Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 20
  • Topic Tools
  • Display
  • Bookmark and Share
  1. #1
    Moderator
    Points: 15,994, Level: 38
    Level completed: 44%, Points required for next Level: 456
    Overall activity: 99.7%
    Achievements:
    1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!10000 Experience PointsVeteran
    Philips - Thomas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    1,632
    Points
    15,994
    Level
    38
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 29 Times in 28 Posts
    Rep Power
    10

    Exclamation Your experiences with FW v0.79.4.0 for 4xx7 and 5xx7 series (2012 models)

    Hi Guys

    Please share your experiences with this new SW version here in this topic. Channeling your input will make it easier for users to search and find relevant info.

    Remarks
    - Due to our global IT structure, there might be a delay in the uploading/synchronising of new SW releases (and their release notes). Please, have a little patience if you cannot immediately see the new files on our web pages and try 1 or 2 days later.
    - After upgrading your TV it is advised to perform a "cold start": unplug the TV from the mains for a few minutes before starting again.

    Release Notes:
    • “No access” message appears when you watch a pay channel.
    • TV hang-up during DVB-C channel installation.

    Regards
    Thomas
    Forum Mod

  2. #2
    New Member
    Points: 504, Level: 5
    Level completed: 54%, Points required for next Level: 46
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    SPAIN
    Posts
    5
    Points
    504
    Level
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    HI , recently i have purchased th tv model 40PFL5507H/12 . I have some issues after upgrade firmare to 0.79.4.0 .

    a) Sometimes when i change from source HDMI1 to TDT HD , is possible to up/down volume but can not possible to change chanels .
    b) Sometimes de remote is not responding
    c) SMARTTV somtimes is too slow and not responding . I used via WIFI , my router is near 10 meters from the TV .

    The TV is superb , good quality image , excellent sound , and 3D ( i can not try ) no 3d glasses .
    The problem is that the software is not as the image quality , is linux , but is soooooo slow when responding ( sometimes) I think you should check the software if you want to be one of the best TV Brands in the market .

    Thanks a lot

  3. #3
    New Member
    Points: 473, Level: 5
    Level completed: 23%, Points required for next Level: 77
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registered250 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Romania
    Posts
    1
    Points
    473
    Level
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Hello, I recently purchased a 42PFL4007H/12 model and upgraded to latest fw release. I noticed an issue, that the TV is unable to decode 6-channels DTS for mkv movies played from USB storage device (gives error "Audio codec not supported"). I know that 6-channels DTS is currently not supported (as stated in thread "Supported CODEC overview for ALL models (TV, HTS, and Blu-ray)"), but is it planned to implement a decoder for this case? Because demuxing down from 6 to 2 channels (stereo) is not supported by the tv, I must do it myself for every separate mkv file and this is time consuming. It is a deal breaker for me and I am planning to return the tv if no future fix is planned. Thanks to let me know asap!

  4. #4
    Silver Member
    Points: 3,256, Level: 16
    Level completed: 52%, Points required for next Level: 194
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsOverdriveNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    127
    Points
    3,256
    Level
    16
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    DTS it´s a big issue for all, but Philips as far as I now, do not have plans to support it in Tv´s(stereo or multichannel).

  5. #5
    Diamond Member
    Points: 50,444, Level: 69
    Level completed: 50%, Points required for next Level: 706
    Overall activity: 100.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    5,974
    Points
    50,444
    Level
    69
    Thanks
    150
    Thanked 169 Times in 151 Posts
    Rep Power
    9
    Hi,

    the firmware has been refreshed (still version 79.4). However, the build version was increased from 4a to 4e (creation date 1. June 2012). Maybe someone from Philips can post the changes...

    Toengel@Alex

  6. #6
    Bronze Member
    Points: 680, Level: 6
    Level completed: 65%, Points required for next Level: 70
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registeredNew Achievement!500 Experience Points

    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Bulgaria
    Posts
    11
    Points
    680
    Level
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Toengel View Post
    Maybe someone from Philips can post the changes...

    Toengel@Alex
    +1
    waiting for replay from Philips support

  7. #7
    Silver Member
    Points: 796, Level: 7
    Level completed: 23%, Points required for next Level: 154
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    120
    Points
    796
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    3
    I've never before seen a company publishing new FW editions without an update to the + Firmware History file.
    Obviously I again need to learn something very special new. :shaking head:
    Anyway, I took the risk and blew edition bld4e over bld4a with USB stick.

    Result:
    - TV still working
    - nothing special to see
    - currently no need to clear Apps Storage every day to get the IP-EPG working the next day.
    I have the feeling they might again have changed something with the sequence of loading stuff from the gracenote? EPG data and access to the secure server for the USB recording authorisation ?
    No evidence though, just the feeling cause IP EPG loading looks a little bit faster .
    Last edited by user0815; 06-08-2012 at 03:27 PM.

  8. #8
    New Member
    Points: 423, Level: 4
    Level completed: 73%, Points required for next Level: 27
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registered250 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    2
    Points
    423
    Level
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    The TV sometimes freezes when I use the Play/Pause function and the cable tuner is veeeeeeeerrrryyy slow.

    I also agree to the DTS problem, a support for the S/PDIF would be enough.

    Another problem is the program guide.
    First it loads the content, then it turns black. You only see what's on TV in the upper left corner.
    Last edited by HerrTim; 06-11-2012 at 09:22 PM.

  9. #9
    Diamond Member
    Points: 50,444, Level: 69
    Level completed: 50%, Points required for next Level: 706
    Overall activity: 100.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    5,974
    Points
    50,444
    Level
    69
    Thanks
    150
    Thanked 169 Times in 151 Posts
    Rep Power
    9
    Hi,

    the firmware has been refreshed again - now it's version 79.4 build 4j (H, K, T) and 4k (for M models) respectively. Generation date is 6.6.2012.

    No changelog available.

    Toengel@Alex

  10. #10
    Silver Member
    Points: 796, Level: 7
    Level completed: 23%, Points required for next Level: 154
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    120
    Points
    796
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    3
    Thankyou. Just put it to my 5007K.
    Release for TV550R4:
    Q554E-0.79.4.0_bld4j
    Generation date:
    06/06/2012 10:37:36

    Works fine for me.

    Also spotted the announced server maintenance today at about 11pm.
    Nothing to worry after that.
    IP-EPG loads as fast as before, and I believe the pages turn over may be a little bit faster. 5 seconds instead of 8 seconds
    I use the LAN cable instead of WLAN.

  11. #11
    Bronze Member
    Points: 680, Level: 6
    Level completed: 65%, Points required for next Level: 70
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registeredNew Achievement!500 Experience Points

    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Bulgaria
    Posts
    11
    Points
    680
    Level
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    No changelog??? Again??? Shame on you Philips!

  12. #12
    Diamond Member
    Points: 50,444, Level: 69
    Level completed: 50%, Points required for next Level: 706
    Overall activity: 100.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    5,974
    Points
    50,444
    Level
    69
    Thanks
    150
    Thanked 169 Times in 151 Posts
    Rep Power
    9
    Hi,

    Changelog:

    H, K, T models:
    Q554E_0.79.4.0_4J (Date published: 2012-06-13)

    • Improved sound performance for HDMI connection.

    Q554E_0.79.4.0_4E (Date published: 2012-06-06)

    • E-sticker update for 37PFL4017K/12 and 42PFL4317K/12.



    M models:

    Q554M_0.79.4.0_4K (Date published: 2012-06-13)

    • Improved sound performance for HDMI connection.


    Toengel@Alex

  13. #13
    Silver Member
    Points: 796, Level: 7
    Level completed: 23%, Points required for next Level: 154
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    120
    Points
    796
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    3
    Thanks.
    Just for my understanding:
    E-sticker
    Is that the PHILIPS mark or the hourglass shown on startup ??

  14. #14
    Diamond Member
    Points: 50,444, Level: 69
    Level completed: 50%, Points required for next Level: 706
    Overall activity: 100.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    5,974
    Points
    50,444
    Level
    69
    Thanks
    150
    Thanked 169 Times in 151 Posts
    Rep Power
    9
    Hi,

    as far as I know, these E-sticker are for the shop mode, where one can see the "buzzwords" such as PMR, Easy3D etc. as logos...

    Toengel@Alex

  15. #15
    Silver Member
    Points: 796, Level: 7
    Level completed: 23%, Points required for next Level: 154
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    120
    Points
    796
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    3

    Angry

    Found similar hints ... for shop mode. Confirms my apprehensions.
    So they are working at *most important* items to blind probable customers and announce TV's at a glance on fairs instead of fixing the failures that users found.
    :shaking head:

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Topics

  1. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 05-04-2012, 10:56 AM
  2. Replies: 20
    Last Post: 12-27-2011, 11:05 AM
  3. Replies: 8
    Last Post: 10-12-2011, 10:37 AM
  4. Experiences with FW v0.140.25.0 for 7000 series (2010 models)
    By Philips in forum TV: Software 2010 models
    Replies: 61
    Last Post: 07-30-2011, 09:11 AM
  5. Your experiences with FW v0.140.27.0 for 7000 series (2010 models)
    By Philips in forum TV: Software 2010 models
    Replies: 39
    Last Post: 02-21-2011, 03:23 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •