Results 1 to 15 of 19
  • Topic Tools
  • Display
  • Bookmark and Share

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    New Member
    Points: 2,025, Level: 12
    Level completed: 59%, Points required for next Level: 125
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    1
    Points
    2,025
    Level
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    Angry Problem with subtitles in movies on Philips 37PFL7605 LED TV

    Hello.
    Please help me with a problem on a TV LED model 37PFL7605: I do not read subtitles in movies that are played on a hard disk external to.
    I note that the films with subtitles leptopvad.
    How do I fix this problem?
    Add that the menu is on auto subtitle Easylink
    Thanks in advance.
    Last edited by Philips; 10-07-2010 at 10:27 AM.

  2. #2
    Bronze Member
    Points: 2,334, Level: 13
    Level completed: 62%, Points required for next Level: 116
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    31
    Points
    2,334
    Level
    13
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    The TV does not support subtitles see other threats in this forum. So SRT or other subtitle formats are not supported.

    I did not check this on forehand otherwise I would have chosen for a Samsung.
    Last edited by Philips; 10-07-2010 at 12:05 PM. Reason: Added link to thread.

  3. #3
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,726, Level: 11
    Level completed: 59%, Points required for next Level: 124
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    l00pu5's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    49
    Points
    1,726
    Level
    11
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Another way to get subtitles working would be encoding them within the video stream. This means re-encoding the entire stream, though.

  4. #4
    New Member
    Points: 1,922, Level: 12
    Level completed: 24%, Points required for next Level: 228
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registeredTagger Second Class1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    kleinspr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Acht
    Posts
    5
    Points
    1,922
    Level
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    Lightbulb

    To the Philips people:
    Is there a possibility, to do a request for this???
    To add this possibility in the next update
    Every normal media player can handle subtitles, and this TV not ?!?!?!?!

  5. #5
    Platinum Member
    Points: 4,691, Level: 20
    Level completed: 11%, Points required for next Level: 359
    Overall activity: 7.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registeredTagger Second Class1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Athens/Greece
    Posts
    640
    Points
    4,691
    Level
    20
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    The 9705 (which is a more expensive TV) does not also support subtitles. In fact, most mkv files do not play on the TV.
    The same is true for video camera recordings. Also, I tried to play back some recorded mpeg-4 broadcasts, made in my PC: the TV can show the channels, but cannot play the .ts files that contain the recordings.

    The only file I managed to play with the TV player was an old avi file that has divx in it.
    I really cannot understand what is the purpose of this player the TV has. It seems that is unable to play 99% of the files somebody will like to play...

  6. #6
    Bronze Member
    Points: 2,068, Level: 12
    Level completed: 73%, Points required for next Level: 82
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    JuAn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    44
    Points
    2,068
    Level
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Hey Petasis. You should take a look here. It gives a good overview of the possibilities of your TV.
    It clearly states that the 9705 must be able to play MKV files, maybe your files are corrupted?

  7. #7
    Platinum Member
    Points: 4,691, Level: 20
    Level completed: 11%, Points required for next Level: 359
    Overall activity: 7.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registeredTagger Second Class1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Athens/Greece
    Posts
    640
    Points
    4,691
    Level
    20
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    I have a pc, and they play on the pc...
    I think that the TV does not play them due to a missing codec (I think DTS)...

  8. #8
    New Member
    Points: 1,445, Level: 10
    Level completed: 48%, Points required for next Level: 105
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    4
    Points
    1,445
    Level
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Hi Philips!

    Please, add feature of playing movie subtitles to the wish list for theupcoming TV software updates.
    This should be not big problem, because I was able to play subtitles embedded in mkv files, but there is problem in playing subtitles that are not embedded (divx).

    Best regards

  9. #9
    Silver Member
    Points: 2,014, Level: 12
    Level completed: 55%, Points required for next Level: 136
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    73
    Points
    2,014
    Level
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    Quote Originally Posted by petasis View Post
    I have a pc, and they play on the pc...
    I think that the TV does not play them due to a missing codec (I think DTS)...
    Think you are correct. Please check your MKV with mediainfo.
    I noticed that if the audiostream is DTS, my TV gives an on-screen message like 'file not supported'.

    @ Philips : why does it give that message ? Why not just play the file without sound (as the TV cannot decode DTS) and give a message like 'audio stream not supported' so customer knows what's wrong.

    PS: I have not checked what happens if I create an MKV with a videostream and 2 audiostreams ; 1st AC3, 2nd DTS. I would suspect that it plays the file with AC3 sound. Has anyone checked this already ????

  10. #10
    Platinum Member
    Points: 5,068, Level: 21
    Level completed: 4%, Points required for next Level: 482
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Tagger Second ClassNew Achievement!Veteran5000 Experience Points
    Nettle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Padua, Italy
    Posts
    624
    Points
    5,068
    Level
    21
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    Quote Originally Posted by petasis View Post
    The 9705 (which is a more expensive TV) does not also support subtitles. In fact, most mkv files do not play on the TV.
    The same is true for video camera recordings. Also, I tried to play back some recorded mpeg-4 broadcasts, made in my PC: the TV can show the channels, but cannot play the .ts files that contain the recordings.

    The only file I managed to play with the TV player was an old avi file that has divx in it.
    I really cannot understand what is the purpose of this player the TV has. It seems that is unable to play 99% of the files somebody will like to play...
    Dear Petasis,

    my 8605 plays the mkv files without problems. Are you sure that your files are ok?

    regards

  11. #11
    New Member
    Points: 1,898, Level: 12
    Level completed: 16%, Points required for next Level: 252
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registeredTagger Second Class1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    3
    Points
    1,898
    Level
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    Exclamation Subtitles on Philips LED TV's

    Dear Philips Developer Team;
    Iím very disappointed with my last bought from Philips in July 2010. A brand new (and suppose great) LED TV 37PFL7605H.


    Everything of electronics in my house is Philips since 30 years agoÖ so when I thought on buying a new TV, Philips choice was obviouslyÖ

    Now I, like other thousands of clients, feel cheated by Philips. Since when Philips products were not the best and have all the functionalities available in the market?!? Of course, Iím talking about a very simple problem, that ours TV suffered =>READING SUBTITLES<= .

    For the 1st time in my life, Iím recommended to other people to buy a non Philips TV, since they have that huge problem that developer team are making blind eyes! Other products from Philips, like Blue Ray and Home Cinema Set support subtitles, so, for sure, isnít a hardware problem!!!

    Please, for the consideration that customers (special the old ones) have by Philips, make available a firmware that implement this function. Itís a little thing that can change all the review about a TV.

    Regards,
    Tomaz.

  12. #12
    New Member
    Points: 1,402, Level: 10
    Level completed: 26%, Points required for next Level: 148
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    8
    Points
    1,402
    Level
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    This is huge issue . I am very frustrated because i talked a friend of mine into to buying a PFL7605h TV, without knowing about this problem my self :-(
    Of course now I recommend to the those who ask me about the tv not to buy one.

    Can at least someone from philips tell us if this is a hardware or software problem, please?

  13. #13
    Diamond Member
    Points: 51,439, Level: 70
    Level completed: 21%, Points required for next Level: 1,111
    Overall activity: 67.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    6,036
    Points
    51,439
    Level
    70
    Thanks
    156
    Thanked 174 Times in 155 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Hi,

    since the TV only checks the 1st audiostream this should work - try it and post your results

    Toengel@Alex

  14. #14
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,726, Level: 11
    Level completed: 59%, Points required for next Level: 124
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    l00pu5's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    49
    Points
    1,726
    Level
    11
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Erm... no!
    No matter what position the DTS stream is located, the file payback is blocked if it's found, no matter where. The one you suggested would be correct with firmware versions pre-0.140.23.0.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •