Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 31
  • Topic Tools
  • Display
  • Bookmark and Share

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Moderator
    Points: 10,990, Level: 31
    Level completed: 63%, Points required for next Level: 260
    Overall activity: 16.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!10000 Experience Points
    Philips - Remko's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    555
    Points
    10,990
    Level
    31
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 5 Times in 2 Posts
    Rep Power
    10

    BDP7600 Latest Firmware upgrade (V1.55) has been released

    V1.55 is only released to BDP7600/05, /12, /51.

    BDP7600/93 still uses the firmware version V1.35.


    V1.55 includes the following change:

    • Fixes the following issues:
    o Philips TV’s with OneUX feature, BDP will freeze if BDP applications are triggered from TV menu.
    o BDP does not playback media files when selected from sources menu, while using the MyRemote application on your mobile device.

    The former firmware version includes the following changes:

    • YouTube Leanback app is added to NetTV. (V1.42)
    • Upgrade Facebook application in NetTV. (V1.35)
    • Improve playability on ‘HBO Eastbound and Down Season 2’. (V1.35)
    • Improve playback operation on rental movies from online video stores via Net TV. (V1.35)
    • Remove an unwanted screen saver when playback ‘.mkv’ files from USB flash drive. (V1.35)
    • Enable Videociety online video store via Net TV in Germany and Austria. (V1.35)
    Kindly download the software at www.philips.com/support:
    Forum Mod

  2. #2
    New Member
    Points: 461, Level: 5
    Level completed: 11%, Points required for next Level: 89
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registered250 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    1
    Points
    461
    Level
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    I have the update now since two days and my BDP froze both days while watching a DVD in the middle of the Playback.(never happened before)
    He is also still freezing when going to standby.

    I'd like to see an Update that improves my Player. Not one that causes more Problems :P

    Edit:
    @freezing while playing
    make that 3 times now
    Last edited by Karllauer; 05-12-2012 at 06:41 PM. Reason: More information

  3. #3
    Diamond Member
    Points: 4,685, Level: 20
    Level completed: 9%, Points required for next Level: 365
    Overall activity: 25.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Frequent Poster

    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    1,083
    Points
    4,685
    Level
    20
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    6
    Quote Originally Posted by Karllauer View Post
    I have the update now since two days and my BDP froze both days while watching a DVD in the middle of the Playback.(never happened before)
    He is also still freezing when going to standby.
    this plays ok before upgrade?

  4. #4
    Moderator
    Points: 9,818, Level: 29
    Level completed: 78%, Points required for next Level: 132
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registeredNew Achievement!5000 Experience PointsOverdrive
    Philips - QK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    884
    Points
    9,818
    Level
    29
    Thanks
    11
    Thanked 34 Times in 30 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Quote Originally Posted by Karllauer View Post
    I have the update now since two days and my BDP froze both days while watching a DVD in the middle of the Playback.(never happened before)
    He is also still freezing when going to standby.

    I'd like to see an Update that improves my Player. Not one that causes more Problems :P

    Edit:
    @freezing while playing
    make that 3 times now
    Dear Karllauer,

    I have sent you a PM. Could you check and provide us more information?

    Kind regards,
    Philips Moderation Team
    Forum Mod

  5. #5
    New Member
    Points: 549, Level: 5
    Level completed: 99%, Points required for next Level: 1
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Berlin, Germany
    Posts
    3
    Points
    549
    Level
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Noticed that the player is now showing track numbers (in addition to the track time) when playing back audio CDs. That's nice as I do not longer need to switch the TV on to see which track I am listening to.

    Haven't watched a DVD/Blu ray since the update, yet, but after reading Karllauer's post above, I'll keep my old DVD player ready...

  6. #6
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,515, Level: 10
    Level completed: 83%, Points required for next Level: 35
    Overall activity: 9.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    16
    Points
    1,515
    Level
    10
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    The download link above leads to an error 403 : forbidden.

    First test results, after upgrading via ECD.

    1. Wifi connection with full signal strength (65 mbps) connected to a DLink Dir655 disconnects randomly when using NetTV or DLNA playback.
    2. NetTV app ´Uitzending Gemist´ has a double selection in the left column. When selecting a broadcast for playback it sometimes selects the wanted broadcast and sometimes it just selects Radio function.
    3. NOS app only plays first two minutes of selected broadcats on Wifi and around 3 minutes on LAN. It then automatically returns to main menu of NOS app.
    4. Hardware.info app stalls every selected broadcast at the same point in time and can only be stopped by returning to apps main menu. Same results on Wifi and Lan.
    5. DLNA playback of MP4 and WMV also shows stalling at certain point in time. No difference on Wifi and LAN. One time forced power/off necessary.

    It seems to me that from the beginning, stalling things is a general problem of this player, either playback DVD, NetTV or DLNA. The only difference is that the player needs less forced power/off by pulling the power cord, compared to version 1.35.

    I am willing to send my player and maybe my router to Philips to help solve these longlasting problems.
    Basically i am fed up with a player, which did not function from day one (august 2011). I have been patient and polite enough to wait for problem resolution, just because the problems were known when i bought it.
    On a euro 175 player these problems should not occur or should have been solved long time ago.

    I will however test more functions, in order to have more complete error reports.

    One more remark : On my Philips TV 37PFL9604 all above problems never occur, so they are BDP7600 problems and should be solved.

    Regards,

    Hugo
    Last edited by hvgsel; 05-13-2012 at 08:21 PM. Reason: more info

  7. #7
    Moderator
    Points: 9,818, Level: 29
    Level completed: 78%, Points required for next Level: 132
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registeredNew Achievement!5000 Experience PointsOverdrive
    Philips - QK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    884
    Points
    9,818
    Level
    29
    Thanks
    11
    Thanked 34 Times in 30 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Dear Hugo@hvgsel,

    Could you advise the below so that we can look into your issues as soon as possible:


    1. Wifi connection with full signal strength (65 mbps) connected to a DLink Dir655 disconnects randomly when using NetTV or DLNA playback.
    Do you have any other devices connected to the network?

    5. DLNA playback of MP4 and WMV also shows stalling at certain point in time. No difference on Wifi and LAN. One time forced power/off necessary.
    Could you advise what media server is used? Could you share the files that are having issues?

    For your issue 2-4, we are now checking with the Smart TV team. Should we have any updates, we will let you know.

    Thanks & regards,
    Philips Moderation Team
    Last edited by Philips - QK; 05-15-2012 at 05:16 AM.
    Forum Mod

  8. #8
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,515, Level: 10
    Level completed: 83%, Points required for next Level: 35
    Overall activity: 9.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    16
    Points
    1,515
    Level
    10
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Philips - QK View Post
    Dear Hugo@hvgsel,

    Could you advise the below so that we can look into your issues as soon as possible:



    Do you have any other devices connected to the network?



    Could you advise what media server is used? Could you share the files that are having issues?

    For your issue 2-4, we are now checking with the Smart TV team. Should we have any updates, we will let you know.

    Thanks & regards,
    Philips Moderation Team
    1 : Do you have any other devices connected to the network?

    My network has at least 3 PC's connected wirelessly; one desktop and 2 laptops. Furthermore a Philips TV 37PFL9604 and a Blue Ray player BDP7600, both connected wired via a switch at the TV-site.
    Most of the time there are 1 or more extra PC's connected wirelessly.

    2. Media server is Windows Media Player and i do not know which files I played, but the problem came with all. I will try again and find out.

  9. #9
    New Member
    Points: 794, Level: 7
    Level completed: 22%, Points required for next Level: 156
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!1 year registered500 Experience Points

    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    7
    Points
    794
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by hvgsel View Post

    2. NetTV app ´Uitzending Gemist´ has a double selection in the left column. When selecting a broadcast for playback it sometimes selects the wanted broadcast and sometimes it just selects Radio function.

    Hugo
    The double selection in the NetTV app ´Uitzending Gemist’ is very very annoying and it makes the app almost useless. I can confirm that this problem was also visible in firmware V1.42. My hope was that it would be solved in firmware V1.55 unfortunately it is not.

    Another problem I found is with the blu ray disc of the Fantastic Four: Rise of the Silver Surfer, EAN 8712626036623 a Dutch/France release. Most of the supplements are not visible or selectable. I can only see/select from the extras the two audio commentaries. But none of the others like The Making of 'Fantastic Four etc. etc is visible. This problem is present under firmware V1.42 and 1.55.

    Regards,
    Robert
    Last edited by RobertS; 05-29-2012 at 07:11 AM.

  10. #10
    New Member
    Points: 794, Level: 7
    Level completed: 22%, Points required for next Level: 156
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!1 year registered500 Experience Points

    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    7
    Points
    794
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Hi,

    The double selection in the NetTV app ´Uitzending Gemist’ seems to be fixed. Many thanks for it, the app ´Uitzending Gemist’ works now as before.

    I have still yet another problem in mine NetTV. If I select an app I can see on the apps overview screen just below the lower part of our TV screen the top of a couple of icons. They are red, green, yellow and blue. but only the top of the Icons are visible. So I have to guess which of the color buttons on mine remote I have to take to move, delete the selected app. This is somewhat annoying. I hope this can also be fixed.

    PS. I have already tried several settings on our TV to try to see the complete help icons on on the apps overview screen but with no success.

    Thanks,
    Robert
    Last edited by RobertS; 07-13-2012 at 05:35 PM.

  11. #11
    Moderator
    Points: 10,990, Level: 31
    Level completed: 63%, Points required for next Level: 260
    Overall activity: 16.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!10000 Experience Points
    Philips - Remko's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    555
    Points
    10,990
    Level
    31
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 5 Times in 2 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Dear hvgsel,

    Thanks for your testing results. I have passed the information to the development team and will come back to you on this.

    @Karllauer, can you confirm these movies worked ok before and if this is with one movie only or various?

    Kind regards,
    Forum Mod

  12. #12
    Moderator
    Points: 9,818, Level: 29
    Level completed: 78%, Points required for next Level: 132
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registeredNew Achievement!5000 Experience PointsOverdrive
    Philips - QK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    884
    Points
    9,818
    Level
    29
    Thanks
    11
    Thanked 34 Times in 30 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Dear Hugo,

    Please find our input below:

    3. NOS app only plays first two minutes of selected broadcats on Wifi and around 3 minutes on LAN. It then automatically returns to main menu of NOS app.
    Please disable the screen saver function in the menu of the device and try again

    2. NetTV app ´Uitzending Gemist´ has a double selection in the left column. When selecting a broadcast for playback it sometimes selects the wanted broadcast and sometimes it just selects Radio function.

    This is a known issue and we are looking for a fix for this.


    4. Hardware.info app stalls every selected broadcast at the same point in time and can only be stopped by returning to apps main menu. Same results on Wifi and Lan.
    We are not sure what you mean here. Could you explain more as we cannot reproduce this?

    With thanks & regards,
    Philips Moderation Team
    Last edited by Philips - QK; 05-15-2012 at 08:30 AM.
    Forum Mod

  13. #13
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,515, Level: 10
    Level completed: 83%, Points required for next Level: 35
    Overall activity: 9.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    16
    Points
    1,515
    Level
    10
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Philips - QK View Post
    Dear Hugo,

    Please find our input below:

    hvgsel General : I tried all questions below in three different settings :
    1. Directly after update, without resetting to factory settings.
    2. After resetting to factory setings
    3. After resetting to factory settings and clearing NetTV memory

    Please disable the screen saver function in the menu of the device and try again

    hvgsel : Screen save disable did not change anything; NOS app still stalls.


    This is a known issue and we are looking for a fix for this.


    hvgsel : OK, will wait for improvement; my TV still displays well.

    We are not sure what you mean here. Could you explain more as we cannot reproduce this?

    hvgsel : Sequence :
    1. go to NetTV app hardware.info
    2. select an item from the list and view item
    3. item will stall at certain pint in time; if viewed again, it will stall at same point in time
    It does not matter which item is picked; every item will stall.

    That's for these questions; will try to answer the non-NetTV items tonight.


    With thanks & regards,
    Philips Moderation Team
    dddddddddd

  14. #14
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,515, Level: 10
    Level completed: 83%, Points required for next Level: 35
    Overall activity: 9.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    16
    Points
    1,515
    Level
    10
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Made a mistake answering inline, but my comments are there preceded by 'hvgsel'..

  15. #15
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,082, Level: 8
    Level completed: 66%, Points required for next Level: 68
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!1 year registered1000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    17
    Points
    1,082
    Level
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Dear Support,

    since firmware V1.55, my BDP7600 always hangs when shutting down to standby. Before it was only sometimes, but now it is every time I switch off the player. On the display the message "Standby" is shown, but the player switches not off and remains in this status. My player is connected on a HTS7111 system on a 55PFL7606 TV. Resetting Easylink does not solve the problem.

    Thanks for any help.

    EDIT:

    Resetting the system to factory settings seem to solve the problem with the standby-freeze. I'll have a look on it whether the situation is stable now.
    Last edited by centpede; 05-16-2012 at 09:01 PM.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Similar Topics

  1. BDP5200 Latest Firmware upgrade (V1.42) has been released
    By Philips - Remko in forum Blu-ray: BDP5000 & 6000 Series
    Replies: 41
    Last Post: 07-04-2012, 06:27 AM
  2. BDP5300K BDP6000 Latest Firmware upgrade (V1.55) has been released
    By Philips - Remko in forum Blu-ray: BDP5000 & 6000 Series
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-23-2012, 10:29 PM
  3. BDP7600 Latest Firmware upgrade (V1.42) has been released
    By Philips - Remko in forum Blu-ray: BDP7000 Series
    Replies: 73
    Last Post: 05-14-2012, 05:09 AM
  4. BDP5200 Latest Firmware upgrade (V1.35) has been released
    By Philips - Remko in forum Blu-ray: BDP5000 & 6000 Series
    Replies: 29
    Last Post: 01-17-2012, 08:00 PM
  5. BDP7600 Latest Firmware upgrade (V1.35) has been released
    By Philips - Remko in forum Blu-ray: BDP7000 Series
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-13-2011, 09:19 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •