Page 1 of 8 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 125
  • Topic Tools
  • Display
  • Bookmark and Share

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Silver Member
    Points: 3,353, Level: 16
    Level completed: 76%, Points required for next Level: 97
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!1 year registered

    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    127
    Points
    3,353
    Level
    16
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    3

    BDP3200/12 wrong AR in MKV playback

    Player plays all MKV files but with the wrong aspect ratio/screen format!

    Unsure if this an issue caused by the player or the TV (Sony Bravia)...?

    Any suggestions?

    Thanks in advance.

  2. #2
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,150, Level: 8
    Level completed: 50%, Points required for next Level: 200
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    13
    Points
    1,150
    Level
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Hi,

    I had to set the ratio of my TV (from LG actually) to "just scan" and everything's fine.

    Lars.

  3. #3
    Silver Member
    Points: 3,353, Level: 16
    Level completed: 76%, Points required for next Level: 97
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!1 year registered

    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    127
    Points
    3,353
    Level
    16
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    3
    Quote Originally Posted by flensrocker View Post
    Hi,

    I had to set the ratio of my TV (from LG actually) to "just scan" and everything's fine.

    Lars.
    I'm not sure about what setting will be the equivalent on a Sony, but I'll give it a try later today. Thanks.

  4. #4
    Bronze Member
    Points: 641, Level: 6
    Level completed: 46%, Points required for next Level: 109
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    16
    Points
    641
    Level
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    bdp3282 same problem

    I was just about to post this myself.
    I have just bought a bdp3282/05 and I am having the same problem.
    All my 720p MKV disks play in 4:3 format. I have changed the settings on my TV (samsung) and it does not make any difference.

    There is no firmware update to solve this problem.

    Philips can you sort this out?

  5. #5
    Silver Member
    Points: 3,353, Level: 16
    Level completed: 76%, Points required for next Level: 97
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!1 year registered

    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    127
    Points
    3,353
    Level
    16
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    3
    Quote Originally Posted by flensrocker View Post
    Hi,

    I had to set the ratio of my TV (from LG actually) to "just scan" and everything's fine.

    Lars.
    I tried changing my TV's screen settings last night. It didn't help...
    How have you configured your players HDMI output (setup)?

    Quote Originally Posted by pau1777 View Post
    I was just about to post this myself.
    I have just bought a bdp3282/05 and I am having the same problem.
    All my 720p MKV disks play in 4:3 format. I have changed the settings on my TV (samsung) and it does not make any difference.

    There is no firmware update to solve this problem.

    Philips can you sort this out?
    Hmm... It seems that movies in 21:9 format, which should have black bars on top/bottom or cropped left/right get squeezed into the 16:9 format. The result is unwatchable.

    Always feared that this was down to poor firmware support (got a Sony DVD/HDD which is unable to play XviD video in correct AR. Sony never fixed the issue).

  6. #6
    Bronze Member
    Points: 641, Level: 6
    Level completed: 46%, Points required for next Level: 109
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    16
    Points
    641
    Level
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by MidnightManiac View Post
    I tried changing my TV's screen settings last night. It didn't help...
    How have you configured your players HDMI output (setup)?



    Hmm... It seems that movies in 21:9 format, which should have black bars on top/bottom or cropped left/right get squeezed into the 16:9 format. The result is unwatchable.

    Always feared that this was down to poor firmware support (got a Sony DVD/HDD which is unable to play XviD video in correct AR. Sony never fixed the issue).
    I am going to try different formats over the weekend. Im going to convert mkv to mp4 to see if this is just an mkv issue.
    the format on the information screen clearly says 1280x720.

    My old (broken) blu ray which was a samsung played these files fine. I just hope that phillips can help out with a new firmware. Im happy to provide them with disks that are causing problems! They are home movies that I have taken from my HD camcorder which has a maximum resolution of 720p

  7. #7
    Silver Member
    Points: 3,353, Level: 16
    Level completed: 76%, Points required for next Level: 97
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!1 year registered

    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    127
    Points
    3,353
    Level
    16
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    3
    Thanks, pau1777. That's interesting.

    Now, I don't know how this forum works, but I sure hope some Philips representatives read it or at least that some mods are able to assist and get this issue solved soon...

  8. #8
    Diamond Member
    Points: 54,363, Level: 72
    Level completed: 21%, Points required for next Level: 1,187
    Overall activity: 96.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Toengel's Philips Blog
    Posts
    6,145
    Points
    54,363
    Level
    72
    Thanks
    167
    Thanked 198 Times in 177 Posts
    Rep Power
    11
    Hi,

    you should upload somewhere a test file. So, Philips can make tests.

    Toengel@Alex

  9. #9
    Bronze Member
    Points: 641, Level: 6
    Level completed: 46%, Points required for next Level: 109
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    16
    Points
    641
    Level
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Toengel View Post
    Hi,

    you should upload somewhere a test file. So, Philips can make tests.

    Toengel@Alex
    Id be happy to do this if phillips tell me where to upload to so they can access this.

  10. #10
    Diamond Member
    Points: 54,363, Level: 72
    Level completed: 21%, Points required for next Level: 1,187
    Overall activity: 96.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Toengel's Philips Blog
    Posts
    6,145
    Points
    54,363
    Level
    72
    Thanks
    167
    Thanked 198 Times in 177 Posts
    Rep Power
    11
    Hi,

    I think you can use every upload service (well, Megaupload isn't the right place atm ^^): e.g. https://www.wetransfer.com/

    Toengel@Alex

  11. #11
    Silver Member
    Points: 3,353, Level: 16
    Level completed: 76%, Points required for next Level: 97
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!1 year registered

    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    127
    Points
    3,353
    Level
    16
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    3
    Bump. Any news?

    I would really like to know if there is a solution. Otherwise encoding mkv files for use on this player seems like a waste of time...

  12. #12
    Platinum Member
    Points: 2,996, Level: 15
    Level completed: 82%, Points required for next Level: 54
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsOverdriveNew Achievement!
    Oscar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    722
    Points
    2,996
    Level
    15
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    But did you actually upload or gave some files to the mods....if not difficult to see what happens.

    beter pass one

  13. #13
    Silver Member
    Points: 3,353, Level: 16
    Level completed: 76%, Points required for next Level: 97
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!1 year registered

    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    127
    Points
    3,353
    Level
    16
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    3
    Quote Originally Posted by Oscar View Post
    But did you actually upload or gave some files to the mods....if not difficult to see what happens.

    beter pass one
    I didn't. Pau1777 was going to.

    What mods? I haven't seen any posts by forum mods or Philips reps... Just saying.

    This player obviously has mkv file issues.

  14. #14
    Diamond Member
    Points: 54,363, Level: 72
    Level completed: 21%, Points required for next Level: 1,187
    Overall activity: 96.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Toengel's Philips Blog
    Posts
    6,145
    Points
    54,363
    Level
    72
    Thanks
    167
    Thanked 198 Times in 177 Posts
    Rep Power
    11
    Hi,

    but without an example they cannot investigate the issues...

    Toengel@Alex

  15. #15
    Silver Member
    Points: 3,353, Level: 16
    Level completed: 76%, Points required for next Level: 97
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!1 year registered

    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    127
    Points
    3,353
    Level
    16
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    3
    Quote Originally Posted by Toengel View Post
    Hi,

    but without an example they cannot investigate the issues...

    Toengel@Alex
    Judging by post count and your blog, it looks like you know what you're talking about... So, do you know if any mods or Philips reps actually monitor these threads?

Page 1 of 8 123 ... LastLast

Similar Topics

  1. BDP7600/12: Several bugs during playback of MKV files - Part 2
    By upsh in forum Blu-ray: BDP7000 Series
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-26-2012, 10:16 AM
  2. BDP3200/12: no video on HD-DVB-C recording in mkv-container
    By flensrocker in forum Blu-ray: BDP2000 & 3000 Series
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 01-25-2012, 11:28 AM
  3. 32PFL9606H/12: Unable to display subtitle on MKV playback
    By davedj in forum TV: Streaming & Network
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-22-2011, 10:54 AM
  4. BDP5100 and MKV - what am I doing wrong
    By slumdogs in forum Blu-ray: BDP5000 & 6000 Series
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 10-16-2011, 09:58 AM
  5. BDP3100/12 No sound on MKV playback
    By Russell in forum Blu-ray: BDP2000 & 3000 Series
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-23-2011, 06:29 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •