Results 1 to 5 of 5
  • Topic Tools
  • Display
  • Bookmark and Share
  1. #1
    Bronze Member
    Points: 703, Level: 6
    Level completed: 77%, Points required for next Level: 47
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    25
    Points
    703
    Level
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    connecting to my network

    Hi all,


    Just bought a 32PFL3517H.
    Still not quite sure wether this is a so called smart TV or not.
    Anyway, I'd like to know something before trying to connect to my network.
    I read about DHCP in the manual, but on my router I use static IP numbers. I suppose this doesn't pose problems?
    I'm unsure about using wifi or wired network. In any case the cable will have to be longer than the 3 M. mentioned in the manual.
    I might be going wifi because drilling a hole for cable is a little problematic here.

    regards,

  2. #2
    Moderator
    Points: 963, Level: 8
    Level completed: 7%, Points required for next Level: 187
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Philips - Marco's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    101
    Points
    963
    Level
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Hi,

    Welcome to the Philips TV Forum.

    You can use your router to connect through the Ethernet-LAN RJ-45 port, however in order to use the Wi-Fi there is an optional accessory, the Wireless USB adapter (PTA01).

    Thanks
    Marco
    Forum Mod

  3. #3
    Bronze Member
    Points: 466, Level: 5
    Level completed: 16%, Points required for next Level: 84
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registered250 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    20
    Points
    466
    Level
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Hi.

    It seems like you are just doing quite fine. Just go on and follow all the instruction written in the manual and you should be all good.

  4. #4
    Bronze Member
    Points: 703, Level: 6
    Level completed: 77%, Points required for next Level: 47
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    25
    Points
    703
    Level
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by tripodzid View Post
    Hi.

    It seems like you are just doing quite fine. Just go on and follow all the instruction written in the manual and you should be all good.

    Afraid I have problems.
    Today I bought a wifi adapter. It detects my network and it connected, according to the message on TV.
    But when I try to use the network, TV says: can't find server.
    I have installed wifi media connect on the PC, but it seems to keep seartching fo TV and does not find it.

    As I tried to explain, I use static IP adresses on my PC (Win XP). Not sure wether this poses a problem.

    What values do I enter in the manual settings of the TV?

    Thanks for imput.

  5. #5
    Moderator
    Points: 963, Level: 8
    Level completed: 7%, Points required for next Level: 187
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Philips - Marco's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    101
    Points
    963
    Level
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Hi MCCM,

    WiFi Media connect is not supported for your model, 32PFL3517H.
    You can use one of the following software depending on your configuration and OS:


    -Windows Media Player (for Microsoft Windows)
    -Twonky Media (for Microsoft Windows and Mac OS X)
    -Sony Vaio Media Server (for Microsoft Windows)
    -TVersity (for Microsoft Windows)
    -Nero MediaHome
    -DiXiM (for Microsoft Windows XP)
    -Macrovision Network Media Server (for Microsoft Windows)
    -Fuppes (for Linux)
    -uShare (for Linux

    Regards,
    Marco
    Forum Mod

Similar Topics

  1. Connecting to WAChandler
    By tony1040 in forum Sound: Other Wireless Audio Models
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 11-30-2012, 02:46 PM
  2. Problem connecting to router
    By cgarcia in forum Blu-ray: BDP5000 & 6000 Series
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 11-22-2011, 10:29 AM
  3. Crash while connecting
    By felixdev in forum Apps: MyRemote App for Android
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 06-30-2011, 05:58 PM
  4. Connecting 7655 to Computer
    By elihay in forum TV: Connectivity
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 05-09-2011, 11:02 AM
  5. Problems with the network cable
    By fv69 in forum Smart TV: Error Messages
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 02-01-2011, 07:07 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •