Results 1 to 5 of 5
  • Topic Tools
  • Display
  • Bookmark and Share
  1. #1
    New Member
    Points: 684, Level: 6
    Level completed: 67%, Points required for next Level: 66
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Stockholm, Sweden
    Posts
    3
    Points
    684
    Level
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    Problems with HDMI connection

    I have a PFL479732D/10 (SW: Q581E-064.14.22) that has always worked just fine. I have now bought a new primary TV set, and moved my PFL47 to the childrens' room where they play Xbox and watch DVDs. Since I have connected more gadgets (the Xbox) I am for the first time using all 3 HDMIs on the TV. And this has rendered some problems.

    Here is how I have connected things:

    • HDMI 1: Philips HTS8100 (DVD / home theatre system), my reason for choosing HDMI 1 for this is that HDMI 1 has audio sync, I have earlier had problems with severe async when watching DVDs via this HTS8100 on this TV.
    • HDMI 2: Digital set-top box (Sagemcom RT90-160 HD).
    • HDMI 3: Xbox 360.


    The problem occurs when I try to watch my digital set-top box. When switching to HDMI 2 the TV just displays a bright blue screen. First when I turn on the Xbox (just power it on, no changing input on TV) the signals from the set-top box reaches the TV. But then with the wrong scaling (4:3, 16:9, auto etc.) / resolutions. And when I turn the Xbox off the blue screen comes back again.

    I have switched locations between the set-top box and the Xbox (HDMI 2 vs. HDMI 3) but the problem stays. I have not wanted to connect either the set-top box or the Xbox to HDMI 1 since I want the audio sync for my DVD.

    Any ideas what can be wrong? I'm normally quite good at error resolution on my own, but this one beats me.

    Thanks in advance.

  2. #2
    Moderator
    Points: 15,897, Level: 38
    Level completed: 31%, Points required for next Level: 553
    Overall activity: 88.0%
    Achievements:
    1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!10000 Experience PointsVeteran
    Philips - Thomas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    1,629
    Points
    15,897
    Level
    38
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 29 Times in 28 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Hi

    •HDMI 1: Philips HTS8100 (DVD / home theatre system), my reason for choosing HDMI 1 for this is that HDMI 1 has audio sync, I have earlier had problems with severe async when watching DVDs via this HTS8100 on this TV.
    Sorry but i really dont know which Option your referr to...

    Regards
    Thomas
    Forum Mod

  3. #3
    New Member
    Points: 684, Level: 6
    Level completed: 67%, Points required for next Level: 66
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Stockholm, Sweden
    Posts
    3
    Points
    684
    Level
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Sorry, I confused things. The HDMI 1 input is just another HDMI input just like HDMI 2 and HDMI 3. The audio sync confusion stems from the digital audio output that sits next to HDMI 1 (with the label "audio sync").

    The problem is however the same regardless of where I put my gadgets (I have tried all combinations). The signals from the set-top box doesn't reach the TV unless:
    1. I power up the home theatre system OR the Xbox (i.e. having these powered on somehows activates the set-top box HDMI)
    2. Or I pull out the HDMI cables for the home theatre system OR the set-yop box from the TV


    Having the other HDMI cables connected (while the´gadgets are switched off).

    Ideas on solutions?

  4. #4
    New Member
    Points: 684, Level: 6
    Level completed: 67%, Points required for next Level: 66
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Stockholm, Sweden
    Posts
    3
    Points
    684
    Level
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    What about making a full factory reset of my TV, would that change anything?

  5. #5
    Moderator
    Points: 15,897, Level: 38
    Level completed: 31%, Points required for next Level: 553
    Overall activity: 88.0%
    Achievements:
    1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!10000 Experience PointsVeteran
    Philips - Thomas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    1,629
    Points
    15,897
    Level
    38
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 29 Times in 28 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Hi

    the only thing you could do is to make sure that xbox and receiver and not connected to the same power outlet.
    Also you should make sure that you have all devices up to date.
    If that does not help either i can not help you further, sorry.

    Regards
    Thomas
    Forum Mod

Similar Topics

  1. pc hdmi connection issue
    By laziffer in forum TV: Connectivity
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 02-25-2012, 11:27 AM
  2. Lan connection problems
    By Domenico81 in forum TV: Streaming & Network
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12-01-2011, 10:20 AM
  3. no connection through HDMI 1 port
    By aldosalomons in forum TV: Connectivity
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11-21-2011, 08:01 AM
  4. No full screen: HDMI connection between laptop to TV
    By assaf in forum TV: Streaming & Network
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 11-07-2011, 06:49 AM
  5. HDMI-Connection Problem 52PFL5605H/12
    By LCD in forum TV: Connectivity
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 08-03-2011, 11:12 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •