Results 1 to 11 of 11
  • Topic Tools
  • Display
  • Bookmark and Share

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    New Member
    Points: 924, Level: 7
    Level completed: 87%, Points required for next Level: 26
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!1 year registered

    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    8
    Points
    924
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    Nearing Capacity

    Hi there,

    I am seeking some advice. I have a WAC7500 and 4 WAS7500 in my set up. I am very happy with what I have, especially once I found WACHandler via the Stremium Cafe predecessor of this site, which significantly improved the management of the HDD.

    So here is my problem. Put simply ... I have too much music, and I am quickly approaching the capacity of my HDD with only 2.5GB of storage left. So I need to make a decision on what to do.

    Could someone please comment on whether either of these options is possible:

    1) Is it possible to increase the memory of the WAC7500? Please bear in mind I am not technically minded, so preferably a 'plug in' solution.

    2) assuming (1) is not possible, are any of the subsequent Stremium products (with 160Gb HDD) compatible with the WAS7500 stations?....and if so which, and would I lose any functionality like broadcast or music follow me?

    Any advice would be greatly received. thanks

  2. #2
    Gold Member
    Points: 3,505, Level: 17
    Level completed: 14%, Points required for next Level: 345
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Overdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!Veteran

    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Santiago, Chile
    Posts
    308
    Points
    3,505
    Level
    17
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 14 Times in 12 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    Hi !

    It is possible to change the HDD of the WAC7500, but it requires some skills with hardware to be able to do it, plus knowing a little bit of cloning the old disk to the new disk and so on. BerndZ in this forum has some instruction on how to do this.

    The MCi500H is 100% compatible with your WAS7500 Stations and it sports a 160GB harddisk too.

    Cheers !
    /T

  3. #3
    New Member
    Points: 924, Level: 7
    Level completed: 87%, Points required for next Level: 26
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!1 year registered

    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    8
    Points
    924
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Thanks Tias ... I really appreciate your input

    Based on your description, I am not sure I could cope with changing the HDD. My only option would be to take it to a local computer specialist and see if they could help.

    I had wondered whether the MCi500H was the only one compatible, as the sales info on it was the only one that mentioned the WAS7500 specifically.

    Based on other posting to this site, it would seem that if I go for the MCi500H option, I cannot use the WADM to help in the transition, as it will not load the backup files to a different machine.

    I therefore need to copy all the files to the PC using WACHandler from the WAC7500, and then back onto the MCi500H. My assumption is, that if I do this, I will lose all the album art. Additionally all the tracks will be loaded, but I will have to recreate all the Playlists I currently have set up. Is this correct? ...and does the same apply if I managed to replace the HDD?

    Thanks again

  4. #4
    Gold Member
    Points: 3,505, Level: 17
    Level completed: 14%, Points required for next Level: 345
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Overdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!Veteran

    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Santiago, Chile
    Posts
    308
    Points
    3,505
    Level
    17
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 14 Times in 12 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    Hi !
    Anyone who has changed a harddisk in a PC and is not afraid of using a screwdriver should be able to replace it using the instructions from BerndZ

    All WAS and WAC devices works with eachother, including the WAK3300 and the MCi500H.

    It is true that the WADM backup functions does not work between devices (blame the music industry for thsi limitation ).

    It is also true that if you use WACHandler, you will lose the Album Art. I normally use MP3Tag in my PC to fix the Album Art before uploading to my Center. (I.e. downloaded form old WAC MP3Tag to fix Album Art and then upload to new Center.)

    WACHandler will handle the playlists for you, but you have to export them from your current WAC7500 one-by-one and then import them to your new MCi500H after it has been loaded with all tracks.

    Cheers !
    /T

  5. #5
    New Member
    Points: 924, Level: 7
    Level completed: 87%, Points required for next Level: 26
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!1 year registered

    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    8
    Points
    924
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Thanks Again Tias....all very useful input.

    As I continue to think about my options, another (more expensive!) option is to abondon my set up altogether ...and move to the more up to date systems ...like the MCi8080 ... I realise I would also then have to replace my stations. Reading some of your other postings, I see you have moved on to this machine.

    This leads me to another couple of initial questions (please excuse my ignorance!):
    1) as per my initial post, I use WACHandler to manage my database. It would appear that WACHandler is not used for the MCi8080. What do you use instead?
    2) one of the features of WACHandler I really like, is the Normalisation of tracks / albums. This is important, as I have a lot of playlists, and to have all the tracks at the same volume is great. How would I do this on the MCi8080?

    Cheers

  6. #6
    Gold Member
    Points: 3,505, Level: 17
    Level completed: 14%, Points required for next Level: 345
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Overdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!Veteran

    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Santiago, Chile
    Posts
    308
    Points
    3,505
    Level
    17
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 14 Times in 12 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    Hi again !

    First, your WAS7500 Station(s) can connect to a MCi device, they just won't work in MultiRoom mode.

    1: The MCi8080 (and the MCi900) comes with an external USB harddisk. It stores all music there, and optionally, photos can be stored too. The MCi also exposes this USB HDD as a shared devices in your LAN. This means that you don't need any specialized software (like WADM or WACHandler) to mange your music. You simply just map the disk as a network drive from a PC in your LAN. Or you can just disconnect it form the MCi and connect it to your PC directly via USB. Finally, you can of course use almost whatever USB mass storage device you want instead of the one coming bundled with the MCi

    2: Well, my purpose of including this functionality in WACHandler was just to skip the hazzle of manually downloading the tracks, normalize them with some third-part S/W and then uploading them again to the Center. With all tracks stored in a USB Storage, you can choose any third-party S/W to normalize your tracks directly on the USB disk. Just Google for mp3 normalize software and you'll find several options, one example is MP3Gain.

    Cheers !
    /T
    Last edited by Tias; 03-17-2012 at 06:10 PM. Reason: Correcting spelling mistakes

  7. #7
    New Member
    Points: 924, Level: 7
    Level completed: 87%, Points required for next Level: 26
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!1 year registered

    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    8
    Points
    924
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Thanks for all the advice.

    The more I think about it, the more I think about it, the more I am considering making my setup more current. I had not considered the MCi900, as it did not come up as a current product on the Philips website....it only shows the MCi8080. Is the only difference between the two the speakers?...or am I overlooking something?....and having found it on various sites, is it worth the extra cost?

  8. #8
    Gold Member
    Points: 3,505, Level: 17
    Level completed: 14%, Points required for next Level: 345
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Overdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!Veteran

    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Santiago, Chile
    Posts
    308
    Points
    3,505
    Level
    17
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 14 Times in 12 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    Hi !

    The big differences are :
    1: The design of the speakers (personally, I like the MCi900 ones).
    2: The MCi8080 has a touch screen, the MCi900 does not.

    Otherwise they are very similar, with an external USB hardddisk for music storage, DVD player with HDMI output, controllable by the Android/iPhone MyRemote application, Multiroom mode (= Music Broadcast mode in the WACS systems).

    Cheers !
    /T

  9. #9
    New Member
    Points: 924, Level: 7
    Level completed: 87%, Points required for next Level: 26
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!1 year registered

    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    8
    Points
    924
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Hi .. I am now in the process of moving from my existing WAC7500 to a MCi8080 ....and I would like to ask for some more advice.

    With my WAC7500, when I purchased an album online and download it, I then created a CD to load it onto the WAC. This got me the album art, but I also noticed that the size of each track file was significantly smaller than the downloaded file. As per your recommendation, I am using MP3Tag for the album art (thanks for the suggestion). I see there are programs out there to reduce size of mp3 files ...so my question is....is there one that you would recommend?

    Thanks in advance!

  10. #10
    Gold Member
    Points: 3,505, Level: 17
    Level completed: 14%, Points required for next Level: 345
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Overdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!Veteran

    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Santiago, Chile
    Posts
    308
    Points
    3,505
    Level
    17
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 14 Times in 12 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    Hi !
    MP3 files are already compressed, so if you want to reduce them, there are two things you can do :
    A: Re-encode it, but that will reduce the sound quality and most probably even create artifacts, so I do not recommend this. It's analog to re-encoding a jpeg image...
    B: Remove big unused tags, such as big album rat images or iTunes tags. But unless the tag is extremely big (megabytes) it won't make much sens to go thru the hassle to do this.

    Personally, I use MP3Tag to check for ridiculously big Album Art, that's all.

    Cheers !

  11. #11
    New Member
    Points: 924, Level: 7
    Level completed: 87%, Points required for next Level: 26
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!1 year registered

    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    8
    Points
    924
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Thank you Tias.

    You have been a great help! I feel in a much better position now to make a decision.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •