Results 1 to 9 of 9
  • Topic Tools
  • Display
  • Bookmark and Share
  1. #1
    New Member
    Points: 656, Level: 6
    Level completed: 53%, Points required for next Level: 94
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registeredTagger Second Class500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    2
    Points
    656
    Level
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    Flash disk size 32 GB - error during formatting

    I have a brand new 32PFL6606H and a brand new flash disk USB 3.0 Transcend Jetflash 700 32 GB.
    When I want to format the disk in order to record a TV emission, the TV replies "The disk size is under 32 GB, the formatting will be stopped."
    I tried to use FAT32, exFat and NTFS formatting but nothing helps. My computers shows me disk size of 29,4 GB, but this is probably usual (the real disk size is smaller than the size written on the flash disk).
    Could somebody help me, please?

  2. #2
    Bronze Member
    Points: 843, Level: 7
    Level completed: 47%, Points required for next Level: 107
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    23
    Points
    843
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    You will have to apply an USB Stick with 32 GB capacity or more - not less. As written in User Manual.

    Have tested a Sharkoon Flexi-Drive Accelerate Duo 64GB here. Works with addittional USB 3.0 Hub with external power supply only since the Philips TVs are delivering 0.5A max. over USB which meets the USB 2.0 specifications. USB 3.0 standard is 0.9A max.


    BTW: USB 3.0 is de facto standard for newer external HDDs. 0.9A max. over USB would solve most 2.5" external HDD compatibility issues.
    Last edited by Perpetual Beta; 02-22-2012 at 10:27 PM.

  3. #3
    New Member
    Points: 656, Level: 6
    Level completed: 53%, Points required for next Level: 94
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registeredTagger Second Class500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    2
    Points
    656
    Level
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    I know that I can try to use a 64 GB disk. A 500 GB external HDD works perfectly, but I would like to use this one for another purpose...
    The problem is that if I want to buy a bigger disk, it will cost me at least two times more expensive and I will have to return the 32 GB flash disk.
    Isn't there another solution?
    The manual of the TV tells me that I have to use a disk with capacity of at least 32 GB. And I'am actually using a disk of 32 GB!!! So where is the problem? Does anybody have an experience with use of 32 GB disk in this TV?

  4. #4
    Moderator
    Points: 16,834, Level: 39
    Level completed: 48%, Points required for next Level: 416
    Overall activity: 99.8%
    Achievements:
    1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!10000 Experience PointsVeteran
    Philips - Thomas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    1,700
    Points
    16,834
    Level
    39
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 36 Times in 33 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Hi

    you are correct, you need 32GB capacity, which in fact, as you can see on your PC, regardless of the formatting, is not available on a "32GB" Storage.
    That is why we dont say "use a 32GB Stick".

    Regards
    Thomas

  5. #5
    Platinum Member
    Points: 8,349, Level: 27
    Level completed: 34%, Points required for next Level: 401
    Overall activity: 20.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered5000 Experience Points1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    591
    Points
    8,349
    Level
    27
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    4
    It is kind of horrible, what I have to read here. Its making me a little frightening...

    A 32GB USB Stick consists of 32GB capacity, that's why it is labeled like this. A "B" means mostly a byte, which consists of 8 bit. A bit is mostly named bit or "b".

    The manufacturer of mass storages use the decimal prefix like it is common for SI prefixes, which means:
    32GB are 32 000 000 000 Byte = 32x10^9 Byte.

    If you are a user of a windows system, then you may be familiar with the binary prefixes, which are used to show the size of a mass storage. With decimal prefix:
    32GB are 32*1073741824 Byte = 32*1024*1024*1024 Byte = 32*2^10*2^10*2^10 Byte = 32*2^30 Byte

    So if you have a labeled 32GB Stick, Windows will show:
    32 * 10^9 / 2^30 Byte = 32 * 1 000 000 000 / 1073741824 Byte = 29.8023223876953125 Byte

    because Windows uses binary prefixes and the manufacturer used decimal prefixes.

    If you use Mac OS X with version 10.6 or higher, it will show you 32 000 000 000 Byte, because it uses also decimal prefixes.
    If you use KDE, you can choose, if using binary or decimal prefixes. But binary will be the default. Binary is also standard on Ubuntu distributions.

    This has nothing to do with any formatting.

    But depending on the formatting, you can store less information, since some bytes of memory will be used for the file allocation table.

    So, Thomas, your statement is partly wrong. The capacity is always the same, it will depend on the way you want to count and this depends on the system you use on your PC.

    It is up to Philips, to say if they were using decimal prefixes or binary prefixes when stating how much memory is required for recording with USB storage. Until now, I don't know any public specification on the used file system for recording. So if we have to add the formatting dependent file allocation information onto that 32GB information, you will have to publish information about the file system used for recording.
    If not, no user will be able to know which mass storage capacity he has to buy.

    But I would say, it is more usual to include the file system dependent memory need in the required capacity size.

  6. #6
    Platinum Member
    Points: 8,349, Level: 27
    Level completed: 34%, Points required for next Level: 401
    Overall activity: 20.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered5000 Experience Points1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    591
    Points
    8,349
    Level
    27
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    4
    Quote Originally Posted by Philips - Thomas View Post
    Hi

    you are correct, you need 32GB capacity, which in fact, as you can see on your PC, regardless of the formatting, is not available on a "32GB" Storage.
    That is why we dont say "use a 32GB Stick".

    Regards
    Thomas
    To make it more clear, what Thomas might want to say:
    Philips TV needs 32*2^30 Bytes for recording.
    This results into 34 359 738 368 Byte or 34.4GB, when counting like USB mass starage manufacturer.

    Thomas, please correct me if I'm wrong, I assume, file allocation dependent information does not have to be added to that number, since the file system is not public.

  7. #7
    Diamond Member
    Points: 51,127, Level: 69
    Level completed: 99%, Points required for next Level: 23
    Overall activity: 97.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    6,029
    Points
    51,127
    Level
    69
    Thanks
    156
    Thanked 174 Times in 155 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Hi,

    should be EXT3 as far as I read here somewhere.

    Toengel@Alex

  8. #8
    Moderator
    Points: 16,834, Level: 39
    Level completed: 48%, Points required for next Level: 416
    Overall activity: 99.8%
    Achievements:
    1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!10000 Experience PointsVeteran
    Philips - Thomas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    1,700
    Points
    16,834
    Level
    39
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 36 Times in 33 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Hi

    the TV uses EXT3 as Disk Format.
    @Smart: you are right, it is depending on how you call it.

    That is why I clearly stated that we don't say "use a 32GB Stick".

    Regards
    Thomas

  9. #9
    Bronze Member
    Points: 843, Level: 7
    Level completed: 47%, Points required for next Level: 107
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    23
    Points
    843
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    The exact 32GB limit IMHO has no strict technical reasons. A handful missing GB - and so much unnecessary topics in this forum. If Philips wants satisfied customers such a peanut should be upgraded in next possible firmware. Please lower that limit to e.g. 20 GB - now.

Similar Topics

  1. 32/7606H NTFS won't open
    By danny24 in forum TV: Streaming & Network
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-26-2012, 03:03 PM
  2. Formatting error
    By dirk7666 in forum TV: USB-recording
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-21-2012, 03:52 PM
  3. Stream media to TV (32 PLF8404)
    By hiddepolen in forum TV: Streaming & Network
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-12-2012, 08:58 AM
  4. Can't turn on my 32" (32pfl5606h)
    By Paile in forum TV: Other
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-17-2011, 09:49 PM
  5. Movie stop after about 1.5 GB datastream
    By Mark in forum TV: Streaming & Network
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 09-18-2011, 07:54 PM

Tags for this Topic

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •