Page 5 of 12 FirstFirst ... 34567 ... LastLast
Results 61 to 75 of 167
  • Topic Tools
  • Display
  • Bookmark and Share
  1. #61
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,576, Level: 11
    Level completed: 9%, Points required for next Level: 274
    Overall activity: 6.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Koenigstetten
    Posts
    22
    Points
    1,576
    Level
    11
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by ali54 View Post
    i havent changed any settings all settings are on default
    Hi, due to the ongoing discussions regarding picture quality I am still on .034 and satified but with default settings the picture would be having a terrible quality even on .034....

  2. #62
    Silver Member
    Points: 2,268, Level: 13
    Level completed: 40%, Points required for next Level: 182
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    188
    Points
    2,268
    Level
    13
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    Quote Originally Posted by ch_harald View Post
    Hi, due to the ongoing discussions regarding picture quality I am still on .034 and satified but with default settings the picture would be having a terrible quality even on .034....
    the problem i dont think is the settings the problem is how backlighting is controling the over all pictuer.whats setting are you useing?

  3. #63
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,576, Level: 11
    Level completed: 9%, Points required for next Level: 274
    Overall activity: 6.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Koenigstetten
    Posts
    22
    Points
    1,576
    Level
    11
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by ali54 View Post
    the problem i dont think is the settings the problem is how backlighting is controling the over all pictuer.whats setting are you useing?
    Hi, with .034 I am using the following settings on a 46PFL9705K:
    Mode: personal
    Brightness: 50
    Contrast: 76
    Color: 43
    Sharpness: 1
    Optimal resolution: on
    Optimised color: off
    Dyn. Backlight: standard
    Color white: 127/115/84
    Perfect contrast: min.
    Gamma: 1
    Screen margins: 4
    Perfect Natural Motion: average
    MPEG-Artefactsuppression: off
    noise suppression: off

  4. #64
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,181, Level: 9
    Level completed: 16%, Points required for next Level: 169
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    27
    Points
    1,181
    Level
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    I have downgraded to 140.34 again, because the Picture with 140.47 is too bad. With 140.34 the Picture (Sharpness and Blacklevel) are much, much better. And another point is in the old Firmware included: The automaticically rezising from the Picture (the black Bars left and right in HD-stations) to the full-sized Picture. In newer versions (it begins with the 140.39 i think) this feature will not working. I must change manually the Source from HD1 to HD2 (BluRay) and then back. After them it is working until to the next restart. Such a shame, Philips! So it is proofed again: Older is better

  5. #65
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,576, Level: 11
    Level completed: 9%, Points required for next Level: 274
    Overall activity: 6.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Koenigstetten
    Posts
    22
    Points
    1,576
    Level
    11
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by punschula View Post
    I have downgraded to 140.34 again, because the Picture with 140.47 is too bad. With 140.34 the Picture (Sharpness and Blacklevel) are much, much better. And another point is in the old Firmware included: The automaticically rezising from the Picture (the black Bars left and right in HD-stations) to the full-sized Picture. In newer versions (it begins with the 140.39 i think) this feature will not working. I must change manually the Source from HD1 to HD2 (BluRay) and then back. After them it is working until to the next restart. Such a shame, Philips! So it is proofed again: Older is better
    On 140.34 I am currently experiencing that Net TV is not working anymore (no connection to the server possible). According to Philips I would need to upgrade to 140.47 to enable this again - but I won't do this, because of image quality (and I have also Net TV possible via my BDP). Nevertheless - as you downgraded to 140.34: is your Net TV also not functioning?

  6. #66
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,181, Level: 9
    Level completed: 16%, Points required for next Level: 169
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    27
    Points
    1,181
    Level
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    I cant answer this question, because i dont use this function any more..

  7. #67
    Silver Member
    Points: 2,268, Level: 13
    Level completed: 40%, Points required for next Level: 182
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    188
    Points
    2,268
    Level
    13
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    can philips tell us why the pictuer quailty keep geting worse with all the new updates 0.34 is best one right now but still no where good as 0.25 this is madness

  8. #68
    Moderator
    Points: 17,624, Level: 40
    Level completed: 47%, Points required for next Level: 426
    Overall activity: 99.7%
    Achievements:
    1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!10000 Experience PointsVeteran
    Philips - Thomas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    1,765
    Points
    17,624
    Level
    40
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 39 Times in 36 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Hi

    everyone is talking about "bad" pictures, can you please provide us with some more detailed informations.
    Also good would be Pictures!

    Regards
    Thomas

  9. #69
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,181, Level: 9
    Level completed: 16%, Points required for next Level: 169
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    27
    Points
    1,181
    Level
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Philips - Thomas View Post
    Hi

    everyone is talking about "bad" pictures, can you please provide us with some more detailed informations.
    Also good would be Pictures!

    Regards
    Thomas
    Hi Thomas,
    i am shure, Philips have more than 1 Model from the 8506 Series and also they have Version 140.34 and 140.47 to compaire both side by side. If not, so maybe we can make a donate for the Development? I have described the differents (sight from my site) with the following points: The sharpness and the cloudlessness from the picture is in the 140.34 much better than in 140.47. Also the Blacklevel are more "black". And the automatically resizing from any HD-stations sending a movie with black bars left and right will work to fullsize-zoom only with the 140.34, in later Firmwares this dont work automatic! In this case you must force the function with switching during different HDMI-Sources (for example from HDMI-1 to HDMI 2 BluRay and then back!) This is horrible situation. Why dont work this not in later Firmwares? Why undisturbing this dysfunction Philips?

  10. #70
    Silver Member
    Points: 2,268, Level: 13
    Level completed: 40%, Points required for next Level: 182
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    188
    Points
    2,268
    Level
    13
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    thomas thank you for your replay this is a first time some one from philips has ask us whats wrong with pictuer quality.ok with old softwears the pictuer was more inky strong black level and sharpeer
    now with new softwears not only the pictuer its not as strong as before.lot of the times the pictuer is flat no depth and on some scens looks wash out

  11. #71
    Silver Member
    Points: 3,881, Level: 18
    Level completed: 8%, Points required for next Level: 369
    Overall activity: 7.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Freddy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    219
    Points
    3,881
    Level
    18
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    Quote Originally Posted by ch_harald View Post
    On 140.34 I am currently experiencing that Net TV is not working anymore (no connection to the server possible). According to Philips I would need to upgrade to 140.47 to enable this again - but I won't do this, because of image quality (and I have also Net TV possible via my BDP). Nevertheless - as you downgraded to 140.34: is your Net TV also not functioning?
    Can you still make a connection to other devices on your network (PC through DLNA for example)?... I ask, to figure out if the network connection on your tv itself is still working.

    If the network connection is still working, then some of the Philips guys here will probably be able to get you back on NetTV, by providing them with more detailed info through PM.
    There is no real reason for older firmwares (140.34 and earlier) not to connect to NetTV. The only ones having intrinsic network difficulties are 140.36/37/39.

  12. #72
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,528, Level: 10
    Level completed: 89%, Points required for next Level: 22
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    11
    Points
    1,528
    Level
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Philips - Thomas View Post
    Hi

    everyone is talking about "bad" pictures, can you please provide us with some more detailed informations.
    Also good would be Pictures!

    Regards
    Thomas
    The best picture quality was in FW 0.75.60.1. Can you compare this one with newers to see himself?

  13. #73
    Platinum Member
    Points: 4,691, Level: 20
    Level completed: 11%, Points required for next Level: 359
    Overall activity: 7.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registeredTagger Second Class1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Athens/Greece
    Posts
    640
    Points
    4,691
    Level
    20
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    Quote Originally Posted by Philips - Thomas View Post
    Hi

    everyone is talking about "bad" pictures, can you please provide us with some more detailed informations.
    Also good would be Pictures!

    Regards
    Thomas
    I second that. I have asked many times for a comparison.
    Is there a volunteer that will post some images of the same scenes with firmware 0.34 and 0.47?

    I haven't observed that, and obviously Philips is not aware of such a problem in picture quality.
    Posting images may help make other users understand, and Philips identify any problems, if they exist.
    How can this be solved, if it has not been identified first?

  14. #74
    Silver Member
    Points: 2,268, Level: 13
    Level completed: 40%, Points required for next Level: 182
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    188
    Points
    2,268
    Level
    13
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    Quote Originally Posted by petasis View Post
    I second that. I have asked many times for a comparison.
    Is there a volunteer that will post some images of the same scenes with firmware 0.34 and 0.47?

    I haven't observed that, and obviously Philips is not aware of such a problem in picture quality.
    Posting images may help make other users understand, and Philips identify any problems, if they exist.
    How can this be solved, if it has not been identified first?
    you say how can they idenfied the problem its eazy philips have 9000 and 8000 models in there work shops and they must have old and new softwears so they can run tests.also you can do this test for your self as you own 9705 and you no where to download the old softwears.i think it be hard to show such difrrence by showing pictuers. its not like a big line down the screen where you be able to see in a photo

  15. #75
    Moderator
    Points: 17,624, Level: 40
    Level completed: 47%, Points required for next Level: 426
    Overall activity: 99.7%
    Achievements:
    1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!10000 Experience PointsVeteran
    Philips - Thomas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    1,765
    Points
    17,624
    Level
    40
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 39 Times in 36 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Hi Guys

    the thing is that we can not see here any differences in picture quality.
    If you in fact do see differences then we need your impressions to understand what is going on, you can do that by pictures or even videos.

    Regards
    Thomas

Page 5 of 12 FirstFirst ... 34567 ... LastLast

Similar Topics

  1. Replies: 209
    Last Post: 03-14-2012, 08:18 PM
  2. Replies: 43
    Last Post: 12-28-2011, 09:22 AM
  3. Replies: 149
    Last Post: 12-09-2011, 06:44 AM
  4. Replies: 84
    Last Post: 08-26-2011, 12:08 PM
  5. Replies: 79
    Last Post: 07-19-2011, 06:55 AM

Tags for this Topic

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •