Results 1 to 7 of 7
  • Topic Tools
  • Display
  • Bookmark and Share

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    New Member
    Points: 560, Level: 6
    Level completed: 5%, Points required for next Level: 190
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Slovenia
    Posts
    4
    Points
    560
    Level
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    WiFi Media Connect does not work

    Hi,

    I have a 32pfl5007k_12. I am running a PC with fresh Windows 7, windows firewall and a TP-Link wireless router. The internet on the TV works normally. I can also browse files on my PC from the TV.
    I can ping my TV from the PC, I can even control my TV via the android app Philips MyRemote (over the same router, which I use for internet connection).

    WIFI Media connect does see, that there is a TV in the network (the icon in the taskbar turns from grey to black when I switch the TV on). I can start the program on the PC; it changes the resolution on my PC and then starts with trying to connect to the TV.
    But - on the TV, nothing happens! On the PC I see the pop-up of WiFi Media Connect, after a few seconds the message "Still trying for TV to reply" appears, after another few seconds I get the message "Could not get respond from TV. Refer to online Wi-Fi MediaConnect FAQ.

    I checked the FAQ , I did not find a solution. Does anybody have any idea what I could do???

    Thanks in advance for all help!!

    R

  2. #2
    Moderator
    Points: 18,608, Level: 41
    Level completed: 62%, Points required for next Level: 342
    Overall activity: 99.6%
    Achievements:
    1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!10000 Experience PointsVeteran
    Philips - Thomas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    1,816
    Points
    18,608
    Level
    41
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 40 Times in 37 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Hi

    please disable the Firewall completely.
    (use "services.msc" for a start)

    Regards
    Thomas

  3. #3
    New Member
    Points: 560, Level: 6
    Level completed: 5%, Points required for next Level: 190
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Slovenia
    Posts
    4
    Points
    560
    Level
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Already tried that (+disabling the antivirus - Avast), didn't help

  4. #4
    Bronze Member
    Points: 2,462, Level: 14
    Level completed: 4%, Points required for next Level: 288
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    36
    Points
    2,462
    Level
    14
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    hi bobo_0203,

    1. have you tried a network cable

    2. my expericnce is that after you right click the TV and project to Tv.
    I have to hold alt and tab until the application is selected.
    I have to click the ok button.
    its like the app gets sent to the backgound and you have to select it via alt and tab.

    Hope this helps

    thanks
    Ted

  5. #5
    Moderator
    Points: 963, Level: 8
    Level completed: 7%, Points required for next Level: 187
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Philips - Marco's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    101
    Points
    963
    Level
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Dear Bobo,

    I'm sorry to inform you that the 2k12 Models, included the 32pfl5007k_12, do not support WiFi Media Connect software.

    In order to solve your issue, I would recommend you to download the MediaManager for Windows available here

    Regards,
    Marco
    Forum Mod

  6. #6
    New Member
    Points: 560, Level: 6
    Level completed: 5%, Points required for next Level: 190
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Slovenia
    Posts
    4
    Points
    560
    Level
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Philips - Marco View Post
    Dear Bobo,

    I'm sorry to inform you that the 2k12 Models, included the 32pfl5007k_12, do not support WiFi Media Connect software.

    In order to solve your issue, I would recommend you to download the MediaManager for Windows available here

    Regards,
    Marco
    OK, now I understand why I can not make it work The funny thing though that several Philips experts have adviced me to bring my TV for eventual repairs - including the online help center, the call center for Slovenia and 2 official repair shops. Nobody told me before, that my TV doesn't support WiFi Media Connect... Way to go Philips! :/

    I will try the MediaManager... I just hope it has some of the functionality, that I would get with a direct WiFi connection...


    BR
    Robert

  7. #7
    New Member
    Points: 560, Level: 6
    Level completed: 5%, Points required for next Level: 190
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Slovenia
    Posts
    4
    Points
    560
    Level
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Oh, and that I don't forget... The option of WiFi connectivity with the PC desktop was one of the main reasons for me to buy this TV. Without it I would choose one of the Samsungs. Following the advice of a salesman and not making a research on the internet first... Bad idea.

    And yes - choosing a Philips (with it's incredibly buggy interface and lots of connectivity problems) instead of a Samsung, Sony or a LG - A REALLY bad idea!

Similar Topics

  1. WiFi Media Connect does not work anymore
    By piergio in forum TV: Streaming & Network
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-14-2012, 08:56 AM
  2. Wifi Media Connect doesn't work
    By Armand in forum TV: Streaming & Network
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 12-06-2011, 12:42 PM
  3. Beating a dead horse, wifi media connect doesnt work...
    By dagger in forum TV: Streaming & Network
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 11-22-2011, 09:51 AM
  4. WIFI Media Connect doesn't work anymore
    By dgh in forum TV: Streaming & Network
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 07-20-2011, 10:14 AM
  5. WiFi Media Connect : Does not Connect Wirelessly
    By ppetkov in forum TV: Streaming & Network
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 07-19-2011, 11:12 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •