Results 1 to 7 of 7
  • Topic Tools
  • Display
  • Bookmark and Share
  1. #1
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,798, Level: 11
    Level completed: 83%, Points required for next Level: 52
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    16
    Points
    1,798
    Level
    11
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    Unhappy Firmware Update 32PFL9705H12

    I own this new TV a week. Due to problems with S-video I was advised by Philips to update my Firmware. I tried it wireless, the TV gave a message that softwate was up to date. On the Support section of my TV was an anouncement of new Firmware (32pfl9705h_12_fus_nld.zip Versie: 000.140.011.000, Zip-bestand, 70.11 MB, Publicatiedatum: 2010-10-05).

    I put it on an USB device and installation went flawless. Unfortunately, the widgets are gone.

    On this Forum I noticed there is an update for the 5000 series..... I am afraid that this update was installed...

    How can I reset my TV, or can Philips release a new one?

  2. #2
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,798, Level: 11
    Level completed: 83%, Points required for next Level: 52
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    16
    Points
    1,798
    Level
    11
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Contacted Philips Consumer Support: it IS the right Firmware update, the widgets have simply been removed.
    But now there might be another issue: PICTURE QUALITY.
    I have the feeling that after the update it is less than before. Especially Digital TV from UPC (Scart), but also DVD's from my BDP7500 (newest firmware 1.09, HDMI) and maybe even Blu-Ray disc's from the same device.

    I will wait t'ill nightfall and hope it is due to the sunlight

  3. #3
    Bronze Member
    Points: 2,068, Level: 12
    Level completed: 73%, Points required for next Level: 82
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    JuAn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    44
    Points
    2,068
    Level
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    You say, unfortunately the widgets are gone, but how can you regret something that didn't even function....?
    About these widgets: read this thread.

  4. #4
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,798, Level: 11
    Level completed: 83%, Points required for next Level: 52
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    16
    Points
    1,798
    Level
    11
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Well, I just have this TV, and did not know the widgets were not functioning. I just noticed they were gone, that's it.
    The picture quality is OK, must have been the daylight and me seeing things that weren't there.

    Just one thing left: S-video through scart-adapter: either my scart-adapter is broken or the TV doesn't support it.

    BTW: beautifull TV

  5. #5
    Silver Member
    Points: 1,912, Level: 12
    Level completed: 21%, Points required for next Level: 238
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    77
    Points
    1,912
    Level
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    There are scart adaptors with “video-out” and “video-in”. I suppose you have the “video-out” adaptor, you need the “video-in” adaptor. There are also adaptors with a switch (In-out)
    If you want to go for picture quality than use HDMI. The stuff you want to connect without digital connection is outdated.

  6. #6
    Silver Member
    Points: 2,664, Level: 14
    Level completed: 72%, Points required for next Level: 86
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!Veteran

    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    57
    Points
    2,664
    Level
    14
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    5
    there is simply no S-video support via scart.

  7. #7
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,798, Level: 11
    Level completed: 83%, Points required for next Level: 52
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    16
    Points
    1,798
    Level
    11
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    That is what Philips Customer Service told me, in the end. It's not a huge problem, but I asked them to seriously edit their manual.

    BTW: it is a "video in" adapter Corneel, b'cause composite video on the same adapter works fine

    And of course, HDMI is the best; but my kids (and my wife, haha) are better able to use the old player.

Tags for this Topic

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •