Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 21
  • Topic Tools
  • Display
  • Bookmark and Share
  1. #1
    Silver Member
    Points: 2,528, Level: 14
    Level completed: 26%, Points required for next Level: 222
    Overall activity: 12.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Hong Kong
    Posts
    86
    Points
    2,528
    Level
    14
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 6 Times in 3 Posts
    Rep Power
    4

    Digital Coaxial Output on 9600

    Hi

    9600 has RCA socket for the digital coaxial output. Looking at the RCA socket, it's no different than other RCA sockets for the analog outputs. Does anyone know if the RCA socket (for the digital coaxial) is 75 ohm?

    Can Philips help to confirm please?

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Diamond Member
    Points: 51,912, Level: 70
    Level completed: 55%, Points required for next Level: 638
    Overall activity: 100.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    6,059
    Points
    51,912
    Level
    70
    Thanks
    157
    Thanked 176 Times in 157 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Hi,

    it's written in the manual...

    Digital output: 0.5 Vp-p (75 ohm)
    • Optical, Coaxial

    Toengel@Alex

  3. #3
    Silver Member
    Points: 2,528, Level: 14
    Level completed: 26%, Points required for next Level: 222
    Overall activity: 12.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Hong Kong
    Posts
    86
    Points
    2,528
    Level
    14
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 6 Times in 3 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    Thanks. This helps

    Anyone has experience with the digital coaxial output on 9600 to share?

    Does the "Audio Sync Delay" work on the coaxial output or optical output? (it's confirmed "Audio Sync Delay" not working on the analog outputs by design)

  4. #4
    Diamond Member
    Points: 51,912, Level: 70
    Level completed: 55%, Points required for next Level: 638
    Overall activity: 100.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    6,059
    Points
    51,912
    Level
    70
    Thanks
    157
    Thanked 176 Times in 157 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Hi,

    yes - audio delay (via option menu) has an effect on coaxial output...

    Toengel@Alex

  5. #5
    Silver Member
    Points: 2,528, Level: 14
    Level completed: 26%, Points required for next Level: 222
    Overall activity: 12.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Hong Kong
    Posts
    86
    Points
    2,528
    Level
    14
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 6 Times in 3 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    Nice, thanks

    Let me go to buy a good cable the coming weekend.
    Going to connect 9600 to my DAC through the coaxial output.
    For one, it's to re-use my 2-ch speakers (the DAC is able to act as a switch) when I watch movies from 9600. Second, can use 9600 as a CD transport for musics.

  6. #6
    Diamond Member
    Points: 51,912, Level: 70
    Level completed: 55%, Points required for next Level: 638
    Overall activity: 100.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    6,059
    Points
    51,912
    Level
    70
    Thanks
    157
    Thanked 176 Times in 157 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Hi,

    sorry - I meant optical out (my setting at home) - but shouldn't be a difference.

    Delay is from 0 to 200ms as far as I remember.

    Toengel@Alex

  7. #7
    Silver Member
    Points: 2,528, Level: 14
    Level completed: 26%, Points required for next Level: 222
    Overall activity: 12.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Hong Kong
    Posts
    86
    Points
    2,528
    Level
    14
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 6 Times in 3 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    Audio Delay on optical output doesn't work!

    Actually it "works"...should rename the function to "Audio advance".

    The more delay you add...the more the audio is ahead of the video.

    Philips, fantastic!

  8. #8
    Silver Member
    Points: 2,528, Level: 14
    Level completed: 26%, Points required for next Level: 222
    Overall activity: 12.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Hong Kong
    Posts
    86
    Points
    2,528
    Level
    14
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 6 Times in 3 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    Philips, can you fix it? Just reverse the logics please. I'm guessing that will fix Audio Delay for analog outputs as well.

  9. #9
    Silver Member
    Points: 2,528, Level: 14
    Level completed: 26%, Points required for next Level: 222
    Overall activity: 12.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Hong Kong
    Posts
    86
    Points
    2,528
    Level
    14
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 6 Times in 3 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    Test methodology: hook up 9600 to TV through HDMI.
    Connect 9600 to a Digital-Analog-Converter (DAC) through optical output.

    Turn on TV build-in speakers. Turn on the speakers connected to DAC.

    Play a Blu-ray with lots of speeches e.g. Scent of Woman, ch13 where Apacino gave the great speech at the school.

    The audio from Speakers on DAC is ahead of the TV built-in speakers. The more delay you add by Option Menu > Audio Sync, the more the audio from the DAC is ahead of the audio from TV's built-in speakers.

    The TV built-in speaker is in-sync with the video.
    Last edited by kvic; 06-01-2012 at 03:59 PM.

  10. #10
    Diamond Member
    Points: 51,912, Level: 70
    Level completed: 55%, Points required for next Level: 638
    Overall activity: 100.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    6,059
    Points
    51,912
    Level
    70
    Thanks
    157
    Thanked 176 Times in 157 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Hi,

    is the sound on the DAC also ahead, if you set delay to 0?

    Toengel@Alex

  11. #11
    Silver Member
    Points: 2,528, Level: 14
    Level completed: 26%, Points required for next Level: 222
    Overall activity: 12.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Hong Kong
    Posts
    86
    Points
    2,528
    Level
    14
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 6 Times in 3 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    Quote Originally Posted by Toengel View Post
    Hi,

    is the sound on the DAC also ahead, if you set delay to 0?

    Toengel@Alex
    .yes.

  12. #12
    Diamond Member
    Points: 51,912, Level: 70
    Level completed: 55%, Points required for next Level: 638
    Overall activity: 100.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    6,059
    Points
    51,912
    Level
    70
    Thanks
    157
    Thanked 176 Times in 157 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Hi,

    then something is wrong - I will check my 9600 at home...

    Toengel@Alex

  13. #13
    Diamond Member
    Points: 51,912, Level: 70
    Level completed: 55%, Points required for next Level: 638
    Overall activity: 100.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    6,059
    Points
    51,912
    Level
    70
    Thanks
    157
    Thanked 176 Times in 157 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Hi,

    I tried now - something is wrong - I did not hear any difference between 0 and 200ms. But in the past this worked...

    Toengel@Alex

  14. #14
    Silver Member
    Points: 2,528, Level: 14
    Level completed: 26%, Points required for next Level: 222
    Overall activity: 12.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Hong Kong
    Posts
    86
    Points
    2,528
    Level
    14
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 6 Times in 3 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    Indeed no difference between o and 200 after I listened more carefully. Optical output is faster than video. Conclusion: audio delay does not work for digital audio output as well as not for analog output.

    I hope it's a bug in the recent firmware. Philips, pls investigate and fix it ASAP.

  15. #15
    Moderator
    Points: 9,554, Level: 29
    Level completed: 34%, Points required for next Level: 396
    Overall activity: 11.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registeredNew Achievement!5000 Experience PointsOverdrive
    Philips - QK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    884
    Points
    9,554
    Level
    29
    Thanks
    11
    Thanked 34 Times in 30 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Dear both,

    Could you provide us with more info on your DAC (brand/ model)?

    With thanks & regards,
    Philips Moderation Team
    Forum Mod

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Topics

  1. No sound from 40PFL7705DV's coax digital output to soundbar
    By enforsyth in forum TV: Connectivity
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-28-2012, 09:42 AM
  2. PCM output on OPTICAL OUTPUT 42PFL7606K
    By tiomiguel in forum TV: Connectivity
    Replies: 22
    Last Post: 02-27-2012, 12:51 PM
  3. Philips HD Media Player HMP 3000/98 Digital output: Optical
    By nitinmukesh in forum Sound: Other Models
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-03-2012, 03:24 AM
  4. Digital output on 40pfl9705h/12
    By WJJK in forum TV: Connectivity
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-21-2011, 09:53 PM
  5. PCM on the digital output
    By carlosfm in forum TV: Connectivity
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-04-2011, 01:13 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •