Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 16
  1. #1
    New Member
    Points: 101, Level: 1
    Level completed: 51%, Points required for next Level: 49
    Overall activity: 99.1%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!100 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Posts
    5
    Points
    101
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 4 Times in 2 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    Youtube suddenly stopped loading

    I have the latest firmware for my 40pfc4909/fc Philips smart TV. Youtube had been working fine until this morning. Now when starting it, the Youtube logo comes up, then it changes to LOADING for a second, then it goes back to the Net TV app screen. The unit was purchased in late 2014. Netflix still works fine

  2. The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to robertn For This Useful Post:

    Gyhth (10-14-2017),Tadahiro55 (10-13-2017),tluther01 (10-12-2017)

  3. #2
    New Member
    Points: 12, Level: 1
    Level completed: 23%, Points required for next Level: 38
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!

    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Posts
    1
    Points
    12
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    0
    HI have the same problem. I have model 29PFL4908. It stopped working today, Oct 12, 2017

  4. The Following User Says Thank You to vgn For This Useful Post:

    tluther01 (10-12-2017)

  5. #3
    New Member
    Points: 56, Level: 1
    Level completed: 6%, Points required for next Level: 94
    Overall activity: 83.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!

    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Posts
    9
    Points
    56
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    i have a magnavox 50mv336x/f7 and i have the same problem..it was working great yesterday after noon then poof i went to watch youtube videos last night ..and it would go to the screen saying loading then back to the menu

  6. The Following User Says Thank You to tluther01 For This Useful Post:

    robertn (10-13-2017)

  7. #4
    New Member
    Points: 37, Level: 1
    Level completed: 74%, Points required for next Level: 13
    Overall activity: 70.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!

    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Posts
    4
    Points
    37
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Same issue here on a 40PFL4609/F7 with a manufacture date of November 2014. I read in a few areas that they were looking to migrate the application away from being Flash, onto a new platform for how it works. Was that the case and its now impacting all models, with Youtube now being inoperable into the future?

    https://www.reddit.com/r/techsupport...lips_smart_tv/

    The url that the tv should hit to pull down the youtube functionality is https://www.youtube.com/tv, but have their changes stopped us from using it?
    Last edited by Gyhth; 10-12-2017 at 09:44 PM.

  8. #5
    New Member
    Points: 12, Level: 1
    Level completed: 23%, Points required for next Level: 38
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!

    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Posts
    1
    Points
    12
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    0
    Hi, my 40PFL4609 has suddenly stopped loading Youtube, is there anything that i can do to fix this problem?

  9. The Following User Says Thank You to IML777 For This Useful Post:

    Tadahiro55 (10-13-2017)

  10. #6
    New Member
    Points: 56, Level: 1
    Level completed: 6%, Points required for next Level: 94
    Overall activity: 83.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!

    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Posts
    9
    Points
    56
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Gyhth View Post
    Same issue here on a 40PFL4609/F7 with a manufacture date of November 2014. I read in a few areas that they were looking to migrate the application away from being Flash, onto a new platform for how it works. Was that the case and its now impacting all models, with Youtube now being inoperable into the future?

    https://www.reddit.com/r/techsupport...lips_smart_tv/

    The url that the tv should hit to pull down the youtube functionality is https://www.youtube.com/tv, but have their changes stopped us from using it?
    when i click that youtube link the logo that comes up with the play button and YouTube beside it is the new logo i get when i try to open my youtube app on my tv...before it was the red backgroung with youtube written out and no play button..its almost as it had an update and there is a bug or something

  11. The Following User Says Thank You to tluther01 For This Useful Post:

    robertn (10-13-2017)

  12. #7
    New Member
    Points: 101, Level: 1
    Level completed: 51%, Points required for next Level: 49
    Overall activity: 99.1%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!100 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Posts
    5
    Points
    101
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 4 Times in 2 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    I forgot to mention in my original post that like with tluther01, the Youtube logo changed from the red background to a new one, and that's when it stopped working. I hope there is a firmware fix for this, as I'd hate to have to replace a perfectly good TV because of this. Phillips, are you listening?

  13. The Following User Says Thank You to robertn For This Useful Post:

    ISCDiaz (10-13-2017)

  14. #8
    New Member
    Points: 14, Level: 1
    Level completed: 27%, Points required for next Level: 36
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!

    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Posts
    1
    Points
    14
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    I have the same problem, please fix it, my kids are so desperate

  15. #9
    New Member
    Points: 37, Level: 1
    Level completed: 74%, Points required for next Level: 13
    Overall activity: 70.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!

    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Posts
    4
    Points
    37
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by tluther01 View Post
    when i click that youtube link the logo that comes up with the play button and YouTube beside it is the new logo i get when i try to open my youtube app on my tv...before it was the red backgroung with youtube written out and no play button..its almost as it had an update and there is a bug or something
    Youtube has done an update, that's for sure; any app or service that uses Youtube mobile/outside of the PC version itself, uses the /tv url. This being a bug... I'm not sure that's the case. The issue is that they have been moving away from certain technologies and towards others - Flash was the original source for a lot of youtube's code, and now there are alternatives that are faster, better and more secure - and if I had to wager a guess, the TV's all intended to work with the older, Flash version of youtube. To work with the new, they'd nave to go back and release a new patch of code for an entire bank of Televisions simply to make them capable of understanding and using the new coding system that youtube has created. Be if Philips will be that company and resolve the issue properly, going back and implementing the necessary code, we'll have to wait and see, but given the age of the Televisions and the advancements of technology, I think some of us are simply stuck connecting our TV to our computer and creating some form of workaround that way.

  16. #10
    New Member
    Points: 12, Level: 1
    Level completed: 23%, Points required for next Level: 38
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!

    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Posts
    1
    Points
    12
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Same thing happened to us in the exact same way when accessing youtube. Contacted Phillips chat online where we were asked intrusive questions that violate our privacy as viewers. We were told youtube was asking this from phillips. When we said we would not answer every identifying factor, the operator became rude and wrote then they wouldn't forward all the other information we have them that would assist them in solving this. The biggest point is that it looks like our basic freedoms are being censored as they both are working together to identify viewers and monitor what each serialized numbered TV is watching on youtube. Thats why we refused to answer the questions of identifying factors such as the tv serial number, our router type and our isp provider, which would give youtube access to monitor and censor and identify users use of the app. They already got our tv serial number and all the info of what happened while trying to connect to youtube and that should be enough. But they wanted more and then became retaliatory. Therefore Phillips has lost our family as customers for life. We have the chat transcript and will share it with anyone who asks and on youtube. Welcome to 1984.

  17. #11
    New Member
    Points: 101, Level: 1
    Level completed: 51%, Points required for next Level: 49
    Overall activity: 99.1%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!100 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Posts
    5
    Points
    101
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 4 Times in 2 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Rather than wait for a fix from Phillips that may never come, I used this workaround: I bought a Roku Stream Stick for $40, which plugs into an HDMI socket. You have to go to their website to activate it and add the channels you want, Youtube being one of them. Within minutes I was back on Youtube. It's a shame I had to spend the money on this, instead of having the TV manufacturer address this problem, but it beats getting a new TV.

  18. #12
    New Member
    Points: 56, Level: 1
    Level completed: 6%, Points required for next Level: 94
    Overall activity: 83.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!

    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Posts
    9
    Points
    56
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by robertn View Post
    Rather than wait for a fix from Phillips that may never come, I used this workaround: I bought a Roku Stream Stick for $40, which plugs into an HDMI socket. You have to go to their website to activate it and add the channels you want, Youtube being one of them. Within minutes I was back on Youtube. It's a shame I had to spend the money on this, instead of having the TV manufacturer address this problem, but it beats getting a new TV.

    thats the telling thing..i no one from philips has even replied..they will prob give the standard "youtube is killing off the ap on older televisions"..but that is for tvs 2012 and older..mine was made in july of 2015

  19. #13
    New Member
    Points: 56, Level: 1
    Level completed: 6%, Points required for next Level: 94
    Overall activity: 83.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!

    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Posts
    9
    Points
    56
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    searching online apparently roku is having issues as well..seems like its on youtubes end

  20. #14
    New Member
    Points: 37, Level: 1
    Level completed: 74%, Points required for next Level: 13
    Overall activity: 70.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!

    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Posts
    4
    Points
    37
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by tluther01 View Post
    searching online apparently roku is having issues as well..seems like its on youtubes end
    It is. It's entirely to do with the latest update they did, breaking any connections to how things were done in the past and going forward with a new architecture, framework and code base. This isn't like a bug with youtube or anything, the new code is likely the new standard for the next 5-10 years, maybe longer depending on how the code ages, how the architecture ages, and what they're expecting to get out of this that they didn't get out of the old implementation.

    As an aside, any chance we can get a Philips rep to at least make a comment on this issue? The radio silence is making me question if there is any intention at all of doing anything.
    Last edited by Gyhth; 10-15-2017 at 02:45 PM.

  21. The Following User Says Thank You to Gyhth For This Useful Post:

    robertn (10-15-2017)

  22. #15
    New Member
    Points: 101, Level: 1
    Level completed: 51%, Points required for next Level: 49
    Overall activity: 99.1%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!100 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Posts
    5
    Points
    101
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 4 Times in 2 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Luckily the Roku I have is working fine. And yes, the silence from Phillips is why I decided to get the Roku in the first place.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Topics

  1. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-23-2017, 12:27 PM
  2. Youtube on 42pfl5008k/12 - Loading... and nothing more
    By gagimax in forum Smart TV: Apps
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12-27-2016, 08:05 PM
  3. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-26-2015, 08:27 AM
  4. Youtube app is not loading :-(
    By shurik1977 in forum Smart TV: Android Apps
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-17-2015, 09:32 AM
  5. SOS !!!Philips pfl6007 youtube not loading
    By shurik1977 in forum Smart TV: Apps
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-17-2015, 05:44 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •