Results 1 to 10 of 10
  • Topic Tools
  • Display
  • Bookmark and Share
  1. #1
    New Member
    Points: 647, Level: 6
    Level completed: 49%, Points required for next Level: 103
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Haifa, Israel
    Posts
    5
    Points
    647
    Level
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    42PFL4606H - TV Volume keeps rising to the maximum value on its own

    Hi,
    I've bought the 42PFL4606H 6 months ago, after about a month, the TV started intermittently rising the volume on its own to the maximum value (40), the red LED that signals that the TV is receiving signals from the remote keeps blinking.
    This continues for several minutes, when powering off the TV, it turns itself back on and continues with the erratic behavior.
    I've tried blocking the IR receiver to eliminate any cross talk with other devices' IR, but this does not help.
    Israel's Philips service center don't know how to solve this, they did not see the issue when it was in the lab, and apparently made some preventive fix in the SSB card along with a firmware update, but still this happens (lower frequency, but still does).

    As this is a new TV(6 months) and has already needed 6 visits by technicians due to this issue, is there anything else I can do or guide the guys at the lab what to do with this, because I think they are clueless.

    I'll appreciate any help you can offer.

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Platinum Member
    Points: 4,691, Level: 20
    Level completed: 11%, Points required for next Level: 359
    Overall activity: 7.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registeredTagger Second Class1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Athens/Greece
    Posts
    640
    Points
    4,691
    Level
    20
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Rep Power
    5
    I would start testing by removing the batteries from the TV remote. Does it happen if the remote has no batteries? If not, just ask for a remote replacement.

  3. #3
    New Member
    Points: 647, Level: 6
    Level completed: 49%, Points required for next Level: 103
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Haifa, Israel
    Posts
    5
    Points
    647
    Level
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Thanks for the reply, but that was one of the first things I tried, along with removing the batteries from any other remote in the house and as I said, blocking the Infra Red receiver, which does the same and more.

    Any other suggestions?

  4. #4
    Platinum Member
    Points: 4,691, Level: 20
    Level completed: 11%, Points required for next Level: 359
    Overall activity: 7.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registeredTagger Second Class1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Athens/Greece
    Posts
    640
    Points
    4,691
    Level
    20
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Rep Power
    5
    Blocking the IR receiver will work only if the block is not transparent to IR (which is not the same as normal light).

    Since you see the led lightining, for sure the TV either receives an IR signal, or the IR receiver is broken. Can Philips replace the small board the IR receiver is?

    What material have you used to block the IR sensor during your tests?

  5. #5
    Silver Member
    Points: 3,256, Level: 16
    Level completed: 52%, Points required for next Level: 194
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsOverdriveNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    127
    Points
    3,256
    Level
    16
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    In the past some models have keyboard problems with that issue, maybe you have a Sw(vol+) problem, not a remote control problem, if you press a sw red led will flash.

  6. #6
    New Member
    Points: 647, Level: 6
    Level completed: 49%, Points required for next Level: 103
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Haifa, Israel
    Posts
    5
    Points
    647
    Level
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    petasis, I've used back side painted black thick aluminum foil.

    What they suggested is some electronic noise on some of the lines, but they don't really know how to debug this as they did not succeed last time.

    If the IR sensor was indeed broken, odds are it would not receive they "right" signals, which are sent by the remote.

    Manuel,
    I thought about this too, I'm not sure if I tried this before, but Vol+ is not supposed to power up the TV (but I'll repeat this again tonight).

    Thanks

  7. #7
    Platinum Member
    Points: 4,691, Level: 20
    Level completed: 11%, Points required for next Level: 359
    Overall activity: 7.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registeredTagger Second Class1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Athens/Greece
    Posts
    640
    Points
    4,691
    Level
    20
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Rep Power
    5
    Aluminum foil will block IR, so the testing was ok.

    Are the TV controls (on the TV) normal push buttons, or "touch" buttons?

  8. #8
    New Member
    Points: 647, Level: 6
    Level completed: 49%, Points required for next Level: 103
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Haifa, Israel
    Posts
    5
    Points
    647
    Level
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Touch buttons

  9. #9
    Platinum Member
    Points: 4,691, Level: 20
    Level completed: 11%, Points required for next Level: 359
    Overall activity: 7.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registeredTagger Second Class1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Athens/Greece
    Posts
    640
    Points
    4,691
    Level
    20
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Rep Power
    5
    Maybe there is problem in the buttons board, and the touch buttons self-activate?

  10. #10
    New Member
    Points: 647, Level: 6
    Level completed: 49%, Points required for next Level: 103
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Haifa, Israel
    Posts
    5
    Points
    647
    Level
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Perhaps, I will see now, the lab replaced the "main" board.

    Hope this solves it this time

Similar Topics

  1. LCD-TV 37PFL8404H Sound volume automatically moves to maximum
    By GertC in forum TV: Software 2009 models (and older)
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-06-2012, 05:26 PM
  2. problem to switch 42PFL4606H/58 on/off
    By miilits in forum TV: Other
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 01-29-2012, 11:11 AM
  3. 42PFL4606H/58 channel language problem
    By bondas25 in forum TV: User Interface
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-22-2012, 09:39 AM
  4. connect your mic volume with the volume of the speakers
    By sasa' in forum TV: User Interface
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-12-2011, 07:00 PM
  5. 42PFL4606H/12 - screen lag issues with PS3
    By Siimon in forum TV: Connectivity
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-27-2011, 03:14 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •