Results 1 to 9 of 9
  • Topic Tools
  • Display
  • Bookmark and Share
  1. #1
    New Member
    Points: 705, Level: 6
    Level completed: 78%, Points required for next Level: 45
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Tehran/ Iran
    Posts
    5
    Points
    705
    Level
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    My MCI900 Is Driving Me Crazy!

    I recently recieved an MCI900 and it looks like a great device, but there are two things that are driving me crazy.
    It Hangs a LOT, A moment I'm pressing a button on remote the next moment it's not responding and I have to unplug it.
    The other problem is the HDD, When the device is freshly restarted, it detects the HDD and its content, a minute later it doesn't and no matter how many times I unplug the HDD cable and replug it, the device shows "No USB Devices Found".
    I really didn't expect the device to be this Buggy. Are there any special reasons for these problems? Is there anyway to fix these? I'll need your experience on it.

  2. #2
    Gold Member
    Points: 3,505, Level: 17
    Level completed: 14%, Points required for next Level: 345
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Overdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!Veteran

    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Santiago, Chile
    Posts
    308
    Points
    3,505
    Level
    17
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 14 Times in 12 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    Hi !

    Although based on your description, you seem to have a more severe problem, but please make sure that you have the latest firmware version installed in your MCi900. I believe the latest FW version is VC9.28S.

    Cheers !
    /T

  3. #3
    New Member
    Points: 705, Level: 6
    Level completed: 78%, Points required for next Level: 45
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Tehran/ Iran
    Posts
    5
    Points
    705
    Level
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    I've Updated the firmware, No change.

    I've updated the firmware 3 days ago! but still the problems exist. I'm practically paralyzed without an HDD to run my files on. Come on Philips give me a hand here!
    Also, thanks Tias

  4. #4
    Gold Member
    Points: 3,505, Level: 17
    Level completed: 14%, Points required for next Level: 345
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Overdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!Veteran

    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Santiago, Chile
    Posts
    308
    Points
    3,505
    Level
    17
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 14 Times in 12 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    Right, so it sounds like a hardware failure to me.
    If your MCi900 is within the warranty period, take it back to the shop for a replacement.

    Cheers !
    /T

  5. #5
    New Member
    Points: 705, Level: 6
    Level completed: 78%, Points required for next Level: 45
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Tehran/ Iran
    Posts
    5
    Points
    705
    Level
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    I'd Love to but well you know, There's quite a long way!

    I'd love to do that but this device was a prize sent to me from over seas, and apparently nobody even knows this device here so there's no chance I can make any replacements or even fixing it. I thought it might be a common problem with this device, it seems that it isn't. but thanks for your advices, I really appreciate it.

  6. #6
    New Member
    Points: 705, Level: 6
    Level completed: 78%, Points required for next Level: 45
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Tehran/ Iran
    Posts
    5
    Points
    705
    Level
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Well I think I found the source of the problems, too many folders on the HDD, when I Deleted some of them both of the problems disappeared! But still sometimes it hangs. It's better altogether, at least it doesn't drive me crazy anymore.

  7. #7
    Silver Member
    Points: 1,864, Level: 12
    Level completed: 5%, Points required for next Level: 286
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Hongkong
    Posts
    100
    Points
    1,864
    Level
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    3
    If you have loaded lot of music on your HDD, then check what is the colour of the music icon in HDD mode. If it is yellow, leave the set on for a few hrs. Once the music symbol becomes white, then the MCi will work much better. If you are using wireless, you could also try a wired connection to the router.

  8. #8
    New Member
    Points: 705, Level: 6
    Level completed: 78%, Points required for next Level: 45
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Tehran/ Iran
    Posts
    5
    Points
    705
    Level
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Well if mean that I should let it update my music database that's what I intended to do in the beginning, I waited for it to update but after some time the HDD becomes unresponsive. So what I did was to reduce the amount of files on the HDD and it worked.

  9. #9
    Gold Member
    Points: 3,505, Level: 17
    Level completed: 14%, Points required for next Level: 345
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Overdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!Veteran

    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Santiago, Chile
    Posts
    308
    Points
    3,505
    Level
    17
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 14 Times in 12 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    Hi !

    The limit is 40000 tracks
    But IIRC, there is some kind of limit of number of subfolder levels and even the amount of folders too. But I couldn't find any info in the manual of the MCi900 on this limitation, so I might be wrong.

    Cheers !
    /T

Similar Topics

  1. Spotify is now available on MCi900
    By Philips - Andrea in forum Sound: Streamium MCi series (MCi900| Mci8080| MCi730| MCi500| MCi298)
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 02-15-2012, 11:38 AM
  2. HDMI ARC make me crazy !
    By arcidae2000 in forum TV: Connectivity
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 02-14-2012, 07:36 AM
  3. mci900 multiroom features
    By alfi in forum Sound: Streamium MCi series (MCi900| Mci8080| MCi730| MCi500| MCi298)
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 01-13-2012, 12:37 AM
  4. MyRemote on Sony Tablet S doesn't find MCi900
    By piet in forum Sound: Streamium MCi series (MCi900| Mci8080| MCi730| MCi500| MCi298)
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12-02-2011, 04:27 PM
  5. 40PFL7705DV/F7 Lip Sync Issue. Im going crazy
    By DHall in forum TV: Installation
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 11-22-2011, 09:41 AM

Tags for this Topic

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •