Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 19
  • Topic Tools
  • Display
  • Bookmark and Share
  1. #1
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,113, Level: 8
    Level completed: 82%, Points required for next Level: 37
    Overall activity: 15.0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registeredTagger Second ClassOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    38
    Points
    1,113
    Level
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    Only stereo on HDMI - what TV/BD(DVD)-models? Why?

    I have an older surround receiver with no hdmi. I prefer to let my TV do the switching between sources. Direct Coax/spdif bd-amp is no good solution for me.

    When i connect my bdp7500 to my pfl9705 the bdp hdmi-sound is always only stereo (two channel, not even coded with ProLogic so surround is impossible). Both player and TV have newest fw.

    The bdp gives multichannel on hdmi when connected to a newer (friends) receiver.
    The TV gives multichannel passthrough from other DVD-players, Playstation3, PC m.m. But not from bdp7500.

    Does anybody have the same or similar problem with other models and combinations? What models does work, if any?

    Why does this problem occur (on newer TV.models with passthrough as an advertised feature)? ¨

    Any remedy?

    Philips?!

  2. #2
    Diamond Member
    Points: 47,536, Level: 67
    Level completed: 42%, Points required for next Level: 814
    Overall activity: 100.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience Points25000 Experience Points
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    5,696
    Points
    47,536
    Level
    67
    Thanks
    112
    Thanked 118 Times in 105 Posts
    Rep Power
    9
    Hi,

    does also occur with BDP9600 in combination with Philips TV. Since it works on other TVs, it is a Philips TV related issue...

    Toengel@Alex

  3. #3
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,113, Level: 8
    Level completed: 82%, Points required for next Level: 37
    Overall activity: 15.0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registeredTagger Second ClassOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    38
    Points
    1,113
    Level
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    I would think it is a Philips BDP - issue also, or rather a Philips BDP/TV issue. I doubt that, among the pass-thru types (on others it doesn't matter), Philips TVs are the only ones that tells the HDMI source (eg BD-players) to "go stereo". Besides, the 9705 TV works fine with other players (DVD, PS3, PC). I guess this is only a Philips-issue, or are there other brands that "encourages" the customers to go for another brand when adding components to their TV - or buying TV when one already have a player. I mean it seems to be a solution here to mix Philips with other brands. I thougt the opposite was better both for the customer and for Philips. Philips; sort this out!

  4. #4
    Moderator
    Points: 13,966, Level: 35
    Level completed: 88%, Points required for next Level: 84
    Overall activity: 47.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!10000 Experience Points
    Philips - Thomas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    1,485
    Points
    13,966
    Level
    35
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 14 Times in 13 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Hi

    As the TV is the Device which gives out Sound and Video with respect to HDMI and HDCP regulations, the TV is not allowed to Receive and forward Sound Signals others than it can handle it on its own.
    BDP receives Signals via HDMI what the TV can handle and what not. So the BDP will not send out Sound others than Stereo.

    Solution:
    Connect the BDP via HDMI, SPDIF or other Multichannel connections directly to an Audio Receiver and then besides that via HDMI to the TV.

    Regards
    Thomas
    Forum Mod

  5. #5
    Diamond Member
    Points: 47,536, Level: 67
    Level completed: 42%, Points required for next Level: 814
    Overall activity: 100.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience Points25000 Experience Points
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    5,696
    Points
    47,536
    Level
    67
    Thanks
    112
    Thanked 118 Times in 105 Posts
    Rep Power
    9
    Hi,

    @Thomas

    Well, Philips TVs can handle AC3 (see EDID information of the TVs):

    CE audio data (formats supported)
    LPCM 2-channel, 16/20/24 bit depths at 32/44/48/88/96 kHz
    AC-3 6-channel, 640k max. bit rate at 32/44/48 kHz
    So, the TV should be able to passthrough AC3 (see also Clarification 3 with your comment: http://www.supportforum.philips.com/...mware-(TV550R1) DTS passthrough will NOT work, it is only working for DD.).

    Consequently, DolbyDigital 5.1 passthrough should work in the BDP->HDMI->TV->SPDIF->Receiver setup.

    If I connect my notebook via HDMI (with slight software setup adjustments) to my Philips TV, the setup is working with DolbyDigital 5.1. So passthrough of DD 5.1 is working!

    There must be some issues of the TV in informing HDMI devices, that the TV is capable of AC3.

    So, please fix this issue!

    Toengel@Alex

  6. #6
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,113, Level: 8
    Level completed: 82%, Points required for next Level: 37
    Overall activity: 15.0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registeredTagger Second ClassOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    38
    Points
    1,113
    Level
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    DD5.1 passes though my 46PFL9705 from all other sources I have connected to the set (Playstation3, laptop and Samsung DVD. It is only my Philips BDP that the TV set obviously "tells" to go stereo. One of the reasons I bougt the PFL9705 was the passthrough-capability. The TV-manual also says that oe should not connect DVD-players etc directly to the HTC but let it go via the TV (because of lip-sync and ease).

  7. #7
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,113, Level: 8
    Level completed: 82%, Points required for next Level: 37
    Overall activity: 15.0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registeredTagger Second ClassOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    38
    Points
    1,113
    Level
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Is it correct that AC3/DD5.1(+6.1?) works for bdp7600 on some or all Philips TVs (with ARC?)? Maybe it works on the 2011-TV-models, but not 2010? I think I am going to buy a 7600 to check...
    Last edited by Sofus; 02-15-2012 at 02:32 PM.

  8. #8
    Points: 1,669, Level: 11
    Level completed: 40%, Points required for next Level: 181
    Overall activity: 10.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    LE
    Posts
    112
    Points
    1,669
    Level
    11
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    3
    Hi Sofus,

    are you sure it is possible?

    Because of HDCP limitations I do not think that TVs (from ANY manufacturer) can pass-through DD from another HDCP device...

    It can be ok with a PC because there is no HDCP, but from my experience TVs can not output protected digital contents from protected sources, these must be converted in PCM or at least Dolby Prologic II (if available on the receiver).

  9. #9
    Diamond Member
    Points: 47,536, Level: 67
    Level completed: 42%, Points required for next Level: 814
    Overall activity: 100.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience Points25000 Experience Points
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    5,696
    Points
    47,536
    Level
    67
    Thanks
    112
    Thanked 118 Times in 105 Posts
    Rep Power
    9
    Hi,

    if you connect your HDMI-Notebook to your Philips TV and take a look at the e.g. Nvidia preferences, you will see, that the Notebook<->TV connection is HDCP enabled...

    Toengel@Alex

  10. #10
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,113, Level: 8
    Level completed: 82%, Points required for next Level: 37
    Overall activity: 15.0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registeredTagger Second ClassOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    38
    Points
    1,113
    Level
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    According to TV manual one should not connect DVDs etc directly to surround amp but via TV like I have done. HDMI-TV-digtal 5.1 out works with my older DVD-player, PS3 and PC. But it might be dependent on content, I am afraid I haven't tested with regular DVDs (but copys). Elswhere on this forum it is also confirmed that it works with bdp7600 and 2011 Philips TV. I would think this should be the case with all TVs with Audio Return Channel. That is the whole idea with ARC isn't it? Or is it only for TV sound? I haven't tested the HDMI ARC btw, only coax (SPDIF), but that should be the same or even less HDCP-restricted, or?

  11. #11
    Points: 1,669, Level: 11
    Level completed: 40%, Points required for next Level: 181
    Overall activity: 10.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    LE
    Posts
    112
    Points
    1,669
    Level
    11
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    3
    Hi Toengel,

    what contents are you sending to the tv from your PC? BDs? Or downloaded sample files?

    I can only send sample files and it works, but original copy protected BDs I don't think they will...

    Maybe I'm wrong, but is what I can see on my devices

    Have you tried with a DD file directly on a USB stick? I can't do it now but once at home I'll check

  12. #12
    Diamond Member
    Points: 47,536, Level: 67
    Level completed: 42%, Points required for next Level: 814
    Overall activity: 100.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience Points25000 Experience Points
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    5,696
    Points
    47,536
    Level
    67
    Thanks
    112
    Thanked 118 Times in 105 Posts
    Rep Power
    9
    Hi,

    I tried it with a original DVD. But as Sofus said, the passthrough works with his old DVD player...

    Toengel@Alex

  13. #13
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,113, Level: 8
    Level completed: 82%, Points required for next Level: 37
    Overall activity: 15.0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registeredTagger Second ClassOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    38
    Points
    1,113
    Level
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    DD files on USB in TV works (DD out on coax OK) but maybe not for copy-protected files..

  14. #14
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,113, Level: 8
    Level completed: 82%, Points required for next Level: 37
    Overall activity: 15.0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registeredTagger Second ClassOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    38
    Points
    1,113
    Level
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    I guess it is a bug in the 2010 ARC TVs (9705) that makes (some?) BDPs go stereo. Maybe Ill buy a bdp7600 just to check

  15. #15
    Points: 1,669, Level: 11
    Level completed: 40%, Points required for next Level: 181
    Overall activity: 10.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    LE
    Posts
    112
    Points
    1,669
    Level
    11
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    3
    And here we are!!

    I heard somewhere on this blog that this was a behaviour of 2010 BDPs: they'd protect all sound output through HDCP... but at least for DVD playback this would not apply on 2011 players...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Topics

  1. BDP9600 does not read own BD/R BD/RE
    By Gerard1902 in forum Blu-ray: BDP9000 Series
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-04-2012, 08:43 AM
  2. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12-22-2011, 06:27 AM
  3. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11-22-2011, 09:53 AM
  4. Radio stereo-mono
    By r.groenhuijzen in forum Sound: GoGear SA2-series (2010)
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-06-2011, 02:03 PM
  5. No DVD voice track via analog stereo out
    By zdshelby in forum Blu-ray: BDP7000 Series
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 09-30-2011, 08:03 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •