Results 1 to 8 of 8
  • Topic Tools
  • Display
  • Bookmark and Share
  1. #1
    Diamond Member
    Points: 52,948, Level: 71
    Level completed: 27%, Points required for next Level: 1,102
    Overall activity: 100.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Toengel's Philips Blog
    Posts
    6,079
    Points
    52,948
    Level
    71
    Thanks
    160
    Thanked 181 Times in 162 Posts
    Rep Power
    11

    Question Are external devices (HDMI, Easylink) able to change picture format and settings?

    Hi,

    I have a problem.

    I have a Philips BD player connected to my 58PFL9955 with HDMI. Easylink is activated on both devices. Latest firmware on both devices.

    When using (playing media files, starting NetTV) the BDP the TV often changes the picture format (e.g. to auto fill - my setup was however "auto zoom" before). Sometimes even the screen edges will be changed - I have them at 0 on HDMI inputs.

    My question: do BDPs or Easylink or any other HDMI protocol have the possibility to change such settings on the TV? If not, what can be done to prevent an external device to change my setting of the TV?

    Toengel@Alex

  2. #2
    New Member
    Points: 614, Level: 6
    Level completed: 32%, Points required for next Level: 136
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    NH, USA
    Posts
    4
    Points
    614
    Level
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    It's possible, but I've never seen it in real life before. There is an HDMI standard that allows one device to control another. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/HDMI#CEC

  3. #3
    Silver Member
    Points: 3,881, Level: 18
    Level completed: 8%, Points required for next Level: 369
    Overall activity: 7.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Freddy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    219
    Points
    3,881
    Level
    18
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    Hi Alex!

    I recognize your problem, but it isn't caused by the BDP actually changing any settings on your tv.

    It is caused by the tv not recognizing your BDP as a device you've already setup. Sometimes the tv "thinks" the BDP is a new device, so it resets those settings to their defaults (Auto-Fill, Edges at 10 and Smart at Personal).

    The positive point in this is that, when you set them to your values every single time that this happens, at a certain point the problem remains gone. This is because, as far as I know, there are "only" three different ways the BDP can identify itself, so as soon as the tv knows the (same) settings for all these three IDs, it will recognize the BDP no matter what.

    Easy, isn't it!?...

  4. #4
    Diamond Member
    Points: 52,948, Level: 71
    Level completed: 27%, Points required for next Level: 1,102
    Overall activity: 100.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Toengel's Philips Blog
    Posts
    6,079
    Points
    52,948
    Level
    71
    Thanks
    160
    Thanked 181 Times in 162 Posts
    Rep Power
    11
    Hi,

    however, no fun at all...

    Toengel@Alex

  5. #5
    Silver Member
    Points: 3,881, Level: 18
    Level completed: 8%, Points required for next Level: 369
    Overall activity: 7.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Freddy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    219
    Points
    3,881
    Level
    18
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    And yet, yesterday it happened again... Those settings mentioned here, were reset to their defaults when I wanted to play a Harry Potter Blu-ray.
    I now know the following:

    - with EasyLink on there are two ways the player can show up in the Home menu. First of all, it can show itself simply as "Philips BDP", without any so called "Activities". In this case the settings are always remembered, never a problem.
    But when it shows itself complete with all its "Activities", i.e. "Play a Disk", "USB", "NetTV", "Computer" and "Configuration", then it always forgets its previous settings: all these "Activities" are individually reset to their defaults every day, when you turn it on.

    - Another problem with EasyLink is that sometimes the player completely disappears from the Home menu. This isn't that important though, as simply turning the player on is enough to get it reentered. But, as mentioned just now, when it then shows up with all its "Activities" your previous settings are lost. When it shows up just as "Philips BDP" it still remembers them.

    - Without EasyLink, all of these problems are gone: the player always stays in the Home menu on the spot where you put it, now mentioned as "Blu-ray Disk Player", and it also remembers its settings!

    So... what exactly is the reason why I "should" use EasyLink?... What are the "big" advantages?... Do you know?... Because if you don't, and I don't know it either, then I will just keep it deactivated from now on. Works a lot better, if you ask me.
    Last edited by Freddy; 04-01-2012 at 11:00 PM.

  6. #6
    Diamond Member
    Points: 52,948, Level: 71
    Level completed: 27%, Points required for next Level: 1,102
    Overall activity: 100.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Toengel's Philips Blog
    Posts
    6,079
    Points
    52,948
    Level
    71
    Thanks
    160
    Thanked 181 Times in 162 Posts
    Rep Power
    11
    Hi,

    I think without Easylink you cannot control your BDP with the TV remote.

    Toengel@Alex

  7. #7
    Silver Member
    Points: 3,881, Level: 18
    Level completed: 8%, Points required for next Level: 369
    Overall activity: 7.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Freddy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    219
    Points
    3,881
    Level
    18
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    Quote Originally Posted by Toengel View Post
    I think without Easylink you cannot control your BDP with the TV remote.
    Correct! And why would I want to do that?... I always use the BDP remote, which is optimized for its task, so...
    The only EasyLink thing I did use, was that I could just turn on the player and the tv would switch to it automatically, just as it does with SCART. Now I will have to switch to the BDP in the Home menu to watch it. Well... too bad.

  8. #8
    Silver Member
    Points: 3,881, Level: 18
    Level completed: 8%, Points required for next Level: 369
    Overall activity: 7.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Freddy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    219
    Points
    3,881
    Level
    18
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    Are external devices (HDMI, Easylink) able to change picture format and settings?


    Now I'm wondering about the other way around. Of course there is "Pixel Plus Link", that makes sure no picture enhancements are being done twice. If the tv can do the same tricks the external HDMI device (BDP in this case) can do, "Pixel Plus Link" favors those on the tv and disables the techniques on the BDP.

    But what if EasyLink is being disabled on the HDMI device, while still enabled on the tv itself? Is "Pixel Plus Link" linked to EasyLink and also disabled in this case, causing possible picture problems?... Or is "Pixel Plus Link" still being used, even though EasyLink is Off on the external (BDP) device?...

    Can anyone, Philips in particular, shed some light on this?...

    Thanks in advance!
    Last edited by Freddy; 04-03-2012 at 08:57 AM.

Similar Topics

  1. HTS7202/12 losing easyLink - Settings
    By pjaquet in forum Blu-ray: HTS Series
    Replies: 32
    Last Post: 08-25-2012, 03:54 PM
  2. Picture Format (aspect ratio)
    By Duke Newman in forum TV: User Interface
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 02-23-2012, 03:59 PM
  3. Problem with picture format with 32PFL4606H
    By sanchouz in forum TV: User Interface
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-25-2011, 08:27 PM
  4. Picture Format (aspect ratio)
    By Duke Newman in forum TV: User Interface
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-03-2011, 04:11 PM
  5. 8605 - Picture Format - Watching SD from antenna in 4:3 ?
    By bloodcell in forum TV: User Interface
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 05-29-2011, 08:20 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •