Results 1 to 11 of 11
  • Topic Tools
  • Display
  • Bookmark and Share
  1. #1
    New Member
    Points: 683, Level: 6
    Level completed: 67%, Points required for next Level: 67
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Hannover Germany
    Posts
    8
    Points
    683
    Level
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    Timeshift/Pause and hbbTV don't work together

    Hi,

    I bought two TVs a few weeks ago (32pfl7606 and 37pfl7606). Both use a different 2,5" hard discs. The timeshift feature worked fine...I often go back a few seconds to look at things a second time.

    Since a short while (update to V014.96??) I noticed on both devices that nothing happenes when I press the pause button. But when I press the back button timeshift goes back in time and I can even play the recorded stream. After jumping back and forward 2 or 3 times even that doesn't work correctly. Suddenly the feature 2x or 4x back is missing. Sometimes my tv reboots...

    I didn't read about this problem in this forum. Because I have two very similar devices running with different hard discs, I think that this problem comes from the last software update...but I'm not sure?

    Regards
    Andreas
    Last edited by Philips; 04-03-2012 at 01:11 PM.

  2. #2
    Silver Member
    Points: 2,368, Level: 13
    Level completed: 73%, Points required for next Level: 82
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registeredTagger Second Class1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    32PFL7606K FW Q5551-0.14.93.0_bld11a
    Posts
    188
    Points
    2,368
    Level
    13
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    4
    Did you read this thread? Do you have similar problems as well?

    I'm still having occasional problems with timeshift on 14.93, but it got a little better (for my feeling), when I left at least 10 seconds between each key press. The crashes are not gone, but greatly reduced. Does this help for you as well?

    I have not updated to 14.96 yet because of the removed "hide channels" feature, so I can't say anything on whether it got worse..

    PS: Can you make your title more specific to the problem, please?

  3. #3
    New Member
    Points: 683, Level: 6
    Level completed: 67%, Points required for next Level: 67
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Hannover Germany
    Posts
    8
    Points
    683
    Level
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    Pause key does not work in Time Shift mode

    Hi matthias,

    yes, I read your thread, but I opened my own thread because I use another software version (14.96) and on my tv even the first press on the pause button does no longer work.

    But of course I find a lot of things similar to your problems:

    After rewinding and forwarding, sometimes the response of the tv gets more and more strange. Which function vanishes first is kind of unpredictable. Sometimes funtions like fast rewind/forward are not working or even missing when I press the buttons. Sometimes nothing happens at all. Sometimes when I press rewind again and again it suddenly starts rewinding but cannot be stopped. Play mostly works. Stop sometimes works, pause never works.

    Regards
    Andreas

  4. #4
    New Member
    Points: 683, Level: 6
    Level completed: 67%, Points required for next Level: 67
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Hannover Germany
    Posts
    8
    Points
    683
    Level
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    btw: how can I edit the title of the thread - I didn't find a way...?

  5. #5
    Silver Member
    Points: 2,368, Level: 13
    Level completed: 73%, Points required for next Level: 82
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registeredTagger Second Class1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    32PFL7606K FW Q5551-0.14.93.0_bld11a
    Posts
    188
    Points
    2,368
    Level
    13
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    4
    Quote Originally Posted by watirofo View Post
    Which function vanishes first is kind of unpredictable. Sometimes funtions like fast rewind/forward are not working or even missing when I press the buttons. Sometimes nothing happens at all. Sometimes when I press rewind again and again it suddenly starts rewinding but cannot be stopped. Play mostly works. Stop sometimes works, pause never works.
    Then it seems it did get worse in the latest version. Can you try to downgrade to the previous one?

    PS: For the title, there is an "advanced" button somewhere

  6. #6
    New Member
    Points: 683, Level: 6
    Level completed: 67%, Points required for next Level: 67
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Hannover Germany
    Posts
    8
    Points
    683
    Level
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    Reproducable: Timeshift and hbbTV don't work together

    Hi,

    I now found something I can 100% reproduce:

    On all stations without hbbTV, the timeshift function works properly - even with HD. On stations with hbbTV, the pause button doesn't work and all already described problems occur.

    I'm using DBV-C. That means hbbTV is supported on all "öffentlich rechtlichen" stations like ARD, ZDF, NDR3, arte and so on...

    Sorry, I cannot downgrade because on the Philips download site there's only the last version available. Do you know where to find older software versions...?

    I would like to change the title of the thread now, so that Philips sees the issue immediately withouts reading the whole thread. But I cannot find an "advanced button".

    Regards
    Andreas

  7. #7
    New Member
    Points: 683, Level: 6
    Level completed: 67%, Points required for next Level: 67
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Hannover Germany
    Posts
    8
    Points
    683
    Level
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    ...ah, and one more information: When I unplug my network cable (no more hbbTV available), then timeshift & pause functionallity is available on all stations!

  8. #8
    Silver Member
    Points: 2,368, Level: 13
    Level completed: 73%, Points required for next Level: 82
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registeredTagger Second Class1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    32PFL7606K FW Q5551-0.14.93.0_bld11a
    Posts
    188
    Points
    2,368
    Level
    13
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    4
    Ah, very good find! I think that it's reproducable increases the chances a lot this will be fixed soon
    Last edited by matthias; 03-25-2012 at 08:58 PM.

  9. #9
    Silver Member
    Points: 2,137, Level: 12
    Level completed: 96%, Points required for next Level: 13
    Overall activity: 10.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registeredNew Achievement!1000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    76
    Points
    2,137
    Level
    12
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Rep Power
    3
    Quote Originally Posted by watirofo View Post
    Hi,

    I now found something I can 100% reproduce:

    On all stations without hbbTV, the timeshift function works properly - even with HD. On stations with hbbTV, the pause button doesn't work and all already described problems occur.

    I'm using DBV-C. That means hbbTV is supported on all "öffentlich rechtlichen" stations like ARD, ZDF, NDR3, arte and so on...

    Sorry, I cannot downgrade because on the Philips download site there's only the last version available. Do you know where to find older software versions...?

    I would like to change the title of the thread now, so that Philips sees the issue immediately withouts reading the whole thread. But I cannot find an "advanced button".

    Regards
    Andreas

    Hello Andreas,

    I tested this, but can not reproduce your findings.
    I tried ARD and ZDF, in both cases hbbTV and pause/timeshift are working.
    Not sure why we have different results (cable operator?, internet connection?,.....), anyway for reference my configuration:
    TV: 32PFL7606/H12
    FW: 14.96
    Country: Holland
    Cable operator: Ziggo

    Regards,
    Leen

    P.S. The problems I experience with pause/timeshift are mainly an erratic behaviour in FREV and FFWD when started from pause status.
    Last edited by L1Zeeman; 03-26-2012 at 02:28 PM. Reason: correction of typo in typenumber

  10. #10
    Silver Member
    Points: 2,368, Level: 13
    Level completed: 73%, Points required for next Level: 82
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registeredTagger Second Class1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    32PFL7606K FW Q5551-0.14.93.0_bld11a
    Posts
    188
    Points
    2,368
    Level
    13
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    4
    Interesting to note - I just tried the same thing on 14.93 - and could partly reproduce them - whenever I used Hbbtv Red Button in combination with timeshift, sooner or later, timeshift crashed.

    So, no new bugs, but unfixed existing bugs.

    First, I couldn't change channels any more ("Stop timeshift first"), but Timeshift Stop didn't react. But I could do this by "reactivation" TV. Afterwards, I could change channels, but Timeshift stopped working.

    This only occurred in combination with using Hbbtv. No hbbtv - no problems.

    Hope, Philips can take it from here and come up with a fix soon :-)

  11. #11
    Moderator
    Points: 17,551, Level: 40
    Level completed: 38%, Points required for next Level: 499
    Overall activity: 99.8%
    Achievements:
    1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!10000 Experience PointsVeteran
    Philips - Thomas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    1,757
    Points
    17,551
    Level
    40
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 38 Times in 35 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Hi

    14.97 is out and we received good Feedback about the HbbTV performance.
    Please all make sure, you use the latest FW.

    Regards
    Thomas

Similar Topics

  1. USB Flsh drive too slow to enable timeshift ???
    By jls1504 in forum TV: USB-recording
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-20-2012, 02:35 PM
  2. disable permanent timeshift
    By kaczy in forum TV: USB-recording
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 02-27-2012, 06:46 PM
  3. Problem reading ALL .mkv files - Format Problem ?
    By buzjay in forum TV: Connectivity
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-25-2011, 03:37 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •