Results 1 to 15 of 15
  • Topic Tools
  • Display
  • Bookmark and Share
  1. #1
    New Member
    Points: 685, Level: 6
    Level completed: 68%, Points required for next Level: 65
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Pisa italy
    Posts
    3
    Points
    685
    Level
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    52pfl9606m /08

    Hi,for 20 days I bought the TV and I immediately had problems with vertical banding, I called support and they changed the panel again, and yesterday 'arrived and I had just mounted the usual problem of banding ... and' incredible. . addition to the panel know if there are other solutions or parts to be changed? Fortunately, the coach of my town know him but he not tell me that .. The problem I see in evidence when there is a football game or a white background .. help!

  2. #2
    Bronze Member
    Points: 996, Level: 8
    Level completed: 23%, Points required for next Level: 154
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!1 year registered

    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    France
    Posts
    13
    Points
    996
    Level
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Horty View Post
    Hi,for 20 days I bought the TV and I immediately had problems with vertical banding, I called support and they changed the panel again, and yesterday 'arrived and I had just mounted the usual problem of banding ... and' incredible. . addition to the panel know if there are other solutions or parts to be changed? Fortunately, the coach of my town know him but he not tell me that .. The problem I see in evidence when there is a football game or a white background .. help!
    Hi!
    I have got the same problem on my 46pfl9706...
    I called philips but they said to me that nobody has this problem ... I dont think so...

    To my mind it's a problem with the backlighting .... Too slow to follow the scene...

    I dont think Philips could repair this mistake... Probably i will bring back the Tv to the shop....

    What a shame because when i see movies it's very amazing .... What a beautiful quality

  3. #3
    Silver Member
    Points: 2,538, Level: 14
    Level completed: 30%, Points required for next Level: 212
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registeredTagger Second Class1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    zlatko's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Sofia/Bulgaria
    Posts
    152
    Points
    2,538
    Level
    14
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    @Horty
    This known for every 9-series user, but completely neglected by Philips problem called DSE - Dirty Screen Effect. Most easily noticeable when watching football or alpine skiing.
    Philips is REFUSING to acknowledge its existence. Looks like it is HW issue, and can not be solved. All Sharp panel in 2012 9-series suffer from it to a different degree. It is a roulette what you will get - more or less noticeable banding.
    The only solution is getting TV set from another brand.
    Nor Philips as company, neither its employees here have courage and dignity to even speak about the issue.

  4. #4
    New Member
    Points: 685, Level: 6
    Level completed: 68%, Points required for next Level: 65
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Pisa italy
    Posts
    3
    Points
    685
    Level
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    then you're telling me that if I change my 500 panels all have this problem?
    But are we kidding? The series 9000 price 2500 euros and I can not see a football game without having problems??
    this and 'to denounce ...
    I know 'that in 2010 there was a series of options in service menu' to turn this problem on my tv but there is no service in the "option" that took you to solve the problem you know something?

  5. #5
    Silver Member
    Points: 2,538, Level: 14
    Level completed: 30%, Points required for next Level: 212
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registeredTagger Second Class1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    zlatko's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Sofia/Bulgaria
    Posts
    152
    Points
    2,538
    Level
    14
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    Horty@
    Most of them will have it. And there will be different degrees to which you notice it. I have seen only 2 more 9606 and 1 9706 TV sets - all of them have DSE.
    I spoke with Philips Bulgaria - they said they have had other people complaining about DSE, but can not do anything and told me to connect to authorized repair service.

  6. #6
    Bronze Member
    Points: 996, Level: 8
    Level completed: 23%, Points required for next Level: 154
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!1 year registered

    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    France
    Posts
    13
    Points
    996
    Level
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    I think I'll bring my TV to my dealer at the incompetence of Philips with respect to resolution of technical problems ...
    It makes me believe that the problem is not known ... but many people complain ... Philips plays dead!!
    This is outrageous considering the price of this television!

  7. #7
    Silver Member
    Points: 2,538, Level: 14
    Level completed: 30%, Points required for next Level: 212
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registeredTagger Second Class1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    zlatko's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Sofia/Bulgaria
    Posts
    152
    Points
    2,538
    Level
    14
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    @Teddy63, @Horty
    Being fed up with Philips silence on DSE I decided not leave this issue to silently die. Was on the phone with local(Bulgaria) Philips authorized service and I happen to bump across a very polite and knowledgeable engineer. At same moment I called he was reviewing 46PFL9706 brought back with DSE issue. There is alpine skiing going on at the same moment so he clearly sees the issue as we talk on the phone. He said to me that he will notify Philips technical issues department officially and asked me for pictures and video I can send showing DSE in action.
    His worlds were - "I can change your panel, but the issue will be present. There must be general resolution to this."
    So please - use your time to send Philips support e-mails and give them calls so they can not close their eyes on this!

    PS. He asked me about what FW I am running on, I said "The latest 14.0.95", he said there was 14.0.96 in their closed ftp. So soon we can expect update.
    Last edited by zlatko; 03-02-2012 at 01:02 PM.

  8. #8
    Bronze Member
    Points: 996, Level: 8
    Level completed: 23%, Points required for next Level: 154
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!1 year registered

    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    France
    Posts
    13
    Points
    996
    Level
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Is it not possible that the engineer you transmit this firmware? or at least it explains the developments related to this one?
    I have to call my dealer this after noon and I do not know what I should do ... give him the TV and get a refund? or wait for a solution ...

  9. #9
    Platinum Member
    Points: 5,068, Level: 21
    Level completed: 4%, Points required for next Level: 482
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Tagger Second ClassNew Achievement!Veteran5000 Experience Points
    Nettle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Padua, Italy
    Posts
    620
    Points
    5,068
    Level
    21
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    Rep Power
    5
    Quote Originally Posted by Horty View Post
    then you're telling me that if I change my 500 panels all have this problem?
    But are we kidding? The series 9000 price 2500 euros and I can not see a football game without having problems??
    this and 'to denounce ...
    I know 'that in 2010 there was a series of options in service menu' to turn this problem on my tv but there is no service in the "option" that took you to solve the problem you know something?
    Hello Horty,

    bring the unit back to the Technical Support Center ad ask for a full replacement of the TV with a new one.

    We're speaking about a case of "Lack of conformity" IF (I highlight IF) they can't solve your issue (even in the technical support center).

    IF they can't solve your issue and if they don't find an acceptable solution for you, ask for a consumers association's lawyer support (ADUSBEF, ADUC, AltroConsumo, Ecc..).

    It's free and it works very well.

    Regards
    Last edited by Nettle; 03-02-2012 at 03:30 PM.

  10. #10
    Silver Member
    Points: 2,538, Level: 14
    Level completed: 30%, Points required for next Level: 212
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registeredTagger Second Class1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    zlatko's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Sofia/Bulgaria
    Posts
    152
    Points
    2,538
    Level
    14
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    @Teddy63
    New FW won't solve the DSE issue. I just mentioned it as a addition to my post. I will send them pics and video of the DSE and they will escalate problem to Philips. I do not expect that will help, judging by Philips officials behaviour here, but it worth the shot.

  11. #11
    Bronze Member
    Points: 996, Level: 8
    Level completed: 23%, Points required for next Level: 154
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!1 year registered

    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    France
    Posts
    13
    Points
    996
    Level
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    I just downloaded the new FW ...

    Going to try on my TV .. I don't know if it will change something ...

    I call Philips another time yesterday.. Now, I'm waiting for a response of an engineer ... maybe on monday ...

    I don't think he will find a solution for the DSE ... hope that but ...

    Yet it is that may be of poor management of the backlight during fast scenes?

    PS : The new FW is on ... nothing changed for the DSE ..
    Last edited by Teddy63; 03-03-2012 at 12:34 PM.

  12. #12
    New Member
    Points: 685, Level: 6
    Level completed: 68%, Points required for next Level: 65
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Pisa italy
    Posts
    3
    Points
    685
    Level
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    hi
    so instead of making me change the 2 panel you advise me to make me change the TV complete? might be the best solution?

  13. #13
    Silver Member
    Points: 2,538, Level: 14
    Level completed: 30%, Points required for next Level: 212
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registeredTagger Second Class1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    zlatko's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Sofia/Bulgaria
    Posts
    152
    Points
    2,538
    Level
    14
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    @Horty
    Changing the whole set is ALWAYS better if they allow you. Thus you can switch ON the new set in the shop, check for DSE and take home only if satisfied with what you see. If not - let them bring another set for test.

  14. #14
    Silver Member
    Points: 2,538, Level: 14
    Level completed: 30%, Points required for next Level: 212
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registeredTagger Second Class1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    zlatko's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Sofia/Bulgaria
    Posts
    152
    Points
    2,538
    Level
    14
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    Anyone from Philips will drop a line about this?!!!

  15. #15
    Platinum Member
    Points: 4,691, Level: 20
    Level completed: 11%, Points required for next Level: 359
    Overall activity: 7.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registeredTagger Second Class1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Athens/Greece
    Posts
    639
    Points
    4,691
    Level
    20
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Rep Power
    5
    Has anyone managed to capture the effect on a screenshot?

Similar Topics

  1. 46PFL9706M/08 in Spain?
    By oscarbcncat in forum TV: Other
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-02-2012, 02:11 PM
  2. Few questions about 46PFL9705M/08
    By rjalex in forum TV: User Interface
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-18-2011, 01:58 PM
  3. 37PFL9606M/08 menu trouble or.....
    By tecnozen in forum TV: User Interface
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 11-04-2011, 03:34 PM
  4. After installing TPM52E 2.08 Problems with DVB-T
    By francofp in forum TV: Software 2010 models
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 04-27-2011, 02:18 PM
  5. 32PFL9705M/08 bug
    By Lebow82 in forum TV: Software 2010 models
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-22-2011, 11:10 AM

Tags for this Topic

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •