Results 1 to 4 of 4
  • Topic Tools
  • Display
  • Bookmark and Share

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    New Member
    Points: 692, Level: 6
    Level completed: 72%, Points required for next Level: 58
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    2
    Points
    692
    Level
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    WII sound Dolby Prologic II via Digital Out

    Experts,

    I have connected the Wii game console via a Scart cable (both video and audio) to my TV (42PFL7665) with the latest firmware installed.

    I also have cable from the TVs SPDIF Digital Out to my Home Cinema System. The home cinema switches automatically to Stereo, Dolby Digital, DTS, etc. depending on the signal the TV is sending to the home cinema.

    My Wii is set to use Surround sound, and it is sending Dolby Prologic II to the TV. However, the Digital Out is sending PCM Stereo signal to my Home Cinema set instead of Pro logic II.
    Did I make a mistake in my setup or is this the way it is working?

    Would it make sense to use the phone jack to feed audio from the TV to the Home Cinema to get Prologic?

    Obviously, I could connect the audio from the WII directly to the home cinema, but I prefer to have the choice between TV sound or home cinema sound.

    Regards,

    Roborob.

  2. #2
    Moderator
    Points: 17,624, Level: 40
    Level completed: 47%, Points required for next Level: 426
    Overall activity: 99.6%
    Achievements:
    1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!10000 Experience PointsVeteran
    Philips - Thomas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    1,765
    Points
    17,624
    Level
    40
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 39 Times in 36 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Hi

    via Scart only Analog Stereo Sound is transmitted.
    For Dolby or any other Digital Audio Format you need a Digital Connection, which, Scart is not.

    Regards
    Thomas

  3. #3
    New Member
    Points: 692, Level: 6
    Level completed: 72%, Points required for next Level: 58
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    2
    Points
    692
    Level
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Hi Thomas

    If I understand coorectly from http://www.dolby.com/us/en/consumer/...i-details.html then pro logic surround is encoded into the regular analog stereo signal, and the home cinema is decoding it into surround sound. I know for Dts or dolby digital it works differently. So scart should in my opion not be the limiting factor. Or am I missing your point?

  4. #4
    Moderator
    Points: 17,624, Level: 40
    Level completed: 47%, Points required for next Level: 426
    Overall activity: 99.6%
    Achievements:
    1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!10000 Experience PointsVeteran
    Philips - Thomas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    1,765
    Points
    17,624
    Level
    40
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 39 Times in 36 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Hi

    if you connect the Audio diretly to a Home Cinema System, i dont know if that works, for the TV at least i can say that only analog Stereo will be transmitted.

    Regards
    Thomas

Similar Topics

  1. [BDP9600/12] No Dolby Digital 5.1 passthrouth to Philips TV
    By Toengel in forum Blu-ray: BDP9000 Series
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 02-16-2012, 07:23 PM
  2. Clear LCD setting causes sound disruption. Dolby Digital
    By TVTonnio in forum TV: User Interface
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-05-2012, 08:55 AM
  3. BDP 8000 Dolby Digital / DTS passthrough
    By anduril in forum Blu-ray: BDP8000 Series
    Replies: 22
    Last Post: 01-06-2012, 01:27 PM
  4. There is no option "Prologic II Mode" on my HTS3540/98
    By n.brengky in forum Sound: Other Models
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10-06-2011, 08:04 AM
  5. The Wii can also show YouTube
    By Jessy in forum Smart TV: YouTube
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-28-2010, 03:56 PM

Tags for this Topic

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •