Results 1 to 3 of 3
  • Topic Tools
  • Display
  • Bookmark and Share
  1. #1
    Silver Member
    Points: 2,368, Level: 13
    Level completed: 73%, Points required for next Level: 82
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registeredTagger Second Class1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    32PFL7606K FW Q5551-0.14.93.0_bld11a
    Posts
    188
    Points
    2,368
    Level
    13
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    4

    Wifi Media Connect: Sound distortion and only mono

    I have a "quality" issue with WiFi Media Connect.

    There is a harmonic distortion on the sound channel, which sounds a little like there is a low-quality sample rate conversion happening somewhere. It sounds like "in a metal tube", quite hollow and high frequencies are distorted.
    Also, the sound is only mono (there is no difference between right and left).

    I tried sound sources at different sampling rates (32k, 44k1 and 48k), but the signal was always slightly distored, for all three sampling rates. Also tried different bitrate/quality settings in WifiMediaconnect, but this didn't change audio quality.
    I use the TV internal speakers, no external audio output.

    You can reproduce this by opening the properties of Sound->Playback->Loudspeaker "WFMCVAD".
    On the "Extended" tab, play the soundtest.

    Can someone please test this and check the sound quality and the stereo/mono issue?

  2. #2
    Moderator
    Points: 963, Level: 8
    Level completed: 7%, Points required for next Level: 187
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Philips - Marco's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    101
    Points
    963
    Level
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Hi Matthias,

    Can you please install the latest software available from http://www.wifimediaconnect.philips.com/

    Also make sure that your pc meets the minimum requirements and check the setting in your switch/router.

    Regards,
    Marco
    Forum Mod

  3. #3
    Silver Member
    Points: 2,368, Level: 13
    Level completed: 73%, Points required for next Level: 82
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registeredTagger Second Class1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    32PFL7606K FW Q5551-0.14.93.0_bld11a
    Posts
    188
    Points
    2,368
    Level
    13
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    4
    Hi Marco,

    thanks for your help. Unfortunately, I'm still getting harmonic distortions on the sound.

    The version I'm using is already the latest version (v1.06.43), and I also did another reinstall, but unfortunately without improvement.
    My PC meets the minimum requirements (it's a 2.4 GHz CPU), the router settings are also OK.
    I'm also not getting any interruptions or stucking images, so that's fine.

    I also tried playing at different samplerates (11k, 22.5k, 44.1k, 48k), but the distortion remains.
    Also, reducing the volume didn't change anything (it just got more quiet on the TV).

    Here's a sound sample how that distortion sounds like (first original, then distorted).

    Am I the only one or can someone reproduce this?
    The distortion is best heard at clear sounds with high frequency components, such as a bell.

    Thanks!
    Matthias

Similar Topics

  1. Unable to connect Wifi Media Connect onto PC
    By springchua in forum TV: Streaming & Network
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 07-13-2012, 07:51 PM
  2. Wifi Media Connect: Wrong sound source
    By matthias in forum TV: Streaming & Network
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 06-23-2012, 02:58 PM
  3. WIFI Media Connect Help
    By csaenz1987 in forum TV: Streaming & Network
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 11-22-2011, 10:47 AM
  4. WiFi Media Connect : Does not Connect Wirelessly
    By ppetkov in forum TV: Streaming & Network
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 07-19-2011, 12:12 PM
  5. WiFi media connect possible?
    By skhurdi in forum TV: Streaming & Network
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-20-2010, 08:03 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •