Results 1 to 10 of 10
  • Topic Tools
  • Display
  • Bookmark and Share
  1. #1
    New Member
    Points: 842, Level: 7
    Level completed: 46%, Points required for next Level: 108
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    1
    Points
    842
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    Multiple 32pfl5606 issues

    Hi.
    Yesterday i bought tha 32pfl5606 TV and althought i am satisfied with the great picture, i have a couple of problems.

    First - when i try to update the software, after the update, when the TV restarts it says that new software has been found on the insrted USB which im guessing means that it didnt instal the update properly.
    So, i download the update, plug in the usb, update, restart and after the TV starts again it says new software detected, do you want to update and so on. This goes on in a loop. Why?

    The second problem is the reason i want to update. Althogh the manual clearly satas that the options HD natiral motion and 100hz clear LCD shold be present in the Pixel plus HD menu, they are not. THe pixel plus HD submenu is present in the picture menu but these two options arent there. Why?

    The third and biggest problem is the reason i look for the hd natural motion and 100hz clea lcd options.
    When compared to my other hdtv the picture of the philips looks a bit jerky, almost like it suffers from low refresh rate. i have read that sometimes 100hz TVs can exibit this, so i wanted to turn off the 100hz options, and it was then that i noticed that this option isnt presen in the pixel plus hd menu although it should be. Why am i gettin a jeky picture? the jekry picture is noticable espiecialy on slow moving scenes and it really bothers me. Its the same with regular TV and when i connect my laptop via HDMI to watch movies.

    this tv has awesome color, contrast and sharpness but the motion, is hugely lacking. how can i fix the jerkynes (judder i think they call it no?)

    Help!

  2. #2
    Moderator
    Points: 16,869, Level: 39
    Level completed: 53%, Points required for next Level: 381
    Overall activity: 99.7%
    Achievements:
    1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!10000 Experience PointsVeteran
    Philips - Thomas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    1,704
    Points
    16,869
    Level
    39
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 37 Times in 34 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Hi

    Please get in contact with you local Call Center:
    http://www.support.philips.com/suppo...jsp?COOKIE=off

    Thanks
    Thomas

  3. #3
    New Member
    Points: 1,042, Level: 8
    Level completed: 46%, Points required for next Level: 108
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    4
    Points
    1,042
    Level
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    I also have this same TV - 32PFL5606H. and i have noticed exactly the same issues. further i have also noticed, when having and almost black screenm the lower right corner, when looking directly at the TV has a slightly brighter area.

    The TV has great specs, when reading its pdf. sheet, but the software in the TV has a feel of being very "incomplete"

    so al these issues are not software related. does it need a trip to a service center?

  4. #4
    New Member
    Points: 551, Level: 6
    Level completed: 1%, Points required for next Level: 199
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    2
    Points
    551
    Level
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    Issue with 32PFL5606 TV

    Hello,

    I bought this TV (32PFL5606) one week ago.
    All it's ok ... I was very pleased with the fact that internal player of the TV can play/run H264 videos. Obvious, I run some mkv files from a memory stick but here I encounter a big problem: the USB port doesn't recognise the NTFS file format - ONLY FAT or FAT32 !!!
    Some of my mkv files are bigger then 4 Gb and can not be stored on FAT or FAT32 format (only on NTFS formated - media storage).
    So ... do you think that it's possible - to a future firmware upgrade to add support for NTFS formated storage - to be accesible by USB port on this TV ???

    Please ... this will be a very usefull upgrade because otherwise - I really don't see any point to have a H264 capable (internal USB) player on this TV if you can not access larger files (MKV / H264) wich ussually are larger then 4 Gb and obvious this files can not be stored on FAT or FAT32 media storrage.
    I really expect a positive feedback regarding this issue.

    Sorry for my english ... it's not my native language.
    Thank you,
    Claudiu

  5. #5
    Platinum Member
    Points: 4,691, Level: 20
    Level completed: 11%, Points required for next Level: 359
    Overall activity: 7.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registeredTagger Second Class1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Athens/Greece
    Posts
    640
    Points
    4,691
    Level
    20
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    Just out of curiosity, what will happen if you format a usb stick with ext2 (the linux filesystem) and use it in your TV? Will it work?
    (If it does, ext2 will allow files larger than 4GB, that FAT32 does not allow...)

    Of course, you will need Linux (or Linux inside a VM) to do the management of such usb stick...

  6. #6
    New Member
    Points: 551, Level: 6
    Level completed: 1%, Points required for next Level: 199
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    2
    Points
    551
    Level
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    It's not working either with Ext2 ... only fat or fat32

  7. #7
    Moderator
    Points: 16,869, Level: 39
    Level completed: 53%, Points required for next Level: 381
    Overall activity: 99.7%
    Achievements:
    1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!10000 Experience PointsVeteran
    Philips - Thomas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    1,704
    Points
    16,869
    Level
    39
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 37 Times in 34 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Hi Guys

    for the 32PFL5606 we only support FAT or FAT32, neither can the TV use EXT2 as file System.
    For files bigger than 4GB i can only suggest to split the files.

    Regards
    Thomas

  8. #8
    New Member
    Points: 541, Level: 5
    Level completed: 91%, Points required for next Level: 9
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Sibiu / Romania
    Posts
    1
    Points
    541
    Level
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Hello,

    I also want to use the TV as a USB player and the fact that the TV can recognize only FAT32 USB sticks means that I cannot use the full specs of the TV. The TV has a full HD display, but when it comes to playing a full movie from USB you cannot do that.
    Also I wanted to play a H264 movie in .mkv format. I had 3 files. Only one was played. For the others it said "unrecognized audio file" and "unrecognized video file". Also The TV didn't display the subtitles, although it was extracted from the .mkv file, it had the same name as the video file, and it was displayed on the PC. As a conclusion the TV cannot display all H264 .mkv files.
    I'm not really that deep into codecs and file formats, but an update of firmware should be enough to be able to play different file formats (with different codecs).

    Another problem I encountered is this: I have a HD digital receiver. When the TV shows a HD tv channel I cannot adjust the sound from the digital receiver remote control (sound is set on zero, but the sound is at the same intensity). If I adjust the sound from the TV remote it works. This doesn't happen with the SD channels. On other forums it is said that this has to do with the Dolby Digital sound handling of the TV software (it happens on TV's from LG also).

    Too bad, the TV looks really good (in these 3 weeks I had it) except this two problems I described. Unfortunately I want to use the USB feature often and as there will be no fix for this I will return the TV and go with the competitors.

    All the best,
    Marian

  9. #9
    Silver Member
    Points: 633, Level: 6
    Level completed: 42%, Points required for next Level: 117
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    54
    Points
    633
    Level
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    3
    Hi Eru, any luck on finding a work around on this?

  10. #10
    Diamond Member
    Points: 51,160, Level: 70
    Level completed: 1%, Points required for next Level: 1,390
    Overall activity: 100.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    6,031
    Points
    51,160
    Level
    70
    Thanks
    156
    Thanked 174 Times in 155 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Hi,

    if you have a 32pfl5606... some days ago a new firmware has been released.

    Toengel@Alex

Similar Topics

  1. BDP3200/5 : Sound issues
    By Firefly in forum Blu-ray: BDP2000 & 3000 Series
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 12-14-2011, 09:33 PM
  2. HTS5591 issues
    By Daxziz in forum Blu-ray: HTS Series
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 12-06-2011, 04:23 PM
  3. NP3900 - Multiple Skip Error
    By Philips - Gary in forum Sound: Streamium NP Series (NP3900|NP3700|NP3500|NP3300|NP2900)
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 12-05-2011, 08:22 AM
  4. Album grouping & multiple bookmarks for ordinary MP3 files in MSC mode?
    By James_Newbie in forum Sound: GoGear SA2-series (2010)
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 12-01-2011, 10:46 AM
  5. 58PFL9956 issues
    By marcelnl1 in forum TV: User Interface
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-02-2011, 06:58 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •