View Poll Results: Do you want a now/next box when zapping on your 2010-model Philips tv??

Voters
53. You may not vote on this poll
  • Yes

    53 100.00%
  • No

    0 0%
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 16 to 30 of 43
  • Topic Tools
  • Display
  • Bookmark and Share
  1. #16
    Silver Member
    Points: 1,869, Level: 12
    Level completed: 7%, Points required for next Level: 281
    Overall activity: 40.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Zoetermeer, NL
    Posts
    58
    Points
    1,869
    Level
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    5
    Philips has been lacking in customer relations lately.
    I've lost my faith completely and I'll never ever going to buy a Philips product again.
    And no, this is not just because this basic feature is missing on this pricy TV.
    Philips acts way too cocky and thinks customers will remain loyal.
    Other brands are trying to help out their clients with all kinds of updates, even on their older models.
    Philips is just thinking about their profits which has been disappointing in the last view years. Guess why...

  2. #17
    New Member
    Points: 1,434, Level: 10
    Level completed: 43%, Points required for next Level: 116
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    9
    Points
    1,434
    Level
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Philips sucks. But i already said that before. But now philips confirms that.
    No more Philips for me anymore.

  3. #18
    Gold Member
    Points: 4,927, Level: 20
    Level completed: 70%, Points required for next Level: 123
    Overall activity: 13.0%
    Achievements:
    1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!Veteran

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    382
    Points
    4,927
    Level
    20
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Philips - Thomas View Post
    Hi Guys

    I'm sorry to say but I have to inform you that this function will not come anymore.
    We have decided not to work on this feature anymore for actual or "older" sets, so we can put as much effort as we have into our new ranges and major updates for the actual TV's.
    I know this is sad for all of you, but we had to make decisions. I guess you will understand that this function is not critical for the use of the TV while others are, and there we need to focus on.

    Regards
    Thomas
    THIS IS TOTAL LACK OF COSTUMER CARE !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    DAMN! I BOUGHT A VERY VERY VERY EXPENSIVE TV AND I EXPECT THIS FEATURE ON MY 2010 TV.
    This is total arrongance on the part of Phllips, reason I will never ever buy a philips tv again.

    No way in hell Philips can do this to their customers. This is a feature that should be working on this kind of expensive tv, and I expect it to be there. If this wasnot mentioned in this forom two years ago, i would think Philips didnot know that customers want this feature. But donot come two years later that you are not willing to implement it as there have been a lot of complaint in this forum about this ESSENTIAL missing feature.

    WE DEMAND IT. This feature should be on this tv in the first place, as I expected it to be on board when I bought the tv (because every brand has it). So when it doesnot function I think I have the right to exchange the tv with Philips for a 2012 tv which does have it on board.

    AND YES THIS IS A CRITICAL FUNCTION BECAUSE EVERY TV OFF ALL OTHER BRANDS HAVE IT. If it wasnot a criticalo function we wouldnot have to SCREAM AND BEG for it in all these two years. Look at all reactions and questions about this feature on this forum AND YOU KNOW THIS IS CRITICAL for A LOT OF customers. So donot talk shit and MAKE THINGS BETTER. So we donot understand this decision because its a total wrong one and a prove of you ignorance, arrogance and total lack of customer care.
    Last edited by Erikrijnders; 03-02-2012 at 08:41 PM.

  4. #19
    Platinum Member
    Points: 5,068, Level: 21
    Level completed: 4%, Points required for next Level: 482
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Tagger Second ClassNew Achievement!Veteran5000 Experience Points
    Nettle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Padua, Italy
    Posts
    620
    Points
    5,068
    Level
    21
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    Quote Originally Posted by Philips - Thomas View Post
    Hi Guys

    I'm sorry to say but I have to inform you that this function will not come anymore.
    We have decided not to work on this feature anymore for actual or "older" sets, so we can put as much effort as we have into our new ranges and major updates for the actual TV's.

    Regards
    Thomas
    Sorry Thomas,

    one clarification more: are you meaning that the 2013 Philips TV families will be equipped with the now/next feature and the older families not ????????

    If yes, this is not a "royalties" reason, isn't it?

    If you decide to insert this feature in the next tv Philips models (N.B. only software, not HW implementation in it for sure), it means that the "now/next" feature is not trivial for you.

    Now/Next feautre is considered important from Philips to offer a competitive product that could leave the customer satisfied (and not envious of the LG, Samsung, Panasonic, etc... flat screens of the neighbors), isn't it?

    Are we (2009, 2010, 2011, 2012) Philips TV purchaser so insignificant?

    Which is thew reason of this scandalous decision?

    Please give us a feedback on it.

    Thanks. Regards
    Last edited by Nettle; 03-03-2012 at 09:21 AM.

  5. #20
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,110, Level: 8
    Level completed: 80%, Points required for next Level: 40
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    22
    Points
    1,110
    Level
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Shame about that.
    We were asking something not impossible. Also with the latest upgrades we havent seen anything new (except fixing something broken with another upgrade).

    So can we finally see something usefull and/or important in the future upgrades? One of those would be the one in the thread. Please consider that another time.

    Thanks

  6. #21
    Bronze Member
    Points: 938, Level: 7
    Level completed: 94%, Points required for next Level: 12
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Netherland
    Posts
    11
    Points
    938
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    I am not suprised, i already discovered Philips is a stupid company.

    No more Philips TV for me again.

    Bye.

  7. #22
    Silver Member
    Points: 2,368, Level: 13
    Level completed: 73%, Points required for next Level: 82
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registeredTagger Second Class1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    32PFL7606K FW Q5551-0.14.93.0_bld11a
    Posts
    188
    Points
    2,368
    Level
    13
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    4
    Quote Originally Posted by Philips - Thomas View Post
    I'm sorry to say but I have to inform you that this function will not come anymore.
    We have decided not to work on this feature anymore for actual or "older" sets, so we can put as much effort as we have into our new ranges and major updates for the actual TV's.
    Too bad, but I think it's good to concentrate on things which cannot easily be added through remote Jointspace.

    Still, with an extension to the remote Jointspace API, this could still be realized by a third party, e.g. by running a program on an external box (PC, DSL router, IPhone, ...).

    The problem is, two basic functions are still missing to realize this:
    1) Remotely listening to events/key presses to catch key presses&channel change events
    2) Showing an overlay without stealing the focus of the current application or possibility to pass events to the underlying window.

    Thomas, could you please pass this request to the Remote-Jointspace dev. team?
    (see also here)
    Last edited by matthias; 03-04-2012 at 06:58 PM.

  8. #23
    Gold Member
    Points: 4,927, Level: 20
    Level completed: 70%, Points required for next Level: 123
    Overall activity: 13.0%
    Achievements:
    1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!Veteran

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    382
    Points
    4,927
    Level
    20
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by matthias View Post
    Too bad, but I think it's good to concentrate on things which cannot easily be added through remote Jointspace.

    Still, with an extension to the remote Jointspace API, this could still be realized by a third party, e.g. by running a program on an external box (PC, DSL router, IPhone, ...).

    The problem is, two basic functions are still missing to realize this:
    1) Remotely listening to events/key presses to catch key presses&channel change events
    2) Showing an overlay without stealing the focus of the current application or possibility to pass events to the underlying window.

    Thomas, could you please pass this request to the Remote-Jointspace dev. team?
    (see also here)
    This is no pattent-question at all as in all other tv's of all other brands this function is there in the software. Philips must deliver this within the new software. We demand this for two years now, tis time Philips comes to action instead of ignoring us.

  9. #24
    Platinum Member
    Points: 5,068, Level: 21
    Level completed: 4%, Points required for next Level: 482
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Tagger Second ClassNew Achievement!Veteran5000 Experience Points
    Nettle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Padua, Italy
    Posts
    620
    Points
    5,068
    Level
    21
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    Quote Originally Posted by matthias View Post
    it's good to concentrate on things which cannot easily be added through remote Jointspace.
    Sorry Mathias but what Philips is claiming is only a palliative in my opinion: the now/next feature is trivial to be added and the effort necessary was nothing compared to other issues.

    Several forumers were asking for it from the beginning of this forum.

    Considering the the 2009-2010 models don't have several features (due to different hardware implementation) as usb recording and external keyboard, etc.. the now/next rejection for out TV models sounds like a pure teasing.

    Furthermore the now/next feature will be added to the recent Philips 2013 models. Second teasing! Besides insult to injury.

    The reason is only "business" without additional justifications (sorry, regretfully, etc...).

    The Philips managers should seriously consider the benefits that this decision will lead to brand reputation.

    For sure it's sinking.

    Regards
    Last edited by Nettle; 03-04-2012 at 07:23 PM.

  10. #25
    New Member
    Points: 589, Level: 6
    Level completed: 20%, Points required for next Level: 161
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    1
    Points
    589
    Level
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    So guys this is the demonstration that what customers says = 0.
    What would you expect? You have given your precious $$$ to philips, they already took it and they are happy of this.
    Adding a new feature to existing customers will not increase their earning

    Just spread this behaviour of Philips on all the TV forum...tell the people Philips just wants your money not your satisfaction.

  11. #26
    New Member
    Points: 598, Level: 6
    Level completed: 24%, Points required for next Level: 152
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    1
    Points
    598
    Level
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Hello,

    I'm really disappointed that this very useful functionality will not be implemented for the 2011 models. A lot of other TV's and receivers are offering this "now/next" informations since a long time ago.

    So please Philips, change your decision and give us an update with this functionality.

    Regards
    Ralf

  12. #27
    Silver Member
    Points: 2,368, Level: 13
    Level completed: 73%, Points required for next Level: 82
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registeredTagger Second Class1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    32PFL7606K FW Q5551-0.14.93.0_bld11a
    Posts
    188
    Points
    2,368
    Level
    13
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    4
    Quote Originally Posted by Nettle View Post
    The Philips managers should seriously consider the benefits that this decision will lead to brand reputation.
    For sure it's sinking.
    Agreed.
    But in my opinion, there are worse decisions than that.
    I've sort of given up on PHilips when I read that most of the new 2012 model will replace the current matt/nonglare panels with glare Samsung&LG panel (src).

    For me, the reason to buy a Philips was Ambilight and the matt panel (I hate the reflections on the Samsung).
    And I thought of upgrading my Philips once the new 6007 series is out - but I won't do that with a glare panel.
    I'll just keep my 7606 for now and hope to get at least the stuff working for this one and maybe more hooks to add own stuff. I have the feeling, we'll never see a file sorting, reliable USB recording and a stable media player for 1920x1080 content on 2011 TVs before Philips drops bug fixing and support for 2011 TVs.

    My only hope is that Philips left a path open to shell access to at least have something to play around with. But from what I've seen so far, Philips put A LOT of work in securing Linux on the PNX. I wish they had put their effort on stability and UI instead. Or Now/Next.
    Last edited by matthias; 03-05-2012 at 07:31 PM.

  13. #28
    New Member
    Points: 636, Level: 6
    Level completed: 44%, Points required for next Level: 114
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    3
    Points
    636
    Level
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    ...I guess you will understand that this function is not critical for the use of the TV
    Sorry this not a critical but is a basic function (like displaying the actual channel)! And it is working well in 2009 series TV-sets.

    This is definetly not the way of satisfying consumers needs! The competitors will be happy about rising sales!!!
    Last edited by hihiman; 03-16-2012 at 05:38 AM.

  14. #29
    Platinum Member
    Points: 5,068, Level: 21
    Level completed: 4%, Points required for next Level: 482
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Tagger Second ClassNew Achievement!Veteran5000 Experience Points
    Nettle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Padua, Italy
    Posts
    620
    Points
    5,068
    Level
    21
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    Quote Originally Posted by Philips - Thomas View Post
    I guess you will understand that this function is not critical for the use of the TV.

    Regards
    Thomas

    "Excusatio non petita, accusatio manifesta".

  15. #30
    Gold Member
    Points: 4,927, Level: 20
    Level completed: 70%, Points required for next Level: 123
    Overall activity: 13.0%
    Achievements:
    1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!Veteran

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    382
    Points
    4,927
    Level
    20
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by hihiman View Post
    Sorry this not a critical but is a basic function (like displaying the actual channel)! And it is working well in 2010 series TV-sets.

    This is definetly not the way of satisfying consumers needs! The competitors will be happy about rising sales!!!
    Indeed. Philips must not think we will buy a 2013 tv set because that one has a now/nect function. I HAVE HAD IT WITH PHILIPS, AND AFTER THIS SADNING AND VERY DISAPPOINTING NEWS I WILL NEVER EVER BUY A PHILIPS TV AGAIN! THIS IS NO CUSTUMER CARE AT ALL!

    This is a prove that Philips doesnot listen to their customers. Total arrogance, ingnorance and lack of customer care.

    PHILIPS RETHINK TIS BECAUSE THIS IS NO WAY TO TREAT A CUSTOMER THAT SPENT A LOT OF MONEY FOR A TV SET THAT DOESNOT HAVE THE CRITIVAL AND BASIC FUNCTION OF A NOW/NEXT BOX WHEN ZAPPING!
    Last edited by Erikrijnders; 03-05-2012 at 08:10 PM.

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Similar Topics

  1. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-31-2012, 04:07 PM
  2. poll for a chargeable firmware update ?
    By el911wood in forum TV: Other
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-05-2011, 09:48 AM
  3. [Poll] Play USB files more or disc more?
    By kwinnie in forum Blu-ray: Share Your Wish List and Insights
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-26-2011, 07:19 PM
  4. poll on usb ussage :)
    By Carin in forum Blu-ray: Share Your Wish List and Insights
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-06-2011, 02:41 PM
  5. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-05-2011, 07:18 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •