Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 41
  • Topic Tools
  • Display
  • Bookmark and Share
  1. #1
    New Member
    Points: 2,059, Level: 12
    Level completed: 70%, Points required for next Level: 91
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    1
    Points
    2,059
    Level
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    Philips Series 8 and 9 and 3D Gaming

    Hi,
    Have to open a new topic. Just registered as a member. I am in shock to hear from other forums that it seems even though Philips was marketing series 8 and 9 as being fully 3d ready (and thus compatibile) it seems taht there are problems with Sony PS3 3d gaming especially after their recent software update. I have a 46 inch 8605 with 3d kit. Very happy with it but I am disappointed that for the time being there seems to be no support for 3d gaming since other users are reporting that the PS3 is not recognising the TVs as 3D capable

    Is Philips aware of this issue? We 3d users would like to have a truly 3D tv. Already missed out on 3d upscaling (which is a gimmick in my modest opinion) which did not matter much to me after all. However no 3d gaming is tough to accept especially after spending a decent sum for the TV.

    Can philips and other users elighten me on this. Was hoping to play GT5 in glorious 3d with ambilight in a few weeks. Till ow it seems that we are gonna miss this !

    Please help....

  2. #2
    Bronze Member
    Points: 2,141, Level: 12
    Level completed: 97%, Points required for next Level: 9
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    tilburg, NL
    Posts
    26
    Points
    2,141
    Level
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    I got the 3D extension kit this weekend for my 40plf8605h. There are some additions to my menu system now that seem to have something to do with 3D. My cable company (ziggo=a dutch company) has a 3D show case channel. But I can't seem to activate my system. Also 3D movies on youtube which I watch with netTV do not seem to support the 3D capabilities of the TV. Or doesn't the TV support 3D capabilities? I got those double screens that my manual talks about but when I go the the 3D menu there are 2 options (3D indeling & 2D/3D) where both options have a stopsign above them. According to my manual I should select "3D indeling" to make from the 2 seperate screens one 3D screen. But I can't seem to select that option.
    Last edited by koenraad; 10-05-2010 at 07:36 PM. Reason: typo

  3. #3
    Silver Member
    Points: 2,664, Level: 14
    Level completed: 72%, Points required for next Level: 86
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!Veteran

    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    57
    Points
    2,664
    Level
    14
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    5
    Koen,

    yesterday new software is uploaded to the web, the release 140.
    this software has also support for the 3D channel via Ziggo.

    there has to be automatic detection, this is currently not working in oyur set.
    therefore these 2 items in the menu are not active.
    with the software update to version 140 this should work fine.

    just try it.

  4. #4
    New Member
    Points: 1,621, Level: 11
    Level completed: 24%, Points required for next Level: 229
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    2
    Points
    1,621
    Level
    11
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    I have bought a 46' 8605 a few months back and recently bought the 3D upgrade set. When I first tested the 3D games on my ps3 (back then firmware 3.41) the 3D effect worked but the quality was horrible, there was serious overlapping, you couldn't watch a 3D game for 2 minutes...

    Now with the new PS3 firmware update it did not work at all. In the meantime a technician came and updated the tv with the new firmware ...140.... something. The PS3 games still did not function in 3D so i cannot test if the picture quality has improved, but reading other forums (tweakers, avforums) i shouldn't get my hopes up...

    I was hoping that i could play GT5 in 3D aswell but so far it seems that only the 3D blueray player from philips gives a decent image... so far 3D Ready...

    i've had a conversation with a philips employee today and he said that they're working on it but don't have a timeframe, it could be weeks but also months... and i don't know if it will work then.

  5. #5
    Bronze Member
    Points: 2,141, Level: 12
    Level completed: 97%, Points required for next Level: 9
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    tilburg, NL
    Posts
    26
    Points
    2,141
    Level
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by hansje View Post
    Koen,

    yesterday new software is uploaded to the web, the release 140.
    this software has also support for the 3D channel via Ziggo.

    there has to be automatic detection, this is currently not working in oyur set.
    therefore these 2 items in the menu are not active.
    with the software update to version 140 this should work fine.

    just try it.
    thanks hansje,

    But I already have this update. A repairman installed this software last saterday. (I also had some other problems, which were solved with this update)

    ********additional information*****************
    I just installed software version 3.55 on my PS3, but to no avail. on my plf8605, I still can't play GT5 in 3D.
    Last edited by koenraad; 12-07-2010 at 08:18 PM. Reason: additional information to this thread

  6. #6
    New Member
    Points: 1,621, Level: 11
    Level completed: 24%, Points required for next Level: 229
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    2
    Points
    1,621
    Level
    11
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    still no news about PS3 3D gaming support?

  7. #7
    New Member
    Points: 1,611, Level: 11
    Level completed: 21%, Points required for next Level: 239
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    2
    Points
    1,611
    Level
    11
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Hey all,

    I spoke to philips agent today, and i work in a store selling these tv's. I myself own the 40pfl8605h
    the new firmware 140 does not include support for Ziggo nor does it include support for the PS3.

    However, in the next few weeks there will be a new update. Dunno if they will come at the same time, but expect it soon.

  8. #8
    Bronze Member
    Points: 2,125, Level: 12
    Level completed: 92%, Points required for next Level: 25
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registeredTagger Second Class1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Dutchtronic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    41
    Points
    2,125
    Level
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    There are also discussions on the web that this could be a PS3 issue: look here. Especially when it started after the PS3 sw upgrade. Maybe contact Sony on this?

  9. #9
    Gold Member
    Points: 4,927, Level: 20
    Level completed: 70%, Points required for next Level: 123
    Overall activity: 13.0%
    Achievements:
    1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!Veteran

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    383
    Points
    4,927
    Level
    20
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    I have the 37'' versie 37pFL8605/12H. When is there a 3D support for this screen?? A larger screen does not fit my room.

  10. #10
    Moderator
    Points: 80,148, Level: 87
    Level completed: 99%, Points required for next Level: 2
    Overall activity: 12.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation First ClassTagger First Class50000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!Veteran
    Philips's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    818
    Points
    80,148
    Level
    87
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 15 Times in 13 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Quote Originally Posted by danielx View Post
    ..... Can philips and other users elighten me on this. Was hoping to play GT5 in glorious 3d with ambilight in a few weeks. Till ow it seems that we are gonna miss this ! Plase help....
    Quote Originally Posted by Glennj View Post
    still no news about PS3 3D gaming support?
    27-October news:
    Sony recognizes the problem and will see to implement the solution in their software release for december 2010, so for these customers we have only the advise to wait for the next Sony update.
    Please contact the helpdesk of Sony for more information.

    7-December news (thanks to Petasis):
    Sony released today firmware 3.55, which seems to solve the problem!
    Member Petasis already tested "pain 3D" & "Gran Turismo 5" 3D on his 9705 with success!.
    Last edited by Philips; 12-07-2010 at 10:52 AM. Reason: Input from member Petasis added.
    Forum Mod

  11. #11
    Platinum Member
    Points: 4,691, Level: 20
    Level completed: 11%, Points required for next Level: 359
    Overall activity: 7.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registeredTagger Second Class1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Athens/Greece
    Posts
    640
    Points
    4,691
    Level
    20
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Rep Power
    5
    Is there a link to sony recognising the problem? Can't they release a firmware earlier?

  12. #12
    Moderator
    Points: 80,148, Level: 87
    Level completed: 99%, Points required for next Level: 2
    Overall activity: 12.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation First ClassTagger First Class50000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!Veteran
    Philips's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    818
    Points
    80,148
    Level
    87
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 15 Times in 13 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    7-December news (thanks to Petasis):
    Sony released today firmware 3.55, which seems to solve the problem!
    Member Petasis already tested "pain 3D" & "Gran Turismo 5" 3D on his 9705 with success!.
    Forum Mod

  13. #13
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,659, Level: 11
    Level completed: 37%, Points required for next Level: 191
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    16
    Points
    1,659
    Level
    11
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    46pfl9705 - ps3 & satellite 3d works, 3D blu-ray from PS3 is not good

    I tested several games, especially call of duty black ops, pain and motorstorm rift 3D. All work very well, both TV and PS3 running last firmware versions Rift3D can be downloaded from PSN store and is really great in 3D, there is actually a 3D pack for 29 euros in PSN you can download. Caveat: the option to turn on 3D is sometimes hard to find in the game's option menu. Rift3D I have to play and then in game go to options select 3D

    Interesting, I find black ops harder to play in 3D then 2D, parially because everything is a bit darker in 3D but also picture is slightly less sharp

    Ghosting/Crosstalk in games seems limited to absent, in video (blu-ray) or satellite however its horrendous and gives me a splitting headache. Especially when the part of the picture near me is ok, but the background is ghosting, it makes my eyes cross.
    I am replacing HDMI cables this week with high quality HDMI 1.4 cable to see if that helps. Also; the TV has only one HDMI 1.4 port, in my case HDM1/Arc. The PS3 being only hdmi 1.3 I wonder if that causes ghosting issues in movies/ If I use a seperate blu-ray player that has hmdi 1.4 will ghosting go away ?

  14. #14
    Platinum Member
    Points: 4,691, Level: 20
    Level completed: 11%, Points required for next Level: 359
    Overall activity: 7.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registeredTagger Second Class1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Athens/Greece
    Posts
    640
    Points
    4,691
    Level
    20
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Rep Power
    5
    The 9705 has 4 HDMI 1.4 ports. All of them are HDMI 1.4. What Philips writes in the manual/leaflet is WRONG.
    All HDMI inputs can accept 3D signal, either gaming or bluray 3D. I always connect my PS3 on the side HDMI, and 3D works as expected.
    The only difference of HDMI 1 is that it supports ARC, the audio return channel (which I don't know if it is working).

  15. #15
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,659, Level: 11
    Level completed: 37%, Points required for next Level: 191
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    16
    Points
    1,659
    Level
    11
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    the difference in HDMI

    Some searching on the internet reveals the PS3 supports HDMI 1.3, for full HD 3D blu-ray HDMI 1.4 is required. Hence the HDMI 1.4 connector (HDMI1/ARC) and a HDMI 1.4 cable
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/HDMI

    the PS3 will not support full HD (1080p) 3D, and has some other limitations as well playing 3D content
    http://www.tqcast.com/2010/09/23/are...end-thousands/

    Sony has apparantly done some smart tricks to get 3D to work using a hdmi 1.3 interface. I wonder how much of a quality difference there is with a stand alone bluray 3d player. Like; does this affect crosstalk ?

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •