Results 1 to 9 of 9
  • Topic Tools
  • Display
  • Bookmark and Share

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    New Member
    Points: 663, Level: 6
    Level completed: 57%, Points required for next Level: 87
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Chile
    Posts
    5
    Points
    663
    Level
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    Thumbs down HTS5120 Soundbar problem subwoofer and audio bad

    First of all...sorry my english.

    I have a HTS5120/55 Soundbar. Its conected to PS3 and Sony Bravia, and the experiencie is very bad.

    I connected the soundbar via HDMI, component and TOSLINK (optical). The subwoofer has an intermittent sound. As a pounding, very noticiable when the people just talking in the movies, for example. By the other hand, sometimes the sound disappears for a moment (1 or 2 second) and then is possible to hear the audio again.

    The Soundbar has the firmware version 1.5s, the latest.

    Please let me know. Thanks from Chile.

  2. #2
    Platinum Member
    Points: 5,068, Level: 21
    Level completed: 4%, Points required for next Level: 482
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Tagger Second ClassNew Achievement!Veteran5000 Experience Points
    Nettle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Padua, Italy
    Posts
    627
    Points
    5,068
    Level
    21
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    Dear griverosf,

    you'rein my same same condition 1 year ago.

    I was experiencing sound loss problem via HDMI and SPDIF (January 2011) between my Philips 8605 TV model and my HTS5120 first day after my purchase.

    Some topic related to this issue of last year:

    1) http://www.supportforum.philips.com/...hlight=hts5120

    2) http://www.supportforum.philips.com/...hlight=hts5120

    3) http://www.supportforum.philips.com/...hlight=hts5120

    4) http://www.supportforum.philips.com/...hlight=hts5120

    The HTS5120 has got a HDMI 1.2 and the TV was HDMI 1.3.

    I've sent a complaint to the italian Philips Technical Service and to this forum.

    The result is that Philips has proposed me immediately to substitute the HTS5120 with the HTS7140 (HDMI 1.3) without additional costs.
    Furthermore the HTS7140 has got a Blue Ray reader too. :-)

    I have to say "thanks a lot" to Philips for the attention shwon to my issue.

    Not the HTS7140 works perfecty. No sound loss anyome!

    Regards




  3. #3
    New Member
    Points: 663, Level: 6
    Level completed: 57%, Points required for next Level: 87
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Chile
    Posts
    5
    Points
    663
    Level
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Hi,

    unfortunately in Chile the support is very bad. I send an email to customercare of philips and have had no response to my problem. I hope the phone call be more effective.



    Regards

  4. #4
    Platinum Member
    Points: 5,068, Level: 21
    Level completed: 4%, Points required for next Level: 482
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Tagger Second ClassNew Achievement!Veteran5000 Experience Points
    Nettle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Padua, Italy
    Posts
    627
    Points
    5,068
    Level
    21
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    Quote Originally Posted by griverosf View Post
    Hi,

    unfortunately in Chile the support is very bad.

    I send an email to customercare of philips and have had no response to my problem.

    Regards
    Really!?!?!?!


  5. #5
    New Member
    Points: 663, Level: 6
    Level completed: 57%, Points required for next Level: 87
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Chile
    Posts
    5
    Points
    663
    Level
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    yes...really!

    and today this situation repeat 4 times in a movie...I’m very upset and frustrated and no one from Philips (Chile or Global) tell me what happened with the soundbar.

  6. #6
    Platinum Member
    Points: 5,068, Level: 21
    Level completed: 4%, Points required for next Level: 482
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Tagger Second ClassNew Achievement!Veteran5000 Experience Points
    Nettle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Padua, Italy
    Posts
    627
    Points
    5,068
    Level
    21
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    Quote Originally Posted by griverosf View Post
    yes...really!

    and today this situation repeat 4 times in a movie...I’m very upset and frustrated and no one from Philips (Chile or Global) tell me what happened with the soundbar.
    Have you tried to call the Philips Technical Support Center of your city/province to collect their technical feedback on it?

    Regards

  7. #7
    New Member
    Points: 663, Level: 6
    Level completed: 57%, Points required for next Level: 87
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Chile
    Posts
    5
    Points
    663
    Level
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    The telephone of homepage of Philips Chile doesn´t exist

    chat with the technician

    in his opinion a codec problem...not the soundbar problem.

    Bienvenido al Chat de Philips, usted está hablando con Damian. Como puedo ayudarlo?
    Guillermo: hola
    Guillermo: tengo el siguiente problema, tengo un equipo que lo desembale recien hace dos dias. Un HTS5120, un soundbar de la linea 1.1
    Guillermo: el problema esta que en la reproduccion en DVD y via usb (divx) produce un golpeteo el subwoofer
    Guillermo: que no tiene nada que ver con la pelicula
    Guillermo: eso es uno
    Guillermo: lo otro es que desaparece el sonido un par de segundos
    Guillermo: y despues vuelve
    Guillermo: http://www.supportforum.philips.com/...7766#post27766
    Guillermo: lo puse en el foro oficial de philips
    Damian: ah, entonces el problema es con el codec de audio de la pelicula o las peliculas en cuestion
    Guillermo: y el equipo en diversas partes del mundo pasa lo mismo
    Guillermo: es que no es eso
    Guillermo: ya que de distintas fuentes pasa exactamente lo mismo
    Damian: si no me cree lo puede llevar al service
    Guillermo: y si aun asi fuera problema del codec, no explica que en reproduccion, se vaya el sonido
    Damian: aunqeu esta describiendo un tipico caso de codecs
    Damian: pero digame de donde es y le paso un service
    Damian: de hecho si
    Guillermo: conectada via optico a ps3 en juego...se va el sonido 1 o 2 segundo y vuelve
    Guillermo: eso no es codec
    Damian: digame de donde es usted
    Guillermo: Chile
    Guillermo: Quilpue
    Damian: region?
    Guillermo: V region
    Guillermo: el punto es que en DVD no hay codec...tampoco
    Damian: Tenemos en San Felipe
    Limache
    Valparaiso
    Viña del Mar
    San Antonio
    Guillermo: y en todas las peliculas?
    Guillermo: Viña del Mar
    Guillermo: es decir...mas encima tengo que ir a dejar el equipo en reparacion'???
    Damian: igual
    Damian: si lo compro hace 2 dias
    Damian: directamente reclamelo con la casa de compra
    Damian: si esta dentro de los dias de prueba pueden hacerle el cambio directo
    Guillermo: no...esta fuera de eso
    Damian: o la dev de importe
    Guillermo: tiene 1 mes
    Guillermo: ok...
    Guillermo: no lo habia abierto hasta ahora
    Guillermo: deme la direccion por favor
    Damian: Quinta 209
    Damian: 32 - 2882691
    Damian: ese es el fono
    Guillermo: De todas formas, este no es un problema de codec, es un problema detallado de estos equipos en los mismos foros de philips. Voy a contactarme con ellos. Muchas gracias.
    Conversación detenida!
    and now...I have to take the soundbar for repair ...


  8. #8
    Platinum Member
    Points: 5,068, Level: 21
    Level completed: 4%, Points required for next Level: 482
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Tagger Second ClassNew Achievement!Veteran5000 Experience Points
    Nettle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Padua, Italy
    Posts
    627
    Points
    5,068
    Level
    21
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    I hope that the repair could be helpful.

    Regards

  9. #9
    New Member
    Points: 663, Level: 6
    Level completed: 57%, Points required for next Level: 87
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Chile
    Posts
    5
    Points
    663
    Level
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Thanks...I hope the same.

    Regards

Similar Topics

  1. Problem connecting 42PFL5332d/37 to soundbar
    By donnas in forum TV: Connectivity
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-26-2012, 03:17 PM
  2. Mediaconnect audio problem
    By arcadia_be in forum TV: Streaming & Network
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11-22-2011, 10:26 AM
  3. problems with soundbar HTS5120/12
    By doclight in forum Sound: Mini/Micro Audio System Product Support
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 09-06-2011, 03:25 PM
  4. 37PFL8605+HTS5120 Soundbar: bad audio doesn't work well
    By Nettle in forum TV: Streaming & Network
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 04-26-2011, 11:30 AM

Tags for this Topic

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •