Results 1 to 3 of 3
  • Topic Tools
  • Display
  • Bookmark and Share

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    New Member
    Points: 504, Level: 5
    Level completed: 54%, Points required for next Level: 46
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Montreal Quebec
    Posts
    1
    Points
    504
    Level
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    BDP3406/F7 Netflix 4:3 problem

    Hello, I have contacted Phillips around 6 times in the past month or so regarding this problem. They have been very helpful and replaced my Blu-Ray player and it still has not fixed the problem. I have spoken on the phone for many hours and have tried resetting and changing almost every setting possible and still nothing.

    The problem is that when Netflix plays a movie the Television seems to re size the whole picture to 4:3, I really do not understand how or why this occurs. I have taken a video to show you exactly what happens.



    I took pictures of the model number of the TV and Blu-ray player(s) I have. I still haven't sent my original back but will be in the mail by tomorrow morning







    If you have any clues or idea why it would be doing this please let me know. Thanks!

    I do understand this could be a TV problem but I have a feeling that it's the two together.


    -Southpaw

  2. #2
    Moderator
    Points: 10,484, Level: 30
    Level completed: 89%, Points required for next Level: 66
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!OverdriveVeteran10000 Experience Points
    Philips - QK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    884
    Points
    10,484
    Level
    30
    Thanks
    11
    Thanked 34 Times in 30 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Dear Southpaw,

    We have a similar issue on aspect ratio for BDP3000 series.
    See here: http://www.supportforum.philips.com/...t&goto=newpost
    We are now working for a fix on that (including BDP3406). Please bear with us some time for this.

    Kind regards,
    Philips Moderation Team
    Forum Mod

  3. #3
    New Member
    Points: 557, Level: 6
    Level completed: 4%, Points required for next Level: 193
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Ohio USA
    Posts
    4
    Points
    557
    Level
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Hi Southpaw,

    I also own this model, although the newer M2 version, and while mine is from 2012 manufacture and doesn't display this issue I have another: I've been unable to update the firmware. See here.

    Were you able to? If so, how? Thanks for any info.

    BTW I hope a newer replacement may solve the issue for you, but be sure it isn't something related to your TV or connection. I discovered before getting my Samsung HD set that the 3406 had weird bugs outputting through anything but the HDMI cable. I also discovered tonight after playing a conventional DVD that the resolution wouldn't switch to a higher setting on Netflix without rebooting the player.

Similar Topics

  1. Netflix
    By SVGeorge in forum Smart TV: Apps
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10-19-2012, 06:56 AM
  2. BDP3406/F7 - cannot update firmware
    By Nagual in forum Blu-ray: BDP2000 & 3000 Series
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 06-13-2012, 05:01 AM
  3. Issues with the BDP3406
    By sickle in forum Blu-ray: BDP2000 & 3000 Series
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 04-21-2012, 03:00 AM
  4. Netflix
    By Jason in forum Smart TV: Apps
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-12-2012, 03:11 PM
  5. 47PFL5704D/F7 Sound Problem
    By Mcnitchell in forum TV: User Interface
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-12-2011, 07:23 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •