Results 1 to 9 of 9
  • Topic Tools
  • Display
  • Bookmark and Share

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    New Member
    Points: 574, Level: 6
    Level completed: 12%, Points required for next Level: 176
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Mol, Belgium
    Posts
    3
    Points
    574
    Level
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    Angry Connection to internet radio

    I have a NP3900, which is connected via cable and a CISCO router to the internet.
    From time to time I would like to take it to another room in my house, which is also supplied with internet connection via cable.
    To prevent any speculations, the router as well as the internet connections are working very well with any other kind of internet device.
    However unplugging the NP3900 at one place and reconnecting it at another place makes always big troubles. The standard message I get when turning on internet radio is "no connection to online services", despite the NP is connected to the internet (checked in the service menu). The device is registered at Philips.
    Getting back connection to the internet radio becomes gambling. So far I could not identify any reason why I got it back, sometimes after a few days only.
    This issue is absolutely annoying. I thought that I would purchase a reliable device when choosing for Philips. I am close to dumping Philips from my suppliers list.

    So can anyone give me some advice how to get the NP running?

  2. #2
    Silver Member
    Points: 1,864, Level: 12
    Level completed: 5%, Points required for next Level: 286
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Hongkong
    Posts
    100
    Points
    1,864
    Level
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    3
    Quote Originally Posted by analytchem View Post
    I have a NP3900, which is connected via cable and a CISCO router to the internet.
    From time to time I would like to take it to another room in my house, which is also supplied with internet connection via cable.
    To prevent any speculations, the router as well as the internet connections are working very well with any other kind of internet device.
    However unplugging the NP3900 at one place and reconnecting it at another place makes always big troubles. The standard message I get when turning on internet radio is "no connection to online services", despite the NP is connected to the internet (checked in the service menu). The device is registered at Philips.
    Getting back connection to the internet radio becomes gambling. So far I could not identify any reason why I got it back, sometimes after a few days only.
    This issue is absolutely annoying. I thought that I would purchase a reliable device when choosing for Philips. I am close to dumping Philips from my suppliers list.

    So can anyone give me some advice how to get the NP running?

    Hi

    When you move to the other room, try doing wired network setup again through settings>>network settings>>wired.
    Check whether things work fine after that.

  3. #3
    New Member
    Points: 574, Level: 6
    Level completed: 12%, Points required for next Level: 176
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Mol, Belgium
    Posts
    3
    Points
    574
    Level
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by fromsomewhere View Post
    Hi

    When you move to the other room, try doing wired network setup again through settings>>network settings>>wired.
    Check whether things work fine after that.

    Thanks for your reply.
    I did this already. The strange thing is that the internet connection works when setting up the wired connection manually. It even works when I connect to internet radio. It says first "connecting to internet", then "connected to internet" and immediately after "online service not availabale".
    I checked the registration at Philips, but I did not find any indication of any mistake.

  4. #4
    Silver Member
    Points: 1,401, Level: 10
    Level completed: 26%, Points required for next Level: 149
    Overall activity: 36.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    242
    Points
    1,401
    Level
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    Rep Power
    3
    Maybe post your MAC and registration ID

  5. #5
    New Member
    Points: 369, Level: 4
    Level completed: 19%, Points required for next Level: 81
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registered250 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    2
    Points
    369
    Level
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by lucas1970 View Post
    Maybe post your MAC and registration ID
    I have the same problem by accessing over lan:
    I can access the NP3900 with http://192.168.1.104:8889/index.htm; so everything in my network is okay. But, I often get an empty list of favorites and "No Contact to Online Services"... - I resettet and registered again, but it does not function.

    I have the latest official firmware - is there any hope for a new version soon? The last one is "old" and contains lots of bugs...

    Nice product, but supporting and developing a proper firmware seems to be a problem...

    If there is a chance to become a beta-tester, I would do...
    Last edited by VicFontaine; 06-28-2012 at 12:07 PM.

  6. #6
    New Member
    Points: 574, Level: 6
    Level completed: 12%, Points required for next Level: 176
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Mol, Belgium
    Posts
    3
    Points
    574
    Level
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    Angry Reset to factory default settings

    Quote Originally Posted by VicFontaine View Post
    I have the same problem by accessing over lan:
    I can access the NP3900 with http://192.168.1.104:8889/index.htm; so everything in my network is okay. But, I often get an empty list of favorites and "No Contact to Online Services"... - I resettet and registered again, but it does not function.

    I have the latest official firmware - is there any hope for a new version soon? The last one is "old" and contains lots of bugs...

    Nice product, but supporting and developing a proper firmware seems to be a problem...

    If there is a chance to become a beta-tester, I would do...
    I got the problem with the lost network connection partially solved. After unplugging and reconnecting the NP3900,
    I had to reset it to factory default settings. It got the connection to the on-line service back, but lost all user settings
    such as favorites.

  7. #7
    Gold Member
    Points: 1,784, Level: 11
    Level completed: 78%, Points required for next Level: 66
    Overall activity: 33.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    spain
    Posts
    286
    Points
    1,784
    Level
    11
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    Rep Power
    3
    Also would say give MAC id to be checked

  8. #8
    New Member
    Points: 369, Level: 4
    Level completed: 19%, Points required for next Level: 81
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registered250 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    2
    Points
    369
    Level
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by pacman View Post
    also would say give mac id to be checked
    18:8e:d5:36:d4:c8

  9. #9
    New Member
    Points: 309, Level: 3
    Level completed: 59%, Points required for next Level: 41
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registered250 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    The Hague/NL
    Posts
    1
    Points
    309
    Level
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Dear all,

    I am new to this forum and also a new owner of a NP3900. I bought it primarily to be able to listen to digital radio. So far, things have not gone very smoothly. Like Analytchem, I want to be able to take my radio to another room from time to time, and this indeed causes all kinds of problems. I have to reenter the network settings every time. And even it succesfully makes the connection I am not able to listen to any radio stations, but instead get a message 'THIS IS AN EMPTY LIST'. What does that mean? Can someone give me a hint? After 2 days of puzzling, I am contemplating to return the radio to the store.

Similar Topics

  1. streamium internet radio KO
    By maison in forum Sound: Streamium MCi series (MCi900| Mci8080| MCi730| MCi500| MCi298)
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 01-01-2013, 04:13 PM
  2. NP1100/12 Internet radio doesn't work.
    By Cratzmueller in forum Sound: Other Wireless Audio Models
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-12-2012, 03:48 PM
  3. LastFM and Spotify Radio (the two best things about internet radio)
    By expuddle in forum Sound: Streamium MCi series (MCi900| Mci8080| MCi730| MCi500| MCi298)
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-04-2012, 04:41 PM
  4. Continuously IP data-connection to the internet radio station in standby mode
    By tenhagen in forum Sound: Streamium MCi series (MCi900| Mci8080| MCi730| MCi500| MCi298)
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-31-2011, 12:37 PM
  5. No connection to internet
    By Constantin in forum Sound: Streamium NP Series (NP3900|NP3700|NP3500|NP3300|NP2900)
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 12-22-2011, 04:14 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •