Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 16 to 23 of 23
  • Topic Tools
  • Display
  • Bookmark and Share
  1. #16
    Silver Member
    Points: 2,073, Level: 12
    Level completed: 75%, Points required for next Level: 77
    Overall activity: 2.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Skopje, Macedonia
    Posts
    90
    Points
    2,073
    Level
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    3
    I am watching such xvids regularly, with buffering no more than 5 secs. So everything looks OK from this side too :-)

    Another idea, where are the videos stored? I am using an external WD MyBook, and if it has not been accessed for a longer time I believe it goes into sleep mode, and after you initiate the movie it takes a few more seconds for it to go into regular working mode.

    If you feel like experimenting, you can also try to connect the PC and the TV directly with a crossover cable, no router, no switch. Set up fixed IP addresses and try streaming through DLNA.

  2. #17
    Bronze Member
    Points: 450, Level: 4
    Level completed: 50%, Points required for next Level: 100
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registered250 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    10
    Points
    450
    Level
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by starterz View Post
    Another idea, where are the videos stored?
    I'm really trying to keep those tests as simple as possible.
    I now have got a 20 Gbit sample of 12 movies. That sample is on the main hard disk of each test computer. The computers are not in sleep mode when I perform the tests.

    Quote Originally Posted by starterz View Post
    If you feel like experimenting, you can also try to connect the PC and the TV directly with a crossover cable, no router, no switch. Set up fixed IP addresses and try streaming through DLNA.
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Upnp
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Simple_...overy_Protocol
    SSDP allows that device to advertise its services to control points on the network. Similarly, when a control point is added to the network, SSDP allows that control point to search for devices of interest on the network.
    Is the router the control point or can any device on the network find any other?
    If the router is the control point there's no way to get uPnP working without a router.
    Any experiences with uPnP, fixed IP and crossover cable ?

    Philips, what do you think of my tests? What do you suggest ?

  3. #18
    Silver Member
    Points: 2,073, Level: 12
    Level completed: 75%, Points required for next Level: 77
    Overall activity: 2.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Skopje, Macedonia
    Posts
    90
    Points
    2,073
    Level
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    3
    No, I think that the control point is any device that can "control" content from the media (DLNA) server. For example, one control point is the TV, another would be a mobile device (smartphone), another computer etc.

    The router is not of importance here, since the routing part is used for connecting two networks (the internet and your local network). You only use the switch (within your router) for the local network. So you can also use only a switch, without routing. In cases where a switch is not available, two computers can be connected in a local network (example 192.168.1.0/24) directly one to another with a crossover cable. You can use network sharing and gaming this way with no problems.

    I am only not sure if DLNA would work through crossover cable, as I have never tried this.

  4. #19
    Bronze Member
    Points: 450, Level: 4
    Level completed: 50%, Points required for next Level: 100
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registered250 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    10
    Points
    450
    Level
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Hi,
    Thanks for your comments.

    Quote Originally Posted by starterz View Post
    I am only not sure if DLNA would work through crossover cable, as I have never tried this.
    Crossover cable works, I tried it. Unfortunately the result is the same: 1 minute of buffering.
    TV:
    1. IP:192.168.1.11
    2. mask: 255.255.0.0
    3. gateway:192.168.1.10

    Ubuntu (intel i7):
    1. IP:192.168.1.10
    2. mask: 255.255.0.0
    3. gateway:192.168.1.1 (whatever)


    What's interesting is that while the movie was loading I monitored CPU and network activity. CPU is like I always say: flat. It's an effortless task for it. Network on the other hand is sending (from the server) with an average of 45mbit and peaks at 60mbit. It look like the TV is definitively buffering that file.

    I changed my sample base and bingo, I found a > than 1 GiB file that loaded instantly.
    Video codec: x264
    Bit rate: 1896 kbps
    Resolution: 800x450 @23.976fps
    Quality factor: 0.220

    Audio codec: AC-3
    Audio Bit rate: 384 kbps
    Sampling rate: 48 KHz
    Channel(s): 6 ch
    It also works through my network with my weaker XP computer. It loads instantly.
    Looks like depending the format, the TV has to buffer it.
    I don't know why this doesn't happen with the USB stick.

    Comments from Philips would be more than appreciated.

  5. #20
    Silver Member
    Points: 2,073, Level: 12
    Level completed: 75%, Points required for next Level: 77
    Overall activity: 2.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Skopje, Macedonia
    Posts
    90
    Points
    2,073
    Level
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    3
    You made an excellent test. Now we are sure about DLNA through crossover, sorry that it did not solve your problem.

    Default Gateway should not be used at all, as it is used only as a gate to another network (the internet in most cases). You can leave it blank in such cases.

    I would expect some buffering to be done by the TV, but not that much. The same happens in the network at my side, but only for a few seconds - not more than 10 secs even when the external WD MyBook has to come out of sleep.

    Philips, a mystery to be explained.
    Last edited by starterz; 08-21-2012 at 07:12 AM.

  6. #21
    Bronze Member
    Points: 450, Level: 4
    Level completed: 50%, Points required for next Level: 100
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registered250 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    10
    Points
    450
    Level
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Hi,

    Quote Originally Posted by starterz View Post
    Default Gateway should not be used at all, as it is used only as a gate to another network (the internet in most cases). You can leave it blank in such cases.
    yes I know that. Two reasons for setting it that way.
    On the computer I didn't want to play with the etc/network/interfaces which didn't look like the one from the former version. So I used the wizard which requires a gateway.
    On the TV, it didn't find the server until I added the computer IP as the gateway IP. Perhaps I didn't wait long enough for the IP scope to be scanned.

    Quote Originally Posted by starterz View Post
    I would expect some buffering to be done by the TV, but not that much. The same happens in the network at my side, but only for a few seconds - not more than 10 secs even when the external WD MyBook has to come out of sleep.
    It looks like it depends on the file format. You can once try to download a
    "Format profile : OpenDML // Format : MPEG-4 Visual" and give it a test.

    The problem can also be linked to the version of my TV. I've got a 40PFL8606K, perhaps people using the "H" version don't have that problem.

  7. #22
    Diamond Member
    Points: 47,594, Level: 67
    Level completed: 46%, Points required for next Level: 756
    Overall activity: 100.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience Points25000 Experience Points
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    5,698
    Points
    47,594
    Level
    67
    Thanks
    112
    Thanked 118 Times in 105 Posts
    Rep Power
    9
    Quote Originally Posted by youplaboom View Post
    The problem can also be linked to the version of my TV. I've got a 40PFL8606K, perhaps people using the "H" version don't have that problem.
    Hi,

    both are using the same firmware... so there should be no difference.

    Toengel@Alex

  8. #23
    Silver Member
    Points: 2,073, Level: 12
    Level completed: 75%, Points required for next Level: 77
    Overall activity: 2.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Skopje, Macedonia
    Posts
    90
    Points
    2,073
    Level
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    3
    Quote Originally Posted by youplaboom View Post

    You can once try to download a
    "Format profile : OpenDML // Format : MPEG-4 Visual" and give it a test.
    Please point me to a file with that format profile that I can download, and I will test it too - so we can compare with the manifestation on 40PFL6606H/12.

    All best.

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Similar Topics

  1. Replies: 6
    Last Post: 04-14-2012, 03:23 PM
  2. USB Disk recording is not working ?¿??
    By prof_moriarti in forum TV: USB-recording
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-12-2012, 08:14 AM
  3. 40PFL8605, Upgrade firmware with USB-stick not working
    By haan72 in forum TV: Software 2010 models
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 01-17-2012, 09:05 AM
  4. DVD menu not working on linux share (via DLNA)
    By davedj in forum TV: Streaming & Network
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 11-22-2011, 09:53 AM
  5. USB multimedia not working Videos on PFL7695H
    By Ledia in forum TV: Streaming & Network
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 06-15-2011, 05:42 PM

Tags for this Topic

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •