Results 1 to 14 of 14
  • Topic Tools
  • Display
  • Bookmark and Share
  1. #1
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,182, Level: 9
    Level completed: 16%, Points required for next Level: 168
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!1 year registered1000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    23
    Points
    1,182
    Level
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    Question No detection of USB HDD (3,5" - USB3.0 - 3TB)

    Hey guys! I have a big problem and I really need your help.

    I bought a new USB (3.0) harddrive (3,5" - 3TB - NTFS). It's a "Seagate FreeAgent GoFlex Desk (STAC3000201)".

    If I connect this harddrive with my BDP7600 BluRay Player, the harddrive spins up and there is just this white USB sign which shows that an USB drive is connected. But when I press the "OK" button to open the USB storage device - nothing happens.

    If I connect it to my 46PFL9706 TV there comes an information on the TV screen (...USB device connected...) and nothing continues. If I try to start the USB device in the "Home" menue it shows just an "empty" harddrive.

    The really weird thing is, that I used a similarly harddrive before whitout any problems. It was a "Samsung Story Station (HX-DT020EB)" (3,5" - 2TB - USB3.0 - NTFS). It was very easy to connect to the TV as well as to the BluRay Player.

    What can be the reason for my problem? The only difference to my previous drive is just that the new HDD is from Seagate and has 1TB more disc space!?

  2. #2
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,182, Level: 9
    Level completed: 16%, Points required for next Level: 168
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!1 year registered1000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    23
    Points
    1,182
    Level
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Today I had a phone talk with the philips support. They said that the philips TVs and BDPs don't support USB devices over 2TB. Maybe there will come an Update this year. Maybe not ((

    Did somebody else try to connect an >2TB HDD on a philips TV/BDP ?

  3. #3
    Moderator
    Points: 16,869, Level: 39
    Level completed: 53%, Points required for next Level: 381
    Overall activity: 99.8%
    Achievements:
    1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!10000 Experience PointsVeteran
    Philips - Thomas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    1,704
    Points
    16,869
    Level
    39
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 37 Times in 34 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Hi

    we have to get a bit more clear on this one.
    We do support up to 16TB HDD capacity, but only when it comes to USB Recording.
    For playback we only support up to 1TB.

    Regards
    Thomas

  4. #4
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,182, Level: 9
    Level completed: 16%, Points required for next Level: 168
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!1 year registered1000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    23
    Points
    1,182
    Level
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Philips - Thomas View Post
    Hi

    we have to get a bit more clear on this one.
    We do support up to 16TB HDD capacity, but only when it comes to USB Recording.
    For playback we only support up to 1TB.

    Regards
    Thomas
    Sorry, but that's bull..it! You won't help anyone here with writing false facts.
    I used a 2TB HDD before, (Samsung Story Station) without any problems (TV and BDP).
    I guess philips doesn't have any idea, which HDD-capacity they really support.

  5. #5
    Moderator
    Points: 16,869, Level: 39
    Level completed: 53%, Points required for next Level: 381
    Overall activity: 99.8%
    Achievements:
    1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!10000 Experience PointsVeteran
    Philips - Thomas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    1,704
    Points
    16,869
    Level
    39
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 37 Times in 34 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Hi

    you should read carefully. There is a difference in "we do support" and "we say it will not work"...
    or in German "Das etwas funktioniert, heißt nicht wir dafür garantieren".

    So before starting to get rude, just read and understand what others are saying.
    To make it short.
    We do have a clear Idea what we do support.
    That up 1TB on USB Playback and up to 16TB for Recording.

    Thomas

  6. #6
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,182, Level: 9
    Level completed: 16%, Points required for next Level: 168
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!1 year registered1000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    23
    Points
    1,182
    Level
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Sorry if i was rude! But if the philips support says (after consulting with software development) that they DO SUPPORT usb drives up to 2TB and then you're writing (I think, also after a consultation) other facts, I don't have the feeling that philips has a "clear Idea" of what they really do support.

    I don't know whose statement is right. But I'm very upset, about this kind of support!

    In case of your information was correct, I apologize, for my last post.

    Regards

  7. #7
    Moderator
    Points: 16,869, Level: 39
    Level completed: 53%, Points required for next Level: 381
    Overall activity: 99.8%
    Achievements:
    1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!10000 Experience PointsVeteran
    Philips - Thomas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    1,704
    Points
    16,869
    Level
    39
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 37 Times in 34 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Hi

    please post the copy of your conversation with the Support (if it was Chat or Email) where someone said that we support up to 2TB.
    Or send me your Ticket No via PN.

    Thomas

  8. #8
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,182, Level: 9
    Level completed: 16%, Points required for next Level: 168
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!1 year registered1000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    23
    Points
    1,182
    Level
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    It was a phone call (as I wrote in my second post). If I had known about this kind of misinformation I would have written down her name. But I didn't.

  9. #9
    Moderator
    Points: 16,869, Level: 39
    Level completed: 53%, Points required for next Level: 381
    Overall activity: 99.8%
    Achievements:
    1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!10000 Experience PointsVeteran
    Philips - Thomas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    1,704
    Points
    16,869
    Level
    39
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 37 Times in 34 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Hi

    okay just send me your phone no. via pn so i can check for you.

    Thomas

  10. #10
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,182, Level: 9
    Level completed: 16%, Points required for next Level: 168
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!1 year registered1000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    23
    Points
    1,182
    Level
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Philips - Thomas View Post
    Hi

    okay just send me your phone no. via pn so i can check for you.

    Thomas
    Okay I sent you my number via pn.

    Here some additional informations about the phone call:

    28.04.2012 / 13:14:11

    dialed no.: +49 (0)8000007520

    duration: 00:14:40


    Regards

    Paul aka Fitness-Boy
    Last edited by Fitness-Boy; 05-02-2012 at 10:05 PM.

  11. #11
    Moderator
    Points: 16,869, Level: 39
    Level completed: 53%, Points required for next Level: 381
    Overall activity: 99.8%
    Achievements:
    1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!10000 Experience PointsVeteran
    Philips - Thomas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    1,704
    Points
    16,869
    Level
    39
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 37 Times in 34 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Hi Paul,

    thanks for the Data, i have checked with the Guys in the Support, sorry to say but the respons with 2TB is wrong.
    For Playback, we only support up to 1TB.

    Sorry for the miscommunication.

    Thomas

  12. #12
    New Member
    Points: 568, Level: 6
    Level completed: 9%, Points required for next Level: 182
    Overall activity: 3.0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registeredNew Achievement!500 Experience Points

    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    1
    Points
    568
    Level
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    HI@all

    I just bought a new harddrive and now I´m faced with the same problem...My old 320GB drive was working fine...the new 2TB CnMemory 3,5"HDD does not... :-(
    Is there any information about software updates that could solve this problem? Otherwise I have to change the new HDD for a smaller one...
    Last edited by Thard; 05-03-2012 at 06:52 PM.

  13. #13
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,182, Level: 9
    Level completed: 16%, Points required for next Level: 168
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!1 year registered1000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    23
    Points
    1,182
    Level
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Thard View Post
    HI@all

    I just bought a new harddrive and now I´m faced with the same problem...My old 320GB drive was working fine...the new 2TB CnMemory 3,5"HDD does not... :-(
    Is there any information about software updates that could solve this problem? Otherwise I have to change the new HDD for a smaller one...
    I know that the "Samsung Story Station" (HX-DT020EB / 3,5" / 2TB USB3.0) works fine with Philips TVs and BDPs. So if you need a compatible 2TB USB drive you can buy this Samsung HDD.

  14. #14
    New Member
    Points: 388, Level: 4
    Level completed: 38%, Points required for next Level: 62
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registered250 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    2
    Points
    388
    Level
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    BDP-7700 USB HDD Support

    Quote Originally Posted by Philips - Thomas View Post
    Hi Paul,

    thanks for the Data, i have checked with the Guys in the Support, sorry to say but the respons with 2TB is wrong.
    For Playback, we only support up to 1TB.

    Sorry for the miscommunication.

    Thomas
    Hi Thomas,

    I would like to buy the new BDP-7700, and I would like to use it as a media centre. I have a 1,5 TB USB HDD (3,5"), and I have the following questions:

    Are USB HDD-s larger than 1 TB (NTFS) supported by the new BDP-7700, or does it support USB HDD-s only up to 1 TB concerning playback, just like the BDP-7600?

    Does the BDP-7700 spins off the HDD when not in use, so can I use the HDD attached all the time, or should I disconnect it all the time?

    Right now I am using an AC Ryan media player as my media centre, but I would like to replace it with the new Philips Blu Ray deck. The answers to the questions above however can be dealbreakers for me.

    Thank you very much for the information.

    Best regards,

    batmanism2000

Similar Topics

  1. USB steaming form portable HDD
    By vali in forum TV: Streaming & Network
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-15-2012, 10:07 AM
  2. USB mit HDD
    By vicT in forum TV: USB-recording
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 12-29-2011, 09:14 AM
  3. Usb-HDD cannot playback recordings
    By digid in forum TV: USB-recording
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 12-11-2011, 10:33 PM
  4. USB HDD - Using one partition to record and one for own files
    By thomas81 in forum TV: USB-recording
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 11-08-2011, 07:32 PM
  5. What about recording from TV to a HDD(via USB or NAS)?
    By msorin in forum TV: Streaming & Network
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 06-30-2011, 12:17 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •