Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 17
  • Topic Tools
  • Display
  • Bookmark and Share
  1. #1
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,182, Level: 9
    Level completed: 16%, Points required for next Level: 168
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!1 year registered1000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    23
    Points
    1,182
    Level
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    Question No detection of USB HDD (3,5" - USB3.0 - 3TB)

    Hey guys! I have a big problem and I really need your help.

    I bought a new USB (3.0) harddrive (3,5" - 3TB - NTFS). It's a "Seagate FreeAgent GoFlex Desk (STAC3000201)".

    If I connect this harddrive with my BDP7600 BluRay Player, the harddrive spins up and there is just this white USB sign which shows that an USB drive is connected. But when I press the "OK" button to open the USB storage device - nothing happens.

    If I connect it to my 46PFL9706 TV there comes an information on the TV screen (...USB device connected...) and nothing continues. If I try to start the USB device in the "Home" menue it shows just an "empty" harddrive.

    The really weird thing is, that I used a similarly harddrive before whitout any problems. It was a "Samsung Story Station (HX-DT020EB)" (3,5" - 2TB - USB3.0 - NTFS). It was very easy to connect to the TV as well as to the BluRay Player.

    What can be the reason for my problem? The only difference to my previous drive is just that the new HDD is from Seagate and has 1TB more disc space!?

  2. #2
    Platinum Member
    Points: 2,996, Level: 15
    Level completed: 82%, Points required for next Level: 54
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsOverdriveNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Discussion Ender
    Oscar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    722
    Points
    2,996
    Level
    15
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    Hi,

    Not working on your BDP nor tv? Does it work on your pc? Have you formatted it already?

    Bye

  3. #3
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,182, Level: 9
    Level completed: 16%, Points required for next Level: 168
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!1 year registered1000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    23
    Points
    1,182
    Level
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Oscar View Post
    Hi,

    Not working on your BDP nor tv? Does it work on your pc? Have you formatted it already?

    Bye

    Of course, I have formatted it already. The format is NTFS as I wrote in my previous post. Yes it does work on my pc. And yes there are files on it - the HDD isn't empty.

  4. #4
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,182, Level: 9
    Level completed: 16%, Points required for next Level: 168
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!1 year registered1000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    23
    Points
    1,182
    Level
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Today I had a phone talk with the philips support. They said that the philips TVs and BDPs don't support USB devices over 2TB. Maybe there will come an Update this year. Maybe not ((

    Did somebody else try to connect an >2TB HDD on a philips TV/BDP ?

  5. #5
    Platinum Member
    Points: 2,996, Level: 15
    Level completed: 82%, Points required for next Level: 54
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsOverdriveNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Discussion Ender
    Oscar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    722
    Points
    2,996
    Level
    15
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    This sounds very strange to me since there are other threads with people usign for example 2.5TB and they work.....

    I will check on my BDP (have to lent a 3 TB one though first ) ) and will come back to you

    Bye

  6. #6
    Diamond Member
    Points: 50,498, Level: 69
    Level completed: 54%, Points required for next Level: 652
    Overall activity: 100.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    5,978
    Points
    50,498
    Level
    69
    Thanks
    150
    Thanked 169 Times in 151 Posts
    Rep Power
    9

  7. #7
    Moderator
    Points: 10,990, Level: 31
    Level completed: 63%, Points required for next Level: 260
    Overall activity: 16.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!10000 Experience Points
    Philips - Remko's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    555
    Points
    10,990
    Level
    31
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 5 Times in 2 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Hi Fitness-Boy,

    For the BDP part I would like to have some extra information:

    1) Are you having USB 2.0 or USB 3.0?
    2) What is the Power consumption of the external hard disk ( Does that exceed 500Ma?)

    Thanks for your feedback.

    Kind regards
    Forum Mod

  8. #8
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,182, Level: 9
    Level completed: 16%, Points required for next Level: 168
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!1 year registered1000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    23
    Points
    1,182
    Level
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    1) as I already wrote in my first post - both HDDs have USB 3.0 connection (the 2TB drive which is working fine and the 3TB drive which doesn't work)

    2) the data on the power supply: INPUT -> 100-240V~, 50-60Hz, 500mA Max.

    + I figured out that the difference between this drives is (except of the capacity) the sector size.
    The common sector size for external HDDs was 512 bytes per sector. My new 3TB drive has 4 kbytes pet sector (4kbytes/sector is common for >2TB drives).
    I think the linux software on the philips TVs can't handle it. If it's so, this could be solved by a firmware update.

    I'll try to find a 3TB drive with 512bytes/sector and try to connect it to the TV/BDP.

  9. #9
    Moderator
    Points: 10,990, Level: 31
    Level completed: 63%, Points required for next Level: 260
    Overall activity: 16.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!10000 Experience Points
    Philips - Remko's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    555
    Points
    10,990
    Level
    31
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 5 Times in 2 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Dear Fitness-Boy,

    For BDP7600 we support:

    FAT32: up to 4GB Volume Size
    NTFS: up to 2TB Volume Size

    Kind regards,

    Remko
    Forum Mod

  10. #10
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,182, Level: 9
    Level completed: 16%, Points required for next Level: 168
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!1 year registered1000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    23
    Points
    1,182
    Level
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Dear Remko,

    thank you for your answer. It's weird, because who needs a 4TB drive in a FAT32 format? It's not possible to have files bigger than 4GB on it.

    Do you think the supported volume size will be (or can be) raised for NTFS format by a firmware update?

    Regards

  11. #11
    Diamond Member
    Points: 50,498, Level: 69
    Level completed: 54%, Points required for next Level: 652
    Overall activity: 100.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    5,978
    Points
    50,498
    Level
    69
    Thanks
    150
    Thanked 169 Times in 151 Posts
    Rep Power
    9
    Hi,

    please read again Remokos post ;-) FAT32 up to 4 GB...

    Toengel@Alex

  12. #12
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,182, Level: 9
    Level completed: 16%, Points required for next Level: 168
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!1 year registered1000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    23
    Points
    1,182
    Level
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Toengel View Post
    Hi,

    please read again Remokos post ;-) FAT32 up to 4 GB...

    Toengel@Alex
    ohh, yes. my fault. Being able to read helps

  13. #13
    New Member
    Points: 254, Level: 3
    Level completed: 4%, Points required for next Level: 96
    Overall activity: 60.0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registered250 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    3
    Points
    254
    Level
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    And yet, please answer the question -
    film library for playback on a TV 52PL5605/12 size larger than 2Tb?
    If the option, with volume over 2TB is not possible, please tell which external hard drive with 2TB volume equal chance to use with TV 52PL5605/12?
    Thank you.

  14. #14
    New Member
    Points: 254, Level: 3
    Level completed: 4%, Points required for next Level: 96
    Overall activity: 60.0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registered250 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    3
    Points
    254
    Level
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    If the answer is no, because my TV model is incorrectly specified, correct TV 52PL5605/12 52PLF5605/12 on TV. The answer to this question is awaited with eagerness.

  15. #15
    Platinum Member
    Points: 2,996, Level: 15
    Level completed: 82%, Points required for next Level: 54
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsOverdriveNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Discussion Ender
    Oscar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    722
    Points
    2,996
    Level
    15
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    Think you are in the wrong section here.....

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Topics

  1. No detection of USB HDD (3,5" - USB3.0 - 3TB)
    By Fitness-Boy in forum TV: Streaming & Network
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 06-25-2012, 09:28 AM
  2. USB mit HDD
    By vicT in forum TV: USB-recording
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 12-29-2011, 09:14 AM
  3. Usb-HDD cannot playback recordings
    By digid in forum TV: USB-recording
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 12-11-2011, 10:33 PM
  4. USB HDD - Using one partition to record and one for own files
    By thomas81 in forum TV: USB-recording
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 11-08-2011, 07:32 PM
  5. What about recording from TV to a HDD(via USB or NAS)?
    By msorin in forum TV: Streaming & Network
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 06-30-2011, 12:17 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •