solution from them. (the issue is sound drops for multichannel audio via Toslink or HDMI ARC)
    I just wanted to be able to download the previous firmware (Android 6.x) which did not have the same issues.
    The new firmware QM163E_U_0.15.251.1 released a few days ago did not make any improvement.

    Luckily, the 27€ HDMI 2.0 switch with optical audio output I found on Aliexpress arrived sooner than expected.
    Problem solved, by bypassing the TV. I will just have to adjust audio delay on my soundbar when using game mode.
    Update : not solved - the switch now refuses to do HDR or HDCP2.2 - I am starting to wonder if I forgot to test that yesterday.

    Philips should be ashamed of this.
    Could someone from Philips:
    - please tell me they are aware of the problem and going to fix it?
    - send me a link to the previous Android 6.x firmware, which doe not mess up multichannel audio output?

    Have a great day :-)
    Hi,
    I used to have a similar problem to this.
    Which HDMI port is your amplifier (ARC) plugged into?
    I originally had mine in HDMI 1 but suffered sound skips/drops.
    Moving it into HDMI 4 fixed this problem, but then it depends on your amp and devices etc.
    I have most of my devices plugged directly into the TV as my soundbase doesn't support hdr.

    I still have an issue where I get static type sound clicks sometimes, powering off the tv and removing the HDMI cable usually resolves this, may be some HDMI handshake issue.

  2. #197
    Bronze Member
    Points: 211, Level: 2
    Level completed: 61%, Points required for next Level: 39
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!100 Experience Points31 days registered

    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Posts
    16
    Points
    211
    Level
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by helicon9 View Post
    Hi,
    I used to have a similar problem to this.
    Which HDMI port is your amplifier (ARC) plugged into?
    I originally had mine in HDMI 1 but suffered sound skips/drops.
    Moving it into HDMI 4 fixed this problem, but then it depends on your amp and devices etc.
    I have most of my devices plugged directly into the TV as my soundbase doesn't support hdr.

    I still have an issue where I get static type sound clicks sometimes, powering off the tv and removing the HDMI cable usually resolves this, may be some HDMI handshake issue.
    I only tested with ARC using an HDMI ARC audio extractor and it did make things any better. I plugged it to HDMI3, which is one of the non-HDMI2.0 ones.
    I normally use the optical digital audio out.
    It worked perfectly before the Android 7 update.
    So I am really unhappy with Philips not providing me with a link to the previous firmware (the last with Android 6). If anyone has it, I would really appreciate if you could send it to me in PM.

    Tomorrow, a HDMI 2.0 audio extractor should arrive. Since I already have a working HDMI 2.0 switch, my problems should be solved, except for the need to adjust audio delay on my soundbar when I enter or exit game mode :-)
    And now I keep a copy of all versions of software for my TV, for when Philips messes something up in the future.

  3. #198
    New Member
    Points: 348, Level: 3
    Level completed: 98%, Points required for next Level: 2
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!3 months registered250 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Posts
    9
    Points
    348
    Level
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Caroline or any one from Philips/TPVision crew?? The lack of a response and contact from you does not look serious.

  4. #199
    New Member
    Points: 737, Level: 6
    Level completed: 94%, Points required for next Level: 13
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!3 months registered500 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Posts
    8
    Points
    737
    Level
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    CAROLINE,
    why TP Vision ignore audio troubles?
    WHY????
    What you need to prove you have finally done a good firmware.
    Users are active, feadback is great and what do you do? Do not fix it ...
    WHY !!!!???

  5. #200
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,022, Level: 8
    Level completed: 36%, Points required for next Level: 128
    Overall activity: 32.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!1 year registered1000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Posts
    41
    Points
    1,022
    Level
    8
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 7 Times in 5 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    guys i don't want to defend philips, but ARC should be used just for audio that come from internal tv audio, like andoid apps and tv tuners (and it works). If you want to go to your AVR from external devices you must connest them directly to Avr then connect AVR output to hdmi 1or 2 .
    connecting devices to tv then go to AVR is not a good idea even with other tv brands.

    bye

  6. #201
    Bronze Member
    Points: 211, Level: 2
    Level completed: 61%, Points required for next Level: 39
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!100 Experience Points31 days registered

    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Posts
    16
    Points
    211
    Level
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by mrmojo666 View Post
    guys i don't want to defend philips, but ARC should be used just for audio that come from internal tv audio, like andoid apps and tv tuners (and it works). If you want to go to your AVR from external devices you must connest them directly to Avr then connect AVR output to hdmi 1or 2 .
    connecting devices to tv then go to AVR is not a good idea even with other tv brands.

    bye
    It is ok to defend Philips of course. I just wish they would help, and they are currently not helping much.

    I do not use ARC (I would if it helped me solved the issue, which is why I tried it). Which by the way is meant to be used with all kinds of sources, which is precisely its purpose.
    I have a good but old Denon soundbar+subwoofer that does not have HDMI inputs, only digital audio (coaxial and optical).
    That is why I use the Philips-provided digital audio out plug.
    It worked perfectly with my previous TV.
    It also worked perfectly with this TV before the Android 7 software update.
    Last edited by jeromec; 12-14-2017 at 11:04 AM.

  7. #202
    Bronze Member
    Points: 211, Level: 2
    Level completed: 61%, Points required for next Level: 39
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!100 Experience Points31 days registered

    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Posts
    16
    Points
    211
    Level
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    No more audio issues after downgrading the firmware!!

    TL;DR I installed the last pre-Android 7 firmware (QM163E_000.010.077.002) and I have a working TV again - no more dropouts for 5.1 audio via the TV's optical audio out.
    And it certainly would be the same via HDMI ARC.

    The downgrade procedure is poorly documented - you have to use the Android recovery menu, then wipe the cache partition, install the old firmware, wipe the cache partition again, then reboot.
    ...but my TV went into a reboot loop. Updating to the latest firmware always solved it.
    What finally worked was copying the deletion tools from the latest firmware (they're in /etc/virgin/), and apply them in the Android recovery menu (I had also erased all data via the "re-install TV" menu option but I am not sure if that was helpful).

    I am vey unhappy of the total lack of help in solving my issue by Philips here as well as by Philips customer support in France. My TV is very much under warranty, Philips deteriorated a very basic feature and didn't help at all. I ended spending way too much time as well as money (trying to find a working HDMI2.0 2160p HDR compatible switch with digital audio out).

    Thanks for those who helped me. If anyone needs, I can provide more details about the process I followed in PM.

  8. #203
    Moderator
    Points: 3,656, Level: 17
    Level completed: 52%, Points required for next Level: 194
    Overall activity: 99.6%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!Overdrive3 months registered1000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Posts
    305
    Points
    3,656
    Level
    17
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 22 Times in 20 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Hello all,

    New software is available to download, therefore this thread is being closed.
    Please continue discussion under 0.15.251.1 thread.

    I would also like to assure you, that your feedback is being passed to the development department.
    Regards,
    Caroline
    Philips TV Forum Moderator

Similar Topics

  1. Experience thread - QM163E_U_0.10.77.2 for 6401-7601 and 6432-6452
    By Caroline – Philips in forum TV: Software 2016 models
    Replies: 109
    Last Post: 10-12-2017, 03:13 PM
  2. Experience Thread QM163E_U_0.10.15.1 (6XX1, 7X01, 7181, 7601)
    By Toengel in forum TV: Software 2016 models
    Replies: 156
    Last Post: 07-18-2017, 01:29 PM
  3. Experience thread - QM163E_U_0.1.15.108 for 6401, 6581 and 7601
    By Philips - Mads in forum TV: Software 2016 models
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 04-23-2017, 12:44 PM
  4. Experience thread - QM163E_U_0.6.152.0 for 65X1 and 71X1
    By Philips - Mads in forum TV: Software 2016 models
    Replies: 32
    Last Post: 03-17-2017, 09:49 AM
  5. Technical feedback - QM163E_U_0.1.15.108 for 6401, 6581 and 7601
    By Philips - Mads in forum TV : Software 2016 models (feedback template)
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 01-31-2017, 10:09 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •