Page 9 of 12 FirstFirst ... 7891011 ... LastLast
Results 121 to 135 of 177
  • Topic Tools
  • Display
  • Bookmark and Share
  1. #121
    Diamond Member
    Points: 50,595, Level: 69
    Level completed: 61%, Points required for next Level: 555
    Overall activity: 100.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    5,987
    Points
    50,595
    Level
    69
    Thanks
    150
    Thanked 171 Times in 153 Posts
    Rep Power
    9
    Hi,

    in the old ZIP archive the PDF file was corrupt - now it has been fixed. Firmware wasn't changed.

    Toengel@Alex

  2. #122
    Gold Member
    Points: 6,624, Level: 24
    Level completed: 15%, Points required for next Level: 426
    Overall activity: 21.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registeredTagger Second ClassNew Achievement!5000 Experience Points
    bluevoice's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Amsterdam/Netherlands
    Posts
    361
    Points
    6,624
    Level
    24
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 17 Times in 9 Posts
    Rep Power
    3
    Quote Originally Posted by zlatko View Post
    @bluevoice
    Same for my 9606 - expected as they share same SW image with 9956. It will be good if somebody from Philips pours some light on this. I am at work now, otherwise I would have tried if updating will work.
    Updating should always work if you do it from the local updates option, I wonder if the TV would recognize the new file automaticly and start the upgrading process.

    It would be interesting to know if the new autorun.upg file is different from the one uploaded on 17 July. The "new" file has creation date: ‎11 ‎juli ‎2012, ‏‎16:53:12.

  3. #123
    Silver Member
    Points: 2,538, Level: 14
    Level completed: 30%, Points required for next Level: 212
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registeredTagger Second Class1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    zlatko's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Sofia/Bulgaria
    Posts
    152
    Points
    2,538
    Level
    14
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Rep Power
    3
    @bluevoice
    As Toengel explained above - only .pdf file was replaced in the .zip archive. No changes in SW image.

  4. #124
    Gold Member
    Points: 6,624, Level: 24
    Level completed: 15%, Points required for next Level: 426
    Overall activity: 21.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registeredTagger Second ClassNew Achievement!5000 Experience Points
    bluevoice's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Amsterdam/Netherlands
    Posts
    361
    Points
    6,624
    Level
    24
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 17 Times in 9 Posts
    Rep Power
    3
    Quote Originally Posted by Toengel View Post
    Hi,

    in the old ZIP archive the PDF file was corrupt - now it has been fixed. Firmware wasn't changed.

    Toengel@Alex
    Thanks! One more question Alex, how or where can you read the generation date of the software you always mention on your blog?

    Q5553-0.14.99.0_bld78a Generation date: 11/07/2012 00:20:27

    Quote Originally Posted by zlatko View Post
    @bluevoice
    As Toengel explained above - only .pdf file was replaced in the .zip archive. No changes in SW image.
    False alarm then, I'm secretly still hoping that the Easylink reboot issue with high end Philips HTS devices will get solved one day...

  5. #125
    Gold Member
    Points: 6,624, Level: 24
    Level completed: 15%, Points required for next Level: 426
    Overall activity: 21.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registeredTagger Second ClassNew Achievement!5000 Experience Points
    bluevoice's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Amsterdam/Netherlands
    Posts
    361
    Points
    6,624
    Level
    24
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 17 Times in 9 Posts
    Rep Power
    3
    Quote Originally Posted by inthehouse View Post
    Hi,


    I posted the settings have been calibrated by myself @ D65 Rec709

    DT-94 colorimeter, AVS HD 709 - Blu-ray, Panasonic DMP-BDT110 @HDMI 1080p

    Link settings: http://www.supportforum.philips.com/...ll=1#post36995.

    Kolorimeter DT-94, AVS HD 709 - Blu-ray, Panasonic DMP-BDT110 @HDMI @1080p

    Here, the measurement protocols for example for isf night...




    Black is black with Firmware 14.99 @my 21:9 platinum.


    regards

    Google translation
    @ intothehouse: I have a question on a personal, more or less taste matter.

    I also had my 58PFL9958H/12 ISF calibrated and the settings are more or less the same as yours. However I'm a little troubled because in the computer I see those perfect curves and all seems to be perfect but in my eyes the colors do not look right. When I look at the screen the white is not white but rather yellowish. And white should be white after calibration, right? There's an overall warm tint I personally don't like.

    So I calibrated the tv using my eyes and some Blurays and these are my own settings this moment and the white is white and I personally like the colors better this way.

    Backlight contrast: 80
    Brightness: 46
    Color: 50
    Sharpness: 2
    Noise reduction: off
    Tint: Custom
    Custom tint: 50, 43, 46, 0, 0, 0
    Pixel Perfect HD:
    PNM: Off
    Clear LCD: On
    Super resolution: Off
    Perfect contrast: Medium
    Dynamic backlight: Standard
    MPEG artifact reduction: Off
    Colour enhancement: Off
    Gamma: -2
    Video contrast: 85
    Light sensor: On
    Screen edges: 0

    I wonder if anyone has the same tint settings, or could try my tint settings and tell me about the results in color quality. Your reply would be kindly appreciated.

  6. #126
    Bronze Member
    Points: 842, Level: 7
    Level completed: 46%, Points required for next Level: 108
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    18
    Points
    842
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Hi bluevoice,

    a calibrated D65 image looks a little warmer in the primal moment from the first moment, because it was used well / is too cool image (too blue) with the
    Presets Normal, look, etc.

    The estimation of white is especially difficult. One tends rapidly to white as possible "to turn pale." At 6500K white does right, but not glaring and pale, but rather warm, like an eggshell. Remember: White is in the video presentation of the midday sun in its corresponding color.

    Please see the pictures

    "Normal"


    "D-65"


    The D65 image is standard, and measurements correctly.

    Proper D-65 calibration with the "eyes" is not possible, and the personal taste again, but not the norm. This can only be measured with technical equipment.

    But it does not please everyone (D-65), please dont forget this point.

    regards
    Goggle translation
    Last edited by inthehouse; 08-14-2012 at 08:00 AM.

  7. #127
    Gold Member
    Points: 6,624, Level: 24
    Level completed: 15%, Points required for next Level: 426
    Overall activity: 21.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registeredTagger Second ClassNew Achievement!5000 Experience Points
    bluevoice's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Amsterdam/Netherlands
    Posts
    361
    Points
    6,624
    Level
    24
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 17 Times in 9 Posts
    Rep Power
    3
    Quote Originally Posted by inthehouse View Post
    Hi bluevoice,

    a calibrated D65 image looks a little warmer in the primal moment from the first moment, because it was used well / is too cool image (too blue) with the
    Presets Normal, look, etc.

    Please see the pictures

    "Normal"


    "D-65"


    The D65 image is standard, and measurements correctly.

    But it does not please everyone, please dont forget this point.

    regards
    Goggle translation
    Hi @inthehouse. Thank you! Your example shows exactly what I mean and what I'm seeing.

    I know this is a matter of personal taste and for me the "normal" image looks better because from my point of view the colors are closer to what you see in real life. But maybe I'm used to a much bluer, cooler image.

  8. #128
    Silver Member
    Points: 1,732, Level: 11
    Level completed: 61%, Points required for next Level: 118
    Overall activity: 21.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsOverdriveNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Rotterdam
    Posts
    73
    Points
    1,732
    Level
    11
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    0
    hey guys,

    is there any news about the new range tv from philips.
    saw some photo's from the 46PFL9707, is this true?
    if yes, when they release this new models?

    stef

  9. #129
    Diamond Member
    Points: 50,595, Level: 69
    Level completed: 61%, Points required for next Level: 555
    Overall activity: 100.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    5,987
    Points
    50,595
    Level
    69
    Thanks
    150
    Thanked 171 Times in 153 Posts
    Rep Power
    9
    Hi,

    I think 9000 series will be announced at the IFA in Berlin end of August. The other 2012 series are already available. You can find much information in my blog: 58PFL9955.wordpress.com (see right column).

    Toengel@Alex

  10. #130
    Silver Member
    Points: 1,031, Level: 8
    Level completed: 41%, Points required for next Level: 119
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    50
    Points
    1,031
    Level
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    3
    What I noticed don't know if previous firmware had this issue also.

    Problem description:

    If I enable PNM and Clear LCD and watching a HD channel the following occurs: If the scene changes and the first few frames are panning shots or so. The first seconds of this scene are dropped or there is a judder visible, after that the screen turns normal. It looks like PNM needs a second or 2 to see there is movement and starts to work after. So watching a movie with a lot of scene changes are unwatchable because of this.

    Problem2:

    The autofill and autozoom functions are not working until you change input from HDMI2 to HDMI1 again. After this it works again.

  11. #131
    Gold Member
    Points: 6,624, Level: 24
    Level completed: 15%, Points required for next Level: 426
    Overall activity: 21.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registeredTagger Second ClassNew Achievement!5000 Experience Points
    bluevoice's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Amsterdam/Netherlands
    Posts
    361
    Points
    6,624
    Level
    24
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 17 Times in 9 Posts
    Rep Power
    3
    Quote Originally Posted by mduran View Post
    What I noticed don't know if previous firmware had this issue also.

    Problem2:

    The autofill and autozoom functions are not working until you change input from HDMI2 to HDMI1 again. After this it works again.
    Quote Originally Posted by bluevoice View Post
    Hi all,

    First of all, Philips, thanks for solving the PNM bug. This was one of the most annoying bugs on my TV. It took you just 8 months to solve it, but you did it!

    With the 14.99 software I still notice 2 major issues:

    1) TV reboots cased by Philips HTS incompatibility when using Easylink, documented 10 month ago in: http://www.supportforum.philips.com/...956H-12)/page4. Philips's high end products are still incompatible with each other.
    2) TV does not remember preset screen ratio format for a certain profile. You will notice that the screen format changes when you go to different menu items on a Philips HTS. Mostly it will go to the top most option called "Auto-fill". The preset screen ratio should be consistent on every input source (i.e. HDMI1).
    More or less the same as my problem #2 in my previous post: #113

  12. #132
    Bronze Member
    Points: 657, Level: 6
    Level completed: 54%, Points required for next Level: 93
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registeredTagger Second Class500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    istanbul
    Posts
    25
    Points
    657
    Level
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Second this comment.

    For example hair color of the lady in the bottom left picture seems brown in "D-65" but it's black in "Normal" which seems true.


    Quote Originally Posted by bluevoice View Post
    Hi @inthehouse. Thank you! Your example shows exactly what I mean and what I'm seeing.

    I know this is a matter of personal taste and for me the "normal" image looks better because from my point of view the colors are closer to what you see in real life. But maybe I'm used to a much bluer, cooler image.

  13. #133
    Bronze Member
    Points: 669, Level: 6
    Level completed: 60%, Points required for next Level: 81
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    14
    Points
    669
    Level
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Hi i notice a strange situation, i in Portugal and i have a channel that is off emission now (RTP Olimpicos HD) , and have an still image, with a golden cup, and i notice that PHILIPS 40pfl8606 is always calculating, getting blur and then sharp, this should not happen whith a still image. Another thing when the emission is 4:3 we get the black bars and when i change channels with my satellite box, that have a bottom bar in grey, the grey is not constante in the side ends, the grey is more white i can say is with, both sides left and right, the grey bar have diferente tones and should be equal all around, the i pay more atencion and even in 16:9 source have the same problem in the side ends the colors tend to white. Get back wiht the still imagem like fotos, when the image is displayed, there should be now more calculations, the pixels are the same there is now change. I dont now how this works but the pixels are not controled independently, on or off,why are this problems, no change no light, its better to remove this lightening in the side ends is anoying, or rework then decrease intensity is not constant, you even test to turn the tv wiht no source on, just black screen and see that the black is not the same around the display.

  14. #134
    Bronze Member
    Points: 551, Level: 6
    Level completed: 1%, Points required for next Level: 199
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Oslo/Norway
    Posts
    17
    Points
    551
    Level
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Toengel View Post
    Hi,

    my experience of two week 14:99
    • (already posted) local dimming problem in black bars
    • (already posted) no HbbTV on German ZDF channels
    • (already posted) missing images in NetTV (e.g. Spiegel App and Recommondations Panel)
    • (new observed) IP-EPG detail pages are empty (black)
    • (new observed) TV switched off after 2 hours
    • (new observed) TV was on in the morning, but display was off


    Lot thinks to do...

    Toengel@Alex
    I see you have got the 2 hour bug also. I have the 46PFL9706T/12 and have experienced the bug with all recent firmwares. Now running the 14.99. I have a friend with the same TV and he have the same bug, which I have named the 2 hour bug as the TV switches off without any message after 2 hours (to the minute). All this after a long standby period. When using the power switch on the side the problem seem to go away (my friend have a different opinion). Anyway the standby mode is useless with this bug. Is Philips addressing this???

  15. #135
    Bronze Member
    Points: 819, Level: 7
    Level completed: 35%, Points required for next Level: 131
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!1 year registered

    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    bethlehem/israel
    Posts
    13
    Points
    819
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    what happens if i didn't do a cold reboot, as i updated the tv without reading the article, is it wrong?
    do i need to do something?

Page 9 of 12 FirstFirst ... 7891011 ... LastLast

Similar Topics

  1. Replies: 120
    Last Post: 04-19-2012, 05:00 PM
  2. Your experiences with FW v0.14.95.0 for 8000, 9000 and 21:9 series (2011 models)
    By Philips - Thomas in forum TV: Software 2011 models
    Replies: 141
    Last Post: 03-05-2012, 06:33 AM
  3. Replies: 145
    Last Post: 02-01-2012, 09:22 AM
  4. Replies: 79
    Last Post: 12-22-2011, 06:18 AM
  5. Replies: 155
    Last Post: 12-14-2011, 01:00 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •