Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 26
  • Topic Tools
  • Display
  • Bookmark and Share
  1. #1
    New Member
    Points: 1,814, Level: 11
    Level completed: 88%, Points required for next Level: 36
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    6
    Points
    1,814
    Level
    11
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    TV restarts when shutting down the TV

    Hello,

    I have a 37PFL8605 with the latest firmware (v 60).

    Since one week when I put the television in standbye modus, the television automatically switches on again after 5 seconds.

    This bug is very annoying and I can only shutdown the TV by using the "power off" button behind the television.

    I also get since one week constantly pop-ups that there is a "zender update" (update of all the channels) available. This pop-up comes back each day, and it does not update the television when it is in stand-bye modus.

    Does anyone know how to solve this?

    Best regards,
    Paul

  2. #2
    Moderator
    Points: 84,734, Level: 90
    Level completed: 55%, Points required for next Level: 816
    Overall activity: 99.1%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation First ClassTagger First Class50000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!Veteran
    Philips's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    847
    Points
    84,734
    Level
    90
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 15 Times in 13 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Hi Paul,

    Thanks for your valuable input. Your remark will be forwarded to the specialists to look into it.

    About the "zender update" pop-up: If it is a message from the TV it can be changed via "Home > Configuratie > Zenderinstellingen > Installatie zenders > Melding zenderupdate > Uit".
    The channel update could also be a message of a set-top-box or CAM module, then you must contact the provider.
    Forum Mod

  3. #3
    New Member
    Points: 1,814, Level: 11
    Level completed: 88%, Points required for next Level: 36
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    6
    Points
    1,814
    Level
    11
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Hello,

    I did not tell in my previous post that I am using Ziggo with a CAM+ module.

    Today I have updated my television with the latest firmware (000.140.011.000), but the TV still restarts after putting it in standbye modus.

    Any help would be appriciated.

    Best regards,
    Paul

  4. #4
    New Member
    Points: 1,621, Level: 11
    Level completed: 24%, Points required for next Level: 229
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    1
    Points
    1,621
    Level
    11
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    I also own a 46PFL8605 and since the first of October, my TV was also starting up again, whenever I put it on stand by. I got a message "zenderupdate beschikbaar". This triggered me, because Ziggo had an update with their Preview Channel since the beginning of this month. Also a 3D channel was added. At the helpdesk of Philips they adviced me to install all channels again and this helped. Probably the software hung in some kind of loop with this channel update. Let's hope this behavior will not occur again whenever Ziggo updates their channels. Must be some software bug in the TV and/or Smart Card Module of Ziggo. The solution works, but I had to reconfigure alle the Favorite Channels again, and that is not a thing I like to do from time to time...

  5. #5
    New Member
    Points: 1,814, Level: 11
    Level completed: 88%, Points required for next Level: 36
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    6
    Points
    1,814
    Level
    11
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Hi P Neelis,

    I have installed all channels again and the problem has been solved. Thanks!

    Paul

  6. #6
    New Member
    Points: 1,632, Level: 11
    Level completed: 28%, Points required for next Level: 218
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Netherlands (Huizen)
    Posts
    2
    Points
    1,632
    Level
    11
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Hello,

    I have a two weeks old 40PFL9705 and it restarts when a put it in standby.

    I have downloaded the latest software on advise from Philips.
    The problem is not solved and Philips say that it is a now problem what most by solved white other new software not available jet it is in development.
    I do not believe in this because it works good the first week and I did not change anything.
    Before it restart the tv go off and then a see a flicker from the ambilight and it go on.

    Do anyone now how to solved this problem?
    Do other users also have this problem?

    Erik

  7. #7
    Bronze Member
    Points: 2,141, Level: 12
    Level completed: 97%, Points required for next Level: 9
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    tilburg, NL
    Posts
    26
    Points
    2,141
    Level
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    I have the same problem. The TV turns on again. I had no issue with this the first month but it just started on a certain date, like a late year 2000 bug. (10-10-10 bug?) I contacted philips and got the same remark that the development department is working on an update.

    I have more problems with my wife. She starts to hate the TV and the guy that bought it. (that would be me) The philips programming department can't help me there.

  8. #8
    New Member
    Points: 1,924, Level: 12
    Level completed: 25%, Points required for next Level: 226
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    5
    Points
    1,924
    Level
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    I did have the same annoying issue as pdegrijp. Also using the Ziggo/CI+ module. Reinstalling the channels did solve this issue. Give it a try Erik and koenraad and save your marriage
    Last edited by Jeroen; 10-20-2010 at 03:03 PM.

  9. #9
    New Member
    Points: 1,600, Level: 11
    Level completed: 17%, Points required for next Level: 250
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    NL
    Posts
    1
    Points
    1,600
    Level
    11
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Same problem here. After updating to latest firmware 140.011 the TV has become very unstable.
    I've completely re-installed all channels, as suggested by others, to no avail.
    I am using the Ziggo CAM+ module.
    The problems are:
    - TV almost always restarts after shutting down (need to use hardware on/off now)
    - TV seems to start when Philips HD recorder wakes up (connected via HDMI, but I set all EasyLink stuff OFF in menu)
    - TV reboots for no apparent reason when watching Philips HD record via HDMI and moving around in HOME menu (does not seem to happen when watching TV and moving around in HOME menu)
    - TV reboots occasionally when in NetTV Apps and pressing HOME button
    I'm afraid I can relate to "koenraad"s situation. This machine is starting to work on the nerves of people close to me...

  10. #10
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,892, Level: 12
    Level completed: 14%, Points required for next Level: 258
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    14
    Points
    1,892
    Level
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    I have also the same problem on the 46pfl9705 in combination with (Ziggo) CAM CI+.

    The first time i experienced the problem with firmware 075.60. Afther installing the new firmware update 140.011 and reinstall the Ziggo channels the problem disappearred.

    Now (about 1,5 week later) the same problem is back (restart TV afther shutdown/standby).

    On other forums they notice the only solution is to reinstall the complete factory settings on the TV (incl. reinstall Ziggo channels).

    I believe the problem has to do with some kind of looping in the Ziggo channel update trough the CAM CI+. I hope i don't have to reinstall the TV factory setting each time there is a (Ziggo) channel update.
    Last edited by leutmaker; 10-21-2010 at 02:44 PM.

  11. #11
    New Member
    Points: 1,632, Level: 11
    Level completed: 28%, Points required for next Level: 218
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Netherlands (Huizen)
    Posts
    2
    Points
    1,632
    Level
    11
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Dear all,

    Thanks for the comments after I've re-set the channels on the TV, it seems that everything is back to normal no restart.
    But for how long?
    I also make use of ziggo CI+
    Time for Philips to bring new software quickly.
    Erik

  12. #12
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,892, Level: 12
    Level completed: 14%, Points required for next Level: 258
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    14
    Points
    1,892
    Level
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    I have installed the new software version (v 140.023) and also a reinstall of the ziggo channels.
    Shutdown/reboot problem is solved (for now ....).

    Now we have to wait for the next automatic Ziggo channel update (in two weeks) if the problem comes back. The mentioned reinstall of Ziggo channels is just a workaround for temporarly fixing the problem.

    Philips, can you tell me if this problem is permanently solved in version 140.023 ? Because the release notes are missing.
    Last edited by leutmaker; 10-22-2010 at 12:42 PM.

  13. #13
    Gold Member
    Points: 4,927, Level: 20
    Level completed: 70%, Points required for next Level: 123
    Overall activity: 13.0%
    Achievements:
    1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!Veteran

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    382
    Points
    4,927
    Level
    20
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Well, there is a new update now. a 140.023 version. I have installed this update but the following problems are still there since installing the 140.011 version:

    - Black screens when zapping (was solved in the 075.60 version and is now back since the 140.011 version en still there after installing the 140.023 version)
    - When zapping from Nederland 2 HD to Nederland 1 HD the Channel remains Nederland 2 HD. This occurs with more channels. Zapping gets on your nerves with this tv.

    PS I already reinstalled the channels three times but this does nog solve the problem!

    I have CI+ Ziggo module and the 37PFL8605/H12. I have this tv for three weeks now and a regret buying it. Philips was tot me a reliable product but since buying the expensive tv (if you can call it a tv) I think I can say this doesnot match my expectations from it.

  14. #14
    Bronze Member
    Points: 2,141, Level: 12
    Level completed: 97%, Points required for next Level: 9
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    tilburg, NL
    Posts
    26
    Points
    2,141
    Level
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    I got the same issue with my 40pfl8605h/12 with software version 140.023. I use a work-around that even works without reinstalling the ziggo CAM CI+ adapter. When you shut down the TV, wait for it to flash back on. You'll see a very faint first flash. After that flash the ambilight will flash once then immediatly press off on the remote again. The adapter has not yet authenticated itself and the TV will switch off normally. It's all about timing so perhaps you have to pratice it once or twice.

    I do have to agree with erik that using unsuspected customers as beta-testers is not a way of working I would expect from philips.
    Last edited by koenraad; 10-28-2010 at 08:58 AM. Reason: clearify explanation on how to use the workaround

  15. #15
    New Member
    Points: 1,579, Level: 11
    Level completed: 10%, Points required for next Level: 271
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    5
    Points
    1,579
    Level
    11
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Since the Q5521_0.140.11.0 update my 37PFL7605 also restarts after shutting down, very weird and annoying. Just updated to Q5521_0.140.23.0, hopefully this helps. I don't use Ziggo by the way, I watch TV from an external box connected on HDMI: my guess is the problem is not connected to DVB-C.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Topic

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •