Page 11 of 12 FirstFirst ... 9101112 LastLast
Results 151 to 165 of 177
  • Topic Tools
  • Display
  • Bookmark and Share
  1. #151
    Bronze Member
    Points: 669, Level: 6
    Level completed: 60%, Points required for next Level: 81
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    14
    Points
    669
    Level
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by mduran View Post
    My TV started to reboot again with 0.14.99.0 Don't know if it is the 2 hour bug or randomly. Happens every night. Picture goes blank, ambilight turns off, ambilight turns on, and picture appears again. 52pfl9606. This is not acceptable! I complained about this a few months back.

    Other bugs, or is it features that no one will ever fix.
    I but any case you dont have energy saving active, by default it is, or maybe something like that see all options.

  2. #152
    Gold Member
    Points: 9,325, Level: 28
    Level completed: 96%, Points required for next Level: 25
    Overall activity: 25.0%
    Achievements:
    Tagger Second ClassNew Achievement!5000 Experience PointsVeteran
    bluevoice's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Amsterdam/Netherlands
    Posts
    363
    Points
    9,325
    Level
    28
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 17 Times in 9 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    Quote Originally Posted by mduran View Post
    My TV started to reboot again with 0.14.99.0 Don't know if it is the 2 hour bug or randomly. Happens every night. Picture goes blank, ambilight turns off, ambilight turns on, and picture appears again. 52pfl9606. This is not acceptable! I complained about this a few months back.

    Other bugs, or is it features that no one will ever fix.

    Local dimming works like sh..
    Artefacts in fast moving objects,
    Sharpness is always on.
    TV does not know how to auto-fill the screen when turned on, have to zap back and forth to HDMI2 and HDMI1 again.
    24P is not 24P but 3:2 pulldown.

    And so on and so on. I payed 2800 euro for this piece of s...
    Sence and simplicity???
    My Philips Cinema Platinum (58PFL9956H/12) also STILL reboots when used in combination with a Philips high-end HTS when Easylink is on. Reported this problem in October 2011, this issue is still under investigation.

    @mduran: do you use a HTS or a SoundBar too?

  3. #153
    Silver Member
    Points: 2,538, Level: 14
    Level completed: 30%, Points required for next Level: 212
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registeredTagger Second Class1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    zlatko's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Sofia/Bulgaria
    Posts
    152
    Points
    2,538
    Level
    14
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Rep Power
    3
    I have never experienced reboots with my 9606. Connected to WDTV Live and Technisat Satellite receiver via HDMI and via WiFi to my home router. Can it really be some external device causing this behavior?
    Anyway it is something that should not happen.

  4. #154
    Gold Member
    Points: 9,325, Level: 28
    Level completed: 96%, Points required for next Level: 25
    Overall activity: 25.0%
    Achievements:
    Tagger Second ClassNew Achievement!5000 Experience PointsVeteran
    bluevoice's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Amsterdam/Netherlands
    Posts
    363
    Points
    9,325
    Level
    28
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 17 Times in 9 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    Quote Originally Posted by zlatko View Post
    I have never experienced reboots with my 9606. Connected to WDTV Live and Technisat Satellite receiver via HDMI and via WiFi to my home router. Can it really be some external device causing this behavior?
    Anyway it is something that should not happen.
    In my case it's a device incompatibility between 2 high-end Philips products caused by Easylink, see also http://www.supportforum.philips.com/...50PFL7956H-12).

    The problem has finally been agnowledged (reproduced) by Philips and is under investigation. The issue exists on all 2011 Philips TV's.

    There's something in the (Easylink) communication between the HTS and the TV that causes a reboot of the TV. During the reboot the HDMI-CEC bus is cleared (most of the times) which is also a wrong behaviour. After the reboot the TV starts in a weird mode in which not all functions are loaded.
    Last edited by bluevoice; 09-04-2012 at 08:45 AM.

  5. #155
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,492, Level: 10
    Level completed: 72%, Points required for next Level: 58
    Overall activity: 6.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    35
    Points
    1,492
    Level
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Hi Bluevoice, besides of the HTS incompatibility and the preset screen ratio format problem, are other problems solved now? Did 14.99 bring a good functioning local dimming and are the blacks as deep as they should be and no flashes anymore? Would you call the HD image of the 9956 perfect now?

  6. #156
    Gold Member
    Points: 9,325, Level: 28
    Level completed: 96%, Points required for next Level: 25
    Overall activity: 25.0%
    Achievements:
    Tagger Second ClassNew Achievement!5000 Experience PointsVeteran
    bluevoice's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Amsterdam/Netherlands
    Posts
    363
    Points
    9,325
    Level
    28
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 17 Times in 9 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    Quote Originally Posted by Gerrit View Post
    Hi Bluevoice, besides of the HTS incompatibility and the preset screen ratio format problem, are other problems solved now? Did 14.99 bring a good functioning local dimming and are the blacks as deep as they should be and no flashes anymore? Would you call the HD image of the 9956 perfect now?
    @Gerrit: I never had flashes on my TV and the black is very deep with my settings (see a few posts earlier). The local dimming works fine as far as I'm concerned. I notice that the video source is also important, I only notice small local dimming glitches when the quality of the video is poor. When I play a Bluray for example, I can't notice any malfunction of the local dimming.

    The 14.99 solved the annoying PNM bug, one of the last issues on my list. The last one is the HTS incompatibility bug, if they solve that one, the product would be more or less perfect. The image is great and it functions as it should.

    I say more or less because I don't like how some functions were implemented in the 2011 line, especially the Dual-view screen (that works different than Phillips planned to make it eventually and also different than advertised). The Dual-view screen could have been a nice feature but I think Philips stopped development for this function halfway and it's really worthless like this. See also: http://www.supportforum.philips.com/...g-advertising)

    The second would be the possibility to record a TV broadcast without the use of internet. See also: http://www.supportforum.philips.com/...in-2011-series

    I'm affraid we'll never see this functions corrected as Philips focuses only on the 2012 line right now.

  7. #157
    Silver Member
    Points: 1,031, Level: 8
    Level completed: 41%, Points required for next Level: 119
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    50
    Points
    1,031
    Level
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    No I do not have a HTS, or soundbar. Just Dreambox DM8000 and WD TV Live Streaming. Happens on both devices...

  8. #158
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,492, Level: 10
    Level completed: 72%, Points required for next Level: 58
    Overall activity: 6.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    35
    Points
    1,492
    Level
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Bluevoice: clear, and thanks for the reply.

  9. #159
    Silver Member
    Points: 1,031, Level: 8
    Level completed: 41%, Points required for next Level: 119
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    50
    Points
    1,031
    Level
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    New problem appeared,

    I I go from volume 17 to, let's say 22, it takes 5 seconds, volume icon appears on screen 17, stays there, and goes real slow to 18, 19, 20, 21 and eventually 22. Then it takes another 2 or 3 seconds before it to dissapear. In the meantime the volume is already at 22 but showing me 17.

    Something must be wrong with the tv,

  10. #160
    Bronze Member
    Points: 996, Level: 8
    Level completed: 23%, Points required for next Level: 154
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!1 year registered

    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    France
    Posts
    13
    Points
    996
    Level
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    New problem ,

    Can't access to the service "SALTO" on HBBTV by click on the blue button .... Work very well to my friend who has a Samsung TV ...

    Want a nex firmware pleaaaaaaase !! and more french apps on the Net tv ...!!

  11. #161
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,797, Level: 11
    Level completed: 83%, Points required for next Level: 53
    Overall activity: 5.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!1 year registered1000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Norge
    Posts
    29
    Points
    1,797
    Level
    11
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    I just got back my 9706 from philips. Nopp! They said DSE is on every 9706 tv's and they are not fixing it or have any idea how to fix it right now. Why do you sell them philips?!

  12. #162
    Silver Member
    Points: 2,538, Level: 14
    Level completed: 30%, Points required for next Level: 212
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registeredTagger Second Class1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    zlatko's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Sofia/Bulgaria
    Posts
    152
    Points
    2,538
    Level
    14
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Rep Power
    3
    @kingzapp
    Such problems can happen, but it is bad that Philips didn't issue official statement that company is aware of DSE, but on most screens it is within specs and no change will be made. This silence leaves a bad taste in every 9 series owner, and these are premium model buyers. They will think twice choosing Philips again. Too bad only Philips can produce Ambilight models. So I will have to live with DSE in my 52PFL9606 until OLEDs start to more affordable and widely spread.

  13. #163
    New Member
    Points: 536, Level: 5
    Level completed: 86%, Points required for next Level: 14
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registeredTagger Second Class500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    3
    Points
    536
    Level
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    I find backlight scanning is better and black levels have improved on my tv.

    There are 2 remaining issues here. Firstly, the tv image still flashes.

    Update: White flash also occurs during tv-watching, internal coax cam, not only hdmi inputs.

    I am sure this is related to the internal processing of the tv.

    Secondly, the dual viewer is useless, as one can clearly see both sides, when gaming, so I have my friends image as my background. This must be possible to fix! Just separate the images properly in the processing! Philips-Thomas please alert your technicians.
    Last edited by Lighthouse; 09-13-2012 at 03:09 PM. Reason: Updated observation

  14. #164
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,141, Level: 8
    Level completed: 96%, Points required for next Level: 9
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!1 year registered1000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    38
    Points
    1,141
    Level
    8
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Dear support/FW developers.

    I have a theory regarding why the local dimming is still not working perfectly.

    In some movies/series the production has used a sort of filter in the picture. I guess it is to make it "more cinematic". If you look at movies such as "The Grey" go to a scene where there is daylight and lots of white snow. You will notice in the picture that there are plenty of "black dots" even though the picture is white. Those "dots" are moving around too. So i guess using such a filter places a lot of information in the picture for the TV processor to process.

    When there are dark scenes in this movie I would think that "black dot filter" is still on top of the darkness making it even more difficult to process accurate local dimming. My guess is that these dots or other movie filters causes the tv to struggle with the local dimming in some scenes.

    I have seen that the movie "Casino Royale" also have this "black dots"-filter in it which is the other movie I see local dimming errors.

    Could you guys at Philips try to replicate these findings in your lab? Maybe this could be a way to look further into these issues and how to cope with them?


    Espen
    Last edited by Espen000; 09-13-2012 at 08:10 AM.

  15. #165
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,546, Level: 10
    Level completed: 98%, Points required for next Level: 4
    Overall activity: 3.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!1 year registered1000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    27
    Points
    1,546
    Level
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Yep, there are some behavioural issues still to fix. In my 58PFL9956 there are flashes, sometimes the CEC operation from TV remote doesn't work with BDP7600 (warm reboot helps) and there are annoying local dimming issues. For example in "Pacific" series in dimly lit cantine scenes the backgroud areas changes unevenly brightness continuously in larger areas as some bright spot in the picture ie. there's kind of general level dimming as well - which actually has led difficulties in dark scenes with subtitles....

Page 11 of 12 FirstFirst ... 9101112 LastLast

Similar Topics

  1. Replies: 120
    Last Post: 04-19-2012, 05:00 PM
  2. Your experiences with FW v0.14.95.0 for 8000, 9000 and 21:9 series (2011 models)
    By Philips - Thomas in forum TV: Software 2011 models
    Replies: 141
    Last Post: 03-05-2012, 06:33 AM
  3. Replies: 145
    Last Post: 02-01-2012, 09:22 AM
  4. Replies: 79
    Last Post: 12-22-2011, 06:18 AM
  5. Replies: 155
    Last Post: 12-14-2011, 01:00 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •