• Topic Tools
  • Display
  • Bookmark and Share

Hybrid View

Level completed: 80%, Points required for next Level: 41
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

Level
    Thanks

Question Free contribution to firmware/software development

Hi, Philips team !

I've bought a NP3900 about 6 month ago and - I can assure you - it's a very good product. However, the firmware/software embedded into the NP3900 has some lacks and/or (minor) bugs, and so, it could be enhanced. But it's now 5 months I haven't seen a firmware update.

I think the firmware could be really better and more complete to reflect the user needs, if the users could participate to its development. I think (but maybe I'm wrong) that many of us are used to new technologies and also software development. I'm in this case and I like to think I'm a good experienced software engineer. I really would like to improve this firmware and I already have (many) ideas.

Could it be possible to contribute to this firmware ? What could be the conditions ?

Thanks,

Emmanuel

Bronze Member
    Level completed: 32%, Points required for next Level: 206
    Overall activity: 44.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

Level
    Thanks

Fully agree: great hardware - not so great software

Hello Emmanuel.

I fully agree to your proposal. The software is not as great as the hardware and could really need some contributions.

When I bought the NP3900 as well as a NP3700, I did this strictly because of the nice hardware esp. the fact that it comes with a remote, touch as well as a few (and not too many) buttons.

However, not updating the fireware for over 6 months is just not up to date anymore. A more open development process or just using open-source software would be great. Logitech does this nicely with the Squeezebox. (If they would improve the hardware, I would immediately switch.)