Results 1 to 5 of 5
  • Topic Tools
  • Display
  • Bookmark and Share
  1. #1
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,057, Level: 8
    Level completed: 54%, Points required for next Level: 93
    Overall activity: 99.0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registeredTagger Second Class1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Düsseldorf / Germany
    Posts
    16
    Points
    1,057
    Level
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    One size fits all ( in the family)

    TV: 47PFL7606/K02
    S/W : 14.98

    View by SAT.

    Hi,

    There is some strange behaviour with the picture size.
    Normally I set it to "auto-fill" and this seems to work with most of the (german) programs.
    However for 16:9 movies and some commercials it does not.
    In that case I set it to "Movie expand 16:9"
    ( ... and my wife is complaining the next morning as it is very tricky to put it back to "auto fill" with the egg-remote)

    So it would be good to have an option which covers both "auto fill" and "Movie Expand 16:9"
    This would be very nice to have in Germany ( for the Netherlands this maybe another story because of the sub-titles)


    But this is not all
    For some programs there appear black stripes on the sides, no matter what setting I choose ( haven' t seen this any any TV in the last 10 years) e.g. Southpark and Seinfeld show this.


    Yesterday it was even worse:
    Here Inspector Barnaby appears with black stripes on the sides and above & below.
    No matter what setting I choose....


    Here some pictures to show what I mean:
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_0670.JPG 
Views:	68 
Size:	99.1 KB 
ID:	1213 SEINFELD with black stripes on the sides with auto fill
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_0672.JPG 
Views:	68 
Size:	90.8 KB 
ID:	1214 Movie with 16:9 in auto-fill shows stripes top & below (manual fill ;-)
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_0676.JPG 
Views:	67 
Size:	98.5 KB 
ID:	1215 Commercial with black stripes
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_0681.JPG 
Views:	65 
Size:	76.3 KB 
ID:	1216 Inspector barnaby surrounded in black on auto-fill


    Hope you guys can do something about this.

    BR.

  2. #2
    Moderator
    Points: 17,624, Level: 40
    Level completed: 47%, Points required for next Level: 426
    Overall activity: 99.6%
    Achievements:
    1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!10000 Experience PointsVeteran
    Philips - Thomas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    1,765
    Points
    17,624
    Level
    40
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 39 Times in 36 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Hi Folwersun,

    looking to the Pictures, everything is okay on the TV.
    f.e. Inspector barnaby, shown on ZDF neo HD, as this is an old TV show, they mixed it up.
    The Series originally is 4:3, so they put this 4:3 content into a 16:9 container, the Black Bars a part of the Video, the TV can not delete them on his own because for the TV it is Video Content.
    Same for the Movie (2nd) Screen. As you can see, the RTL2 Logo right bottom is going into the Black Bar, this Bars a part of the Video so the TV can not "delete" this part.

    Regards
    Thomas

  3. #3
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,057, Level: 8
    Level completed: 54%, Points required for next Level: 93
    Overall activity: 99.0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registeredTagger Second Class1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Düsseldorf / Germany
    Posts
    16
    Points
    1,057
    Level
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Hello Thomas,

    sorry but I cannot agree with you.
    I would expect that with "auto fill" selected, the TV would automatically fill the complete screen.
    Other TVs do so, you know. Including my previous no-name 42" LCD.
    ( I think they do not care so much about the video content but rather 'detect' the black belts)
    This is why I bought a large screen in the first place.


    Now for the Barnay case, this may be different matter, which I noticed on several transmissions of the new German HD channels, starting from may 1st, 2012.

    The picture from Barnaby is from ZDF Neo HD
    ( Saturdays 0:45)
    But as this is simultaneously transmitted on the old ZDF Neo ( without the HD), I had a look there
    and supprisingly here the screen is completely fillled.

    So don't blame Barnaby here, technically it is possble to do it right.
    However I am not sure whether this case is with Philips or with ZDF.


    Please investigate both cases more deeply.
    Especially with commercials it is very annoying to see the black stripes jumping up and done with every new spot.


    "Let's make things better!"

    KR.

  4. #4
    Bronze Member
    Points: 416, Level: 4
    Level completed: 66%, Points required for next Level: 34
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registered250 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    23
    Points
    416
    Level
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Do you get this problem by watching movies from a DVD/CD player or a HDD or USB Flash Drive? This will depend on the size of the movie you are trying to play which could be normal.

  5. #5
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,057, Level: 8
    Level completed: 54%, Points required for next Level: 93
    Overall activity: 99.0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registeredTagger Second Class1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Düsseldorf / Germany
    Posts
    16
    Points
    1,057
    Level
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Hello Celavey.

    Here I am referring to SAT reception with the build-in SAT receiver.

    But never mind the source I would expect the picture to be stretched to the full screen when selecting thie "auto-fill" option.
    This works for some programs but not all ( see my samples above)

    Now for 16:9 there is another option which will stretch 16:9 correct but all other transmissions are the too big then ( setting = "movie Expand 16:9" )
    Since TV pograms are mix of several sizes, this is very anoying e.g. when zapping or watching commericals.

    My previos LCD TV did this all correct.... :-((
    It had an option , something like "auto black line detect"


    BR.

Similar Topics

  1. 42PFL7696K12 Options Size
    By Joerg_L in forum TV: User Interface
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 04-24-2012, 05:27 PM
  2. screen size issue
    By DDA in forum Blu-ray: BDP7000 Series
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 03-09-2012, 03:13 PM
  3. Table stand screw size?? 47PFL3704D/F7
    By Monk Monkey in forum TV: Installation
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-01-2012, 04:22 PM
  4. Font-Size at IP-EPG
    By bta in forum Smart TV: IP-EPG Program Guide
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 11-02-2011, 08:02 PM
  5. What size screws for my TV's table top stand?
    By olafurg in forum TV: Installation
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 08-01-2011, 11:50 AM

Tags for this Topic

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •