Results 1 to 12 of 12
  • Topic Tools
  • Display
  • Bookmark and Share
  1. #1
    New Member
    Points: 1,316, Level: 9
    Level completed: 83%, Points required for next Level: 34
    Overall activity: 8.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!1 year registered1000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Austria
    Posts
    9
    Points
    1,316
    Level
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    46PFL9706 suddenly shuts down...

    Hello!
    I've bought my 46PFL9706 in January and I like it very much.
    However, it shuts down nearly once a day, after 2, 3, 4 hours, and it has to be restarted. This is annoying, and it seems to happen more often the longer I use it (I use it daily for several hours.)
    My questions: does anyone have the same problem with his 9706? Philips: what could fix this? I thought I had the current firmware inside but that didn't fix it...

    Thanks
    joybee

  2. #2
    Diamond Member
    Points: 50,538, Level: 69
    Level completed: 57%, Points required for next Level: 612
    Overall activity: 100.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    5,981
    Points
    50,538
    Level
    69
    Thanks
    150
    Thanked 171 Times in 153 Posts
    Rep Power
    9
    Hi,

    please install the latest firmware 14.96 (via USB). After the TV works again, shut down, wait 1 minutes (to shut down all componentes) and pull power cord for 2-3 minutes and try again.

    Toengel@Alex

  3. #3
    New Member
    Points: 1,316, Level: 9
    Level completed: 83%, Points required for next Level: 34
    Overall activity: 8.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!1 year registered1000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Austria
    Posts
    9
    Points
    1,316
    Level
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Good morning!
    Will try, let you know.
    Thanks, joybee

  4. #4
    New Member
    Points: 1,316, Level: 9
    Level completed: 83%, Points required for next Level: 34
    Overall activity: 8.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!1 year registered1000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Austria
    Posts
    9
    Points
    1,316
    Level
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Hello again!
    No shutdowns with the 14.96 firmware since last Wednesday!
    Seems to work now.
    BR
    joybee

  5. #5
    Bronze Member
    Points: 551, Level: 6
    Level completed: 1%, Points required for next Level: 199
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Oslo/Norway
    Posts
    17
    Points
    551
    Level
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by joybee View Post
    Hello again!
    No shutdowns with the 14.96 firmware since last Wednesday!
    Seems to work now.
    BR
    joybee
    Hi
    Have you not seen any shutdowns? I have the same model and still have the issue in sw version 14.98.
    BR
    erje

  6. #6
    New Member
    Points: 395, Level: 4
    Level completed: 45%, Points required for next Level: 55
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registered250 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    1
    Points
    395
    Level
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by erje View Post
    Hi
    Have you not seen any shutdowns? I have the same model and still have the issue in sw version 14.98.
    BR
    erje
    Hi Erje, I also got the same issue with the 14.98 firmware. Re-booting more and more often.

  7. #7
    Bronze Member
    Points: 551, Level: 6
    Level completed: 1%, Points required for next Level: 199
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Oslo/Norway
    Posts
    17
    Points
    551
    Level
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by iDoubt View Post
    Hi Erje, I also got the same issue with the 14.98 firmware. Re-booting more and more often.
    Hi iDoubt
    Interesting observation. Shut downs and rebooting seem to be reported in various threads here.

    When I let the TV on standby for a long time (such as overnight) the TV switches off after 2 hours (no rebooting). If I close the TV with the remote to standby and then switces off with the mains switch (on the side on the 46PFL9706) the TV do not switches off after 2 hours (?). Philips will take the TV to the workshop but I refuse as long as the Euro championship in football is on . (Actually it turned it self off 5 minutes before one match was finished ) I use a decoder on HDMI 1 input as source and do not touch the TV remote.

    I suspect a SW flaw, Philips seem to think it is a HW failure (?). - And yes I have a friend with the same issue on his set

  8. #8
    New Member
    Points: 1,316, Level: 9
    Level completed: 83%, Points required for next Level: 34
    Overall activity: 8.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!1 year registered1000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Austria
    Posts
    9
    Points
    1,316
    Level
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    My television is working fine with 14.96 (via USB).
    Best regards,
    joybee

  9. #9
    Bronze Member
    Points: 551, Level: 6
    Level completed: 1%, Points required for next Level: 199
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Oslo/Norway
    Posts
    17
    Points
    551
    Level
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by joybee View Post
    My television is working fine with 14.96 (via USB).
    Best regards,
    joybee
    Hi
    Do you let the TV be in standby over the night?
    If I let the TV be in stand-by over the night (evening to evening) I have experienced suddenly shutdowns after 2 hours when using the HDMI 1 and 2 inputs as source (CableTV set top box and Satelite tuner respectively). My friend experienced the same using the digital tuner (DVB-T). I have not experienced the switch off when starting the TV from the BluRay player (HDMI 3) over the CEC-link.
    If I switches the set off with the mains switch (Standby to Power Off) and let be like this over the night it works ok.

    Best regards
    ErJe

  10. #10
    Silver Member
    Points: 3,405, Level: 16
    Level completed: 89%, Points required for next Level: 45
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!Veteran

    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    164
    Points
    3,405
    Level
    16
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    In one of the other threads Philips acknowledged that this is a SW bug and they are working on a solution! (Finally, since I am suffering from black screens / auto resets now for 7 months !)

    Niels

  11. #11
    Bronze Member
    Points: 551, Level: 6
    Level completed: 1%, Points required for next Level: 199
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Oslo/Norway
    Posts
    17
    Points
    551
    Level
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Niels View Post
    In one of the other threads Philips acknowledged that this is a SW bug and they are working on a solution! (Finally, since I am suffering from black screens / auto resets now for 7 months !)

    Niels
    Hi!
    Interesting. Where is this thread?

    ErJe

  12. #12
    Bronze Member
    Points: 844, Level: 7
    Level completed: 47%, Points required for next Level: 106
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    29
    Points
    844
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by erje View Post
    Hi!
    Interesting. Where is this thread?

    ErJe
    http://www.supportforum.philips.com/...ll=1#post33885

    It can take long though

Similar Topics

  1. MCi 900 makes buzzing noises and suddenly hangs
    By inomis in forum Sound: Streamium MCi series (MCi900| Mci8080| MCi730| MCi500| MCi298)
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 02-01-2013, 08:03 PM
  2. TV shuts down automatically(restart)
    By Prince Skeleth in forum TV: Software 2011 models
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 06-10-2012, 04:18 PM
  3. UPnP/DLNA playback suddenly disconnects on 37PFL8605
    By kaydub in forum TV: Streaming & Network
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 07-29-2011, 07:12 AM
  4. My Remote App shuts down when trying to use the "keyboard" feature
    By ch_harald in forum Apps: MyRemote App (for iOS)
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 05-09-2011, 09:08 AM
  5. Wi-fi suddenly stops
    By Marc in forum TV: Streaming & Network
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-09-2011, 09:22 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •