Results 1 to 6 of 6
  • Topic Tools
  • Display
  • Bookmark and Share
  1. #1
    New Member
    Points: 668, Level: 6
    Level completed: 59%, Points required for next Level: 82
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    2
    Points
    668
    Level
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    How to connect Video and audio seperately ?

    Hello.

    I really hope someone in here can help me... :-)

    I have a problem to connect video and audio seperately from my computer,
    - on my Philips TV (42pfl786h/12).

    I want to connect Video and Audio seperately.

    As written in the manual i should connect the hdmi cable on the side-slot, and use the the sideslot for Audio L/R.

    But when i set it up ”add new device” i can either choose the hdmi on the side,
    then i get Video, but no sound,
    If i choose the Side audio L/R for game console i get the sound, but no video-signal.

    How should i do it so it knows that it should get video from the hdmi-slot and audio from the Audio /L/R slots?

    Regards Morten SÝndergaard
    denmark
    Last edited by mormor; 04-03-2012 at 04:06 PM.

  2. #2
    Moderator
    Points: 18,903, Level: 41
    Level completed: 95%, Points required for next Level: 47
    Overall activity: 99.7%
    Achievements:
    1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!10000 Experience PointsVeteran
    Philips - Thomas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    1,828
    Points
    18,903
    Level
    41
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 41 Times in 38 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Hi Morton

    yes you can connect audio to the Side/Slot and yes you can connect Video to the Side Slot.
    BUT!
    HDMI in combination with another Cable, that does only work on the Backside connectors!
    As HDMI is intended to transmit Both, audio and Video we have only 1 Input, where you can bypass this.
    You need to connect the HDMI cable to HDMI 1,2 or 3 and besides that an Audio Cable (Klinke, 3,5) to the connector right besides the HDMI connectors.
    AND
    You have to make sure that via HDMI no Audio is transmitted.
    With Respect to HDMI regulations, if there is any Sound via the HDMI, the TV is not allowed to mix the HDMI Video with external Sound.

    Regards
    Thomas

  3. #3
    New Member
    Points: 668, Level: 6
    Level completed: 59%, Points required for next Level: 82
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    2
    Points
    668
    Level
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    Smile

    Thank you Thomas, for your informative answer :-).

    I still can't get it to work though.. :-(.

    Should it playback audio just automaticly or is there some things I need to configer?

    I've connected the HDMI to one of the slots on the back, and connect another audio (my iphone, just for testing) in the 3,5 jack "line in" on the back next to the hdmi. I still get picture, but no sound. I've also tried with another friends, computer, where im also sure there's no audio output through the hdmi (old macbook). And still i only can get the picture and no sound....

    Now I've got another problem. I've added too many computers/other devices in the menu, and now somehow i can't select the hdmi slots anymore...! I have 3 hdmi slots on the TV and normally I can choose betwen them
    To solve it I've tried deleting all the computers/devices and tried adding new ones, but still i can't select any hdmi-slots?. So now I can't connect any computer at all :-(.
    I guess maybe it's because the TV thinks that I alrdy have assigned something to the hdmi-slots, but how can I then reset this then?

    hope that you somehow can help me?

    regards morten, from denmark

  4. #4
    Silver Member
    Points: 633, Level: 6
    Level completed: 42%, Points required for next Level: 117
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    54
    Points
    633
    Level
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    3
    Hi Mormor.

    "You have to make sure that via HDMI no Audio is transmitted. "

    Have you made sure that no Audio should be transmitted through HDMI?

  5. #5
    New Member
    Points: 547, Level: 5
    Level completed: 97%, Points required for next Level: 3
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    1
    Points
    547
    Level
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    I have sort of the same problem

    I reconfigured all of my deviced but despite that fact i have been unable to get the audio from my pc working in the same menu as the HDMI side that i have connected to my pc.

    In short

    Pc => dvi=>hdmi ===> HDMI SIDE philips cineos 42fpl
    Pc => audio jack ====> SIDE Philips TV

    Audio from HDMI Cable turned off on pc ( couldn't get audio through it anyway)

    So now i'm able to listen to my music on my tv when i choose to view "SIDE"
    And am able to view my HDMI picture that is being streamed from my PC in the Menu "HDMI SIDE"

    Television firmware has been upgraded to the latest 2011 version but i am still unable getting the two to work in sync on the same screen
    Since when i view "SIDE" i have a black screen
    and when i view "HDMI SIDE" i have no sound

    I've also tried using the backport HDMI entry 3
    in combination with hdmi/dvi soundport while configuring the L/R audio to HDMI 3 but still unable to get sound and picture at the same time.
    I wasn't able to get sound anyway by means of that port!!

    Any tips would be welcome!!!!

    Reposted it as a reply to the moderator in hopes of getting a quick reply

  6. #6
    Moderator
    Points: 18,903, Level: 41
    Level completed: 95%, Points required for next Level: 47
    Overall activity: 99.7%
    Achievements:
    1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!10000 Experience PointsVeteran
    Philips - Thomas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    1,828
    Points
    18,903
    Level
    41
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 41 Times in 38 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Hi

    i see we need some general explanation in here.

    To understand the behavior, you need to understand how HDMI works.
    HDMI is a combined, Audio and Video Interface. With respect to the regulations comming with this Interface (HDCP) the TV is in general not able to mix up Audio and Video from different Inputs.

    However, as we do know, that not every PC is capable of sending Audio via HDMI we created a workaround.
    Depending of your TV you have one or more inputs on the back, connected to a single Audio input which is also on the back!.
    Those Inputs can be combined, so Video via HDMI and Sound via (most of the cases 3,5mm Klinke) this single input.
    Here is an example (9606) how this might look like:
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	hdmi.png 
Views:	82 
Size:	21.3 KB 
ID:	1066

    Only with this combination you can have Audio and Video on different inputs.

    But this only works! if you make sure that the TV does not get any Sound via HDMI. If the TV does, the TV has to playback this Sound and can not use the Sound from the other input. This is also with respect to again, HDCP.

    If the Sound comes via HDMI the TV has to play it.

    Note, Sound is a wide open field. That you don't hear the music you play on your PC, does not mean that there is no Soundsignal on the HDMI port!
    Specially when you use DVI>HDMI adapters you can have 0 level Signals, which you don't hear, but they are there.
    TV can not switch to the other input.

    To avoid such situations:
    - Use HDMI to HDMI connection (If you Graphics Card does only have DVI, we know that you have to use an adapter, if it does not work, try a different one)
    - make sure that the Sound can be routed to HDMI (Driver installation is needed on most Operating Systems also on some PC's you have to go to the BIOS to activate the Sound via HDMI
    - If you want to make sure that no Sound at all is routed via HDMI, go to the Sound Settings and disable HDMI as Sound and also (If possible) disable that also in the BIOS.


    For older TV Sets, time ago we had CVBS inputs on the side (yellow, red, white). Sure you could connect the Sound to red/white and while using the EXT Side input to listen to music but this input can not! be combined with either the HDMi side or back!

    Regards
    Thomas
    Last edited by Philips - Thomas; 04-27-2012 at 08:26 AM.

Similar Topics

  1. Audio and Video not in sync
    By apu2000 in forum TV: Connectivity
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-23-2012, 10:55 AM
  2. Transfer audio and video files using Philips Songbird
    By Philips - Gary in forum Sound: MP3/MP4 Product Support
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-07-2011, 11:50 AM
  3. audio and video blackouts on my 46pfl7655h
    By eliezerk in forum TV: Other
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-23-2011, 01:53 PM
  4. TV audio/video with transparent EPG
    By [GER] Martin in forum Smart TV: IP-EPG Program Guide, HbbTV, MHP
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-21-2011, 06:26 PM
  5. Video and audio out of sync after f forwarding
    By djerry in forum TV: Streaming & Network
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 09-04-2010, 11:21 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •