Results 1 to 8 of 8
  • Topic Tools
  • Display
  • Bookmark and Share
  1. #1
    New Member
    Points: 2,398, Level: 13
    Level completed: 83%, Points required for next Level: 52
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registeredTagger Second Class1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    1
    Points
    2,398
    Level
    13
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    WIFI Philips to Mac

    Today I bought a USB device for my philips TV to activate NET TV.
    I managed to activate NET TV but a connection to my mac is not possible.

    I would like to be able to wirelessly stream my macbook photo and video content to my TV.

    Has anyone found mac software to do that?

  2. #2
    Silver Member
    Points: 3,306, Level: 16
    Level completed: 64%, Points required for next Level: 144
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    64
    Points
    3,306
    Level
    16
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    5
    Hi Casper,

    I am not a MAC user, but if you Google on “DLNA & MAC” you find lots of information.
    This site shows a nice list of streaming server software; there are several free options for MAC.
    http://www.rbgrn.net/content/21-how-...-os-x-or-linux
    I am a TVersity user. TVersity is not MAC compatible.
    Succes!

  3. #3
    New Member
    Points: 1,805, Level: 11
    Level completed: 85%, Points required for next Level: 45
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    3
    Points
    1,805
    Level
    11
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Hi Casper,

    I bought a 9000 series net tv today and have the same objective, however I'm going to try via connecting the TV to the home network, then try to look it up in the mac.. maybe that works.

  4. #4
    New Member
    Points: 1,814, Level: 11
    Level completed: 88%, Points required for next Level: 36
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    6
    Points
    1,814
    Level
    11
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Hi Casper,

    You can use a Media Server on your Mac to stream video and photo's to your Philips TV. Software which you can use is Twonky (http://www.twonky.com/products/twonk...r/default.aspx).

    I am also trying to accomplish this, but I have the problem that when I am using Twonky (or another Media Server) that the Philips TV is not playing all media formats. When I would use Window Media Server, then the TV does play almost everything.

    The reason for this is that Windows Media Server is transcoding movies to the Phlips TV in another movie codec.

    Does anyone knows a good Media Server for the Mac that also transcodes all the non-readable movie formats of a Philips Television?

    Paul

  5. #5
    New Member
    Points: 1,625, Level: 11
    Level completed: 25%, Points required for next Level: 225
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    2
    Points
    1,625
    Level
    11
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    Isedora

    Try Isedora , it does transcoding so you are able to watch everything.

    www.isedora.com

    It let you play for an hour, so you can test all the functionality.
    Every time you restart it can be used for an hour until you register.

    Cheers,
    Peter

  6. #6
    New Member
    Points: 1,814, Level: 11
    Level completed: 88%, Points required for next Level: 36
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    6
    Points
    1,814
    Level
    11
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Hi,

    Thanks for the tip. Isedora works pretty good, however, sometimes my philips TV 37pfl8605 just crashes when selecting "browse computer" on the main screen. The philips software really is instable.

    Best regards,
    Paul

  7. #7
    New Member
    Points: 1,621, Level: 11
    Level completed: 24%, Points required for next Level: 229
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    3
    Points
    1,621
    Level
    11
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Casper View Post
    Today I bought a USB device for my philips TV to activate NET TV.
    I managed to activate NET TV but a connection to my mac is not possible.

    I would like to be able to wirelessly stream my macbook photo and video content to my TV.

    Has anyone found mac software to do that?
    You have to install an application on your Mac of a type called DLNA server.

    I use "PS3 Media Server" (free) This app is actually dedicated to Sony Playstation 3 but it will work with your TV too.
    The app will fail to detect a PS3 (unless you own a PS3 too and switch it on). The only side effect is that the application will not keep your Mac awake so it will hibernate after the timeout and loose connection. (I assume you have factory power management settings on your Mac) You will have to temporary disable the hibernation of your Mac

    Alternatively you install VirtualBox (free) and run a virtualised version of Windows (not free) and use a very good program called TVersity (free). You need to set your Windows network configuration in VirtualBox to Bridged mode for any DLNA client ( like you TV ) to 'see' the DLNA server ( TVersity ) on your virtual Windows.

  8. #8
    New Member
    Points: 1,814, Level: 11
    Level completed: 88%, Points required for next Level: 36
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    6
    Points
    1,814
    Level
    11
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    After reinstalling all channels and upgrading to the latest firmware the TV does not crash anymore when I go the "browse my PC".

    Isedora works pretty good. Only subtitles and fast forward does not work 100%.

Tags for this Topic

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •