Results 1 to 5 of 5
  • Topic Tools
  • Display
  • Bookmark and Share

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    New Member
    Points: 368, Level: 4
    Level completed: 18%, Points required for next Level: 82
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registered250 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    3
    Points
    368
    Level
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    BDP5100 - No audio via coaxial port

    Hi, please help.

    I recently purchased a BDP5100/12 as secondary unit for my kitchen which was used on a (old) plasma TV, I upgraded the 5100 to 1.62 firmware and have used it to watch many Blu-Rays, DVD's, Video and Music over my LAN without any issues. I thought I would give it a go on my main setup and this is when I tried the audio into a AV AMP and found no audio was being detected out of the digital coax port on my AV AMP.

    I've tried several DVD's and several Blu-rays, I've change each of the audio options on the 5100 in turn to each setting and my A/V AMP (Pioneer VSX-515) doesn't detect any audio input. The AV amp works fine, I'm sure since I've used it with various other DVD players and media players (before and after using the 5100) using the digital audio input. Normally it detects automatically analogue or digital / dts / dolby d / etc. and I can manually change it.

    Any ideas why I am not getting audio output? I don't have a HDMI TV as I use slightly older professional plasma monitors with VGA/RGB input, I was doing to test the 5100 on my parents TV to check at least the audio worked through HDMI but I really want digital out on the coax port to work. The RCA Stereo out works fine. The digital coax port feels solid and not broken.

    Thanks,
    Alan

  2. #2
    Diamond Member
    Points: 4,685, Level: 20
    Level completed: 9%, Points required for next Level: 365
    Overall activity: 25.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Discussion Ender

    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    1,083
    Points
    4,685
    Level
    20
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    6
    yep, try with other player to see if the amp/ digital coax cable works fine or not.
    also for the audio setup, on "DIGITAL AUDIO", are you using auto mode already?

  3. #3
    New Member
    Points: 368, Level: 4
    Level completed: 18%, Points required for next Level: 82
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registered250 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    3
    Points
    368
    Level
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Thanks Kwinnie for your help. I tried a couple of cables already but can try a couple more. Since the connection is a RCA/Phone plug and the cables I'm using were previously used for composite video I assumed they worked.

    RE: Another AMP. I don't have one to test with. A friend might.

    RE: Audio Setup. The two main options were already set to AUTO and I changed them to bitstream, then PCM and back to AUTO.

    One point I have left out is that on the AMP i've only used DVD/media players with a fibre optic cable and not a RCA/Coax cable. I had made the assumption that if the digital in via fibre cable worked then the coax in should also work. I know I should never assume and so I will be looking for something else in my house with digital coax out to be sure the AMP works. I will post an udpate.

    Just for clarity, are we talking about S/PDIF? If so then I'm surprised the BDP 5100 doesn't have a TOSLINK/Fibre connector and has a coaxial connector instead.

  4. #4
    New Member
    Points: 368, Level: 4
    Level completed: 18%, Points required for next Level: 82
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registered250 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    3
    Points
    368
    Level
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Solved - After testing with another DVD player and still getting no sound I checked the AMP again. Turns out the coaxial ports where both disabled. No idea why or how. Enabled one and now I get DTS from the 5100. Thanks for your help.

  5. #5
    Bronze Member
    Points: 418, Level: 4
    Level completed: 68%, Points required for next Level: 32
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registered250 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    44
    Points
    418
    Level
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Wow. This is great. Thanks for sharing the solution for this problem.

Similar Topics

  1. Digital Coaxial Output on 9600
    By kvic in forum Blu-ray: BDP9000 Series
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 07-08-2012, 04:42 AM
  2. How to use Coaxial Audio Out (BDP3200)
    By saurabhagarwal_2000 in forum Blu-ray: BDP2000 & 3000 Series
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 06-13-2012, 04:42 AM
  3. BDP3200 Audio Delay between HDMI and Coaxial
    By Fidelio in forum Blu-ray: BDP2000 & 3000 Series
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-30-2012, 10:47 AM
  4. Port forwarding for NP3900
    By dgnoise in forum Sound: Streamium NP Series (NP3900|NP3700|NP3500|NP3300|NP2900)
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 01-25-2012, 06:54 PM
  5. port 49153
    By EnoSat in forum TV: Installation
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-01-2011, 08:48 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •