Results 1 to 3 of 3
  • Topic Tools
  • Display
  • Bookmark and Share
  1. #1
    New Member
    Points: 855, Level: 7
    Level completed: 53%, Points required for next Level: 95
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registeredTagger Second Class500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Israel
    Posts
    8
    Points
    855
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    BDP7600/12 - SDHC Format Bug?

    Dear All,

    This follows my recent purchase of a BDP7600/12 Player.

    For keeping local info (needed -- at least -- for NetTV & BDLive) it can use an SDHC Class 6 memory card.

    It also needs to FORMAT that card the first time it accesses it, during the play of a BluRay disc.

    And here's my problem: the User's Manual states that the card should have a capacity of at least 4GB; I tried using a 32GB card (Class 6, of course!), and by the time the Formatting process almost finished, the Player switched already to a StandBy status, and got stuck ... (only by disconnecting it from the mains I was able to bring it back to life)!

    I had no problem with a 4GB card, the formatting of which finished prior to the Player's changing operational status.

    So my questions are:

    1. Is this a bug in the formatting option of the Player?

    2. If so, and until it is -- hopefully -- fixed, can the card be externally formatted (say, in a PC/Laptop)? If so, what parms (File structure, label, block size, ...) would be accepted by the Player?

    On a side-note: it would be nice to offer an option to Format the card from the Settings menu, and not only as a by-product of accessing another function (like playing a BluRay disc or accessing NetTV) ...
    Maybe in an upcoming Firmware update

    Thanks in advance for your help,

    Sincerely,

    Eric Trattner

  2. #2
    Diamond Member
    Points: 55,269, Level: 72
    Level completed: 82%, Points required for next Level: 281
    Overall activity: 100.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Toengel's Philips Blog
    Posts
    6,185
    Points
    55,269
    Level
    72
    Thanks
    167
    Thanked 199 Times in 178 Posts
    Rep Power
    11
    Hi,

    good idea to have an option to format from the menu.

    However, does it work if you deactivate the screensaver AND the auto-standby?

    Toengel@Alex

  3. #3
    New Member
    Points: 855, Level: 7
    Level completed: 53%, Points required for next Level: 95
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registeredTagger Second Class500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Israel
    Posts
    8
    Points
    855
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Hello Toengel,

    Thanks for the hint.

    Indeed, it worked (took for ever, but the Player eventually finalized the Formatting of the card).

    Still, as we both mentioned, being able to access the Format task directly from a Menu rather than as a by-product of performing another task, could really improve the User experience ...

    Thanks again,,
    Eric

Similar Topics

  1. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-26-2012, 10:49 AM
  2. PFL9604H/12 driven by BDP7600/12: HDMI connection fails
    By paul_delabastita in forum TV: Software 2009 models (and older)
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-12-2011, 04:04 PM
  3. SA3MUS is dead after inserting sdhc card.
    By Vasicek in forum Sound: GoGear SA3-series (2011)
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 12-05-2011, 10:30 PM
  4. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-05-2011, 10:31 PM
  5. New bug (?) Format SD card
    By daL in forum TV: Software 2010 models
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 07-20-2011, 07:15 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •