Page 1 of 8 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 107
  • Topic Tools
  • Display
  • Bookmark and Share
  1. #1
    Diamond Member
    Points: 54,492, Level: 72
    Level completed: 30%, Points required for next Level: 1,058
    Overall activity: 99.9%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Toengel's Philips Blog
    Posts
    6,146
    Points
    54,492
    Level
    72
    Thanks
    167
    Thanked 198 Times in 177 Posts
    Rep Power
    11

    Thumbs up Your experiences with FW v0.14.98.0 for 8000, 9000 and 21:9 series (2011 models)

    Hi,

    please post your user feedback about the new FW v0.14.98.0 here.

    Changelog:
    ∑ Solution for audio mute when signal is dolby/AC3.
    ∑ Solution for video audio out of sync.
    ∑ Solution for UPC in Hungary resulting in no channels installed after installation.


    Important: Please perform a COLD REBOOT after updating (when TV is running again) the firmware (goto standby, wait 2 minutes and plug out the power cord for 2-3 minutes)!

    If you have problems that the ZIP archive contain the old version (but the webpage indicates the new one), just add a parameter to the link. This prevents for downloading from some cache or proxy. For example:

    http://www.p4c.philips.com/files/5/5...12_fus_eng.zip

    add ?a=b at the end:

    http://www.p4c.philips.com/files/5/5...us_eng.zip?a=b

    Toengel@Alex
    Last edited by Philips - Thomas; 05-08-2012 at 01:18 PM. Reason: changelog added

  2. #2
    Silver Member
    Points: 1,031, Level: 8
    Level completed: 41%, Points required for next Level: 119
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    50
    Points
    1,031
    Level
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    Comment Philips Thomas:
    This is not the real Changelog!


    Changelog v0.14.98.0

    - Fixed issue with PNM always on
    - Fixed backlight horizontal banding
    - Added support for more MKV container formats
    - Reduced input lag dramatically
    - Fixed glitchy Dolby Digital audio
    - Faster startup


    Yeah we wish, will never happen.
    Last edited by Philips - Thomas; 05-08-2012 at 07:26 AM.

  3. #3
    Silver Member
    Points: 3,160, Level: 16
    Level completed: 28%, Points required for next Level: 290
    Overall activity: 16.0%
    Achievements:
    1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!Veteran
    kookaburra's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    EspaŮa
    Posts
    123
    Points
    3,160
    Level
    16
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    Unfortunately, the main problem of the image, local dimming bug is still there. This is like a continuous torture. When going to solve this serious problem?
    I have not noticed any improvement from the previous 14.97 software.

    (58pfl9956)

    google translator
    Last edited by kookaburra; 05-08-2012 at 08:36 AM.

  4. #4
    Gold Member
    Points: 9,558, Level: 29
    Level completed: 35%, Points required for next Level: 392
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Tagger Second ClassNew Achievement!5000 Experience PointsVeteran
    bluevoice's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Amsterdam/Netherlands
    Posts
    365
    Points
    9,558
    Level
    29
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 18 Times in 10 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    Installed the fw 14.98 software on my Philips Cinema Gold TV last night. For me there's still one major Easylink bug, when I use this 2011 Philips TV with Philips HTS (tested with both HTS8652/12 I own and the HTS9140/12 provided by technical service). The TV reboots during the startup sequence of the HTS. I made this new video as I can 100% reproduce the reboots:

    http://youtu.be/kB9v-F8A-fc

    The HTS triggers a reboot of the TV in the following cases:

    1) Press on the HTS-Radio Easylink activity icon in the TV menu (see video above)
    2) While inserting a USB drive in the HTS and pressing play when I want to see a video
    3) When changing sources on the HTS (to i.e. HDMI1 or HDMI2) by pressing the blue "Source" button on the HTS remote
    4) While changing from "watch tv" to "HDMI1" on the TV menu, if you want to switch to the HTS (to watch i.e. a Bluray disc)
    5) When starting the TV as the first device and the HTS as the second device, during HTS startup the TV almost always crashes.

    Reboots happen 9/10 times, when the Easylink functionality is disabled, the TV does not reboot (crash) during HTS startup sequence.

    I mentioned this problem 7 month ago (October 2011) right after I purchased the HTS and Philips keeps ignoring this problem saying investigating the issue is not a high priority.

    I do not understand how Philips thinks to continue selling TV's and HTS's in the future if those are not compatible with each other???

    @Philips - Thomas: can you please once again bring this issue into the attention of the TV software development team?

  5. #5
    Bronze Member
    Points: 710, Level: 6
    Level completed: 80%, Points required for next Level: 40
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    holland
    Posts
    16
    Points
    710
    Level
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by bluevoice View Post
    Installed the fw 14.98 software on my Philips Cinema Gold TV last night. For me there's still one major Easylink bug, when I use this 2011 Philips TV with Philips HTS (tested with both HTS8652/12 I own and the HTS9140/12 provided by technical service). The TV reboots during the startup sequence of the HTS. I made this new video as I can 100% reproduce the reboots:

    http://youtu.be/kB9v-F8A-fc

    The HTS triggers a reboot of the TV in the following cases:

    1) Press on the HTS-Radio Easylink activity icon in the TV menu (see video above)
    2) While inserting a USB drive in the HTS and pressing play when I want to see a video
    3) When changing sources on the HTS (to i.e. HDMI1 or HDMI2) by pressing the blue "Source" button on the HTS remote
    4) While changing from "watch tv" to "HDMI1" on the TV menu, if you want to switch to the HTS (to watch i.e. a Bluray disc)
    5) When starting the TV as the first device and the HTS as the second device, during HTS startup the TV almost always crashes.

    Reboots happen 9/10 times, when the Easylink functionality is disabled, the TV does not reboot (crash) during HTS startup sequence.

    I mentioned this problem 7 month ago (October 2011) right after I purchased the HTS and Philips keeps ignoring this problem saying investigating the issue is not a high priority.

    I do not understand how Philips thinks to continue selling TV's and HTS's in the future if those are not compatible with each other???

    @Philips - Thomas: can you please once again bring this issue into the attention of the TV software development team?

    Are you saying everything else is fixed with the update?
    In that case I don't hesitate to install.

  6. #6
    Moderator
    Points: 82,899, Level: 89
    Level completed: 53%, Points required for next Level: 851
    Overall activity: 50.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation First ClassTagger First Class50000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!Veteran
    Philips's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    825
    Points
    82,899
    Level
    89
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 15 Times in 13 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Quote Originally Posted by bluevoice View Post
    ....@Philips: can you please once again bring this issue into the attention of the TV software development team?
    Dear Bluevoice,

    See also reply here.

    Regards,
    JuAn
    Forum Mod

  7. #7
    Gold Member
    Points: 9,558, Level: 29
    Level completed: 35%, Points required for next Level: 392
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Tagger Second ClassNew Achievement!5000 Experience PointsVeteran
    bluevoice's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Amsterdam/Netherlands
    Posts
    365
    Points
    9,558
    Level
    29
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 18 Times in 10 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    Quote Originally Posted by janvan View Post
    Are you saying everything else is fixed with the update?
    In that case I don't hesitate to install.
    No, I'm not sure what this update fixed, there's no changelog yet. For me the Easylink reboot issue is the most annoying preventing me from fully enjoying my devices.

  8. #8
    Gold Member
    Points: 9,558, Level: 29
    Level completed: 35%, Points required for next Level: 392
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Tagger Second ClassNew Achievement!5000 Experience PointsVeteran
    bluevoice's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Amsterdam/Netherlands
    Posts
    365
    Points
    9,558
    Level
    29
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 18 Times in 10 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    Quote Originally Posted by Philips View Post
    Dear Bluevoice,

    See also reply here.

    Regards,
    JuAn
    JuAn, thanks for your polite answer, but as I told you before, I brought this issue into your attention 7 months ago. Philips had 7 month to investigate and solve this issue and at this point we're still at the same point where we started and no progress has been done at all.

    Now you're telling me to wait a few weeks more until you start the investigation, I heard this before, what does it make it different from all the promisses made during last 7 months? Also what guarantee I have you're going to find a solution? How can I trust this product or future product releases from Philips anymore?

    It's a shame, it's such a beautifull screen (hardware), but so buggy software.

  9. #9
    Bronze Member
    Points: 710, Level: 6
    Level completed: 80%, Points required for next Level: 40
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    holland
    Posts
    16
    Points
    710
    Level
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by bluevoice View Post
    No, I'm not sure what this update fixed, there's no changelog yet. For me the Easylink reboot issue is the most annoying preventing me from fully enjoying my devices.
    Well..should be easy to find out about the main issues to be fixed or not with that update.
    Not just talking about your particular prob..but in general.
    Please let me know..I have the same T.V.

  10. #10
    Bronze Member
    Points: 710, Level: 6
    Level completed: 80%, Points required for next Level: 40
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    holland
    Posts
    16
    Points
    710
    Level
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by bluevoice View Post
    JuAn, thanks for your polite answer, but as I told you before, I brought this issue into your attention 7 months ago. Philips had 7 month to investigate and solve this issue and at this point we're still at the same point where we started and no progress has been done at all.

    Now you're telling me to wait a few weeks more until you start the investigation, I heard this before, what does it make it different from all the promisses made during last 7 months? Also what guarantee I have you're going to find a solution? How can I trust this product or future product releases from Philips anymore?

    It's a shame, it's such a beautifull screen (hardware), but so buggy software.
    Well said..+ 1...!!!!

  11. #11
    Moderator
    Points: 20,099, Level: 43
    Level completed: 28%, Points required for next Level: 651
    Overall activity: 99.6%
    Achievements:
    1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!10000 Experience PointsVeteran
    Philips - Thomas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    1,904
    Points
    20,099
    Level
    43
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 47 Times in 42 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Hi,

    Changelog added.
    @Bluevoice, please use the other Thread for discussions with JuAn.

    Thomas

  12. #12
    New Member
    Points: 469, Level: 5
    Level completed: 19%, Points required for next Level: 81
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registered250 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    1
    Points
    469
    Level
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    Angry Fix the PNM and local dimming!

    Quote Originally Posted by Philips - Thomas View Post
    Hi,

    Changelog added.

    Thomas
    I have the 46PFL9706.
    Now I am really getting frustrated and angry at Philips!
    I thought that I bought a top of the line TV, but NO! This is my worst purchase ever.
    I bought the TV when it came out and have the bugs with PNM always on and artifacts because of PNM.
    And the local dimming backlight bug is A HUGE PROBLEM ON THE TV! Whats the point of local dimming when it is not working??

    And what do Philips "fix" in their firmware releases....Small bugs that no one cares about!

    Fix the local dimming problem and PNM bug!

    Have to say...this is my last Philips product.

  13. #13
    Bronze Member
    Points: 856, Level: 7
    Level completed: 53%, Points required for next Level: 94
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!1 year registered

    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    13
    Points
    856
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    I did a quick test because was late in the night when i updated my 46pfl9706 and it looked like the PNM bug is fix, i turn the option off and turn off the TV and back on and it looked like it was off.

    About the backlight horizontal banding i rarely saw it, what makes me think if it has something to do with the image settings that each person uses. What i notice is that during a dark scene the area where the subtitles appear get brighter than the rest of the picture, but i think its the local diming doing its work, because since the subtitles are white it makes that area brighter but mantains the rest of the picture with the same level of brightness.

    What i'm starting to notice is that during movie scenes when for example a clear sky is shown or watching a football match, i have vertical darker stripes, i can reproduce this with a still white imagem, where i can also see the darker white stripes from top to bottom, about 6 of them, 3 on each side. One strange thing is that if you are watching the same image from a different angle the stripes are less visible, is it possible that this is caused by the mouth eye filter and its not a software bug?

    I think i read somebody else talking about this problem. But i can find the thread. Anybody else has this problem?
    Last edited by MilkyOne; 05-08-2012 at 02:55 PM.

  14. #14
    Silver Member
    Points: 3,160, Level: 16
    Level completed: 28%, Points required for next Level: 290
    Overall activity: 16.0%
    Achievements:
    1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!Veteran
    kookaburra's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    EspaŮa
    Posts
    123
    Points
    3,160
    Level
    16
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    Quote Originally Posted by kookaburra View Post
    Unfortunately, the main problem of the image, local dimming bug is still there. This is like a continuous torture. When going to solve this serious problem?
    I have not noticed any improvement from the previous 14.97 software.

    (58pfl9956)

    google translator



    I'm tired of waiting for an official response from Philips about the problem of local-dimmind. It is unacceptable that since last October and Philips are requesting information remain silent. Someone on this board would be so kind to give me the address of Philips in Holland to send a copy of the complaint?

    Thank you.

    Google Translator.
    Last edited by kookaburra; 05-08-2012 at 03:22 PM.

  15. #15
    Bronze Member
    Points: 842, Level: 7
    Level completed: 46%, Points required for next Level: 108
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    18
    Points
    842
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by kookaburra View Post
    I'm tired of waiting for an official response from Philips about the problem of local-dimmind. It is unacceptable that since last October and Philips are requesting information remain silent. Someone on this board would be so kind to give me the address of Philips in Holland to send a copy of the complaint?

    Thank you.

    Google Translator.
    Hi

    Koninklijke Philips Electronics N.V.
    Groenewoudseweg 1
    5621 BA, Eindhoven
    the Netherlands

    Good Luck !

Page 1 of 8 123 ... LastLast

Similar Topics

  1. Replies: 120
    Last Post: 04-19-2012, 06:00 PM
  2. Replies: 145
    Last Post: 02-01-2012, 10:22 AM
  3. Replies: 155
    Last Post: 12-14-2011, 02:00 PM
  4. Replies: 23
    Last Post: 10-20-2011, 08:26 AM
  5. Replies: 8
    Last Post: 10-12-2011, 11:37 AM

Tags for this Topic

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •