Results 1 to 7 of 7
  • Topic Tools
  • Display
  • Bookmark and Share
  1. #1
    New Member
    Points: 738, Level: 6
    Level completed: 94%, Points required for next Level: 12
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    HRO/MV
    Posts
    7
    Points
    738
    Level
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    disable permanent timeshift

    Hello,

    how do I turn off the permanent time shift, so that it only started when I press pause and ended, when I press stop? I want to protect the hard drive. it should go into standby when I only watch live TV.

    br
    kaczy

  2. #2
    Moderator
    Points: 14,093, Level: 36
    Level completed: 6%, Points required for next Level: 757
    Overall activity: 99.8%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!10000 Experience Points
    Philips - Thomas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    1,496
    Points
    14,093
    Level
    36
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 17 Times in 16 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Hi

    what does Timeshift brings you if you have to wait for the Hard Drive to "wake" up and miss important Seconds?
    Nothing
    Thats why the Drive has to be always prepared.

    Regards
    Thomas
    Forum Mod

  3. #3
    New Member
    Points: 738, Level: 6
    Level completed: 94%, Points required for next Level: 12
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    HRO/MV
    Posts
    7
    Points
    738
    Level
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Hi,

    is there no buffer to prefetch the seconds until the HDD ist spin up?
    I heared that in TV's from other manufacturers, there is an option to disable permanent timeshift.

    br
    kaczy

  4. #4
    Moderator
    Points: 14,093, Level: 36
    Level completed: 6%, Points required for next Level: 757
    Overall activity: 99.8%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!10000 Experience Points
    Philips - Thomas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    1,496
    Points
    14,093
    Level
    36
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 17 Times in 16 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Hi

    if there would be the possibility to add such buffer or Cache, the external Discs would not be necessary anymore.
    So no, there is no such Buffer inside.

    Regards
    Thomas
    Forum Mod

  5. #5
    DerShortyy
    Guest
    Quote Originally Posted by Philips - Thomas View Post
    Hi

    what does Timeshift brings you if you have to wait for the Hard Drive to "wake" up and miss important Seconds?
    Nothing
    Thats why the Drive has to be always prepared.

    Regards
    Thomas
    Would be nice if this option would work proper. i.e. when i switch to another channel the hard drive should record from the moment i have switched to this channel, sometimes it works and sometimes it doesn´t work....

  6. #6
    Bronze Member
    Points: 843, Level: 7
    Level completed: 47%, Points required for next Level: 107
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    23
    Points
    843
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    A 2,5" harddisk should be able to spin up in some 10 seconds. --> less than 64 MByte RAM, if you want to buffer a full satellite bouqet with 50Mbit/s. Very tiny, nowadays.

    Generally time shift needs some additional system performance which seems to be a low resource here. On the other side background RAM buffering can lower the overall system load.

    P.S.:
    I hope Philips will support the power requirements of USB 3.0 hardware (0.9A) in 2012 TVs. Would omit some service demands.

  7. #7
    New Member
    Points: 995, Level: 8
    Level completed: 23%, Points required for next Level: 155
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    6
    Points
    995
    Level
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Philips - Thomas View Post
    Hi

    what does Timeshift brings you if you have to wait for the Hard Drive to "wake" up and miss important Seconds?
    Nothing
    Thats why the Drive has to be always prepared.

    Regards
    Thomas
    Hi Thomas,

    that's not the answer of the question - why there isn't any switch in the menue to switch of the permanent Timeshift?
    Its very painfull that the HDD is always on. For me it's no problem to wait 10s till the HDD is waked up

    Please improve the whole implemantation of the HDD/Timeshift-Support !!!!

    Thanks

    Paul

Similar Topics

  1. disable wifi interface on Mci298
    By marco.strullato in forum Sound: Streamium MCi series (MCi900| Mci8080| MCi730| MCi500| MCi298)
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-29-2012, 12:37 PM
  2. How to disable the startup screen on 6000 series
    By zmn in forum TV: User Interface
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-26-2012, 11:05 AM
  3. TIP: Disable “WIDE CHANNEL” settings in the router
    By Philips - Mark in forum Smart TV: Server Status
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-05-2012, 01:55 PM
  4. Permanent subtitles in avi file format are missing - 40PFL5605H
    By vasilaronios in forum TV: Streaming & Network
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 11-22-2011, 10:27 AM
  5. How can I disable automatic switching to EXT1 (SCART)?
    By Woodman in forum TV: User Interface
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11-21-2011, 02:02 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •