Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    New Member
    Points: 1,579, Level: 11
    Level completed: 10%, Points required for next Level: 271
    Overall activity: 14.0%
    Achievements:
    Tagger Second ClassNew Achievement!1 year registered1000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Norrtalje/Sweden
    Posts
    4
    Points
    1,579
    Level
    11
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    Arrow Smart TV: Get free channels as Net TV from Thailand

    Hi,

    I have recently bought a BDP7700 and installed it. It works fine via my WLAN and 802.11n (max 130 Mbps) seems to be sufficient for receiving Net TV.

    Now I want to extend the available scope of channels available to free thai TV channels over the Internet. But I lack functionality.

    One problem could be insufficient network transmission speed from Thailand - I use an 100 Mbps fibre cable for the Internet and gets regularly around effectively 50 Mbps noticed by the Speedtest Net (http://speedtest.net), lower with Bangkok (DTAC as remote server). I get around 2,5-3 Mbps downstream and 0,3-0,5 Mbps upstream. It should be sufficient for Net TV from most thai sites (I can see some of the sendings on my computer).

    It should be possible to receive even via the BDP7700 WLAN network interface and i can run Youtube and other apps via the Smart TV interface. I can run the Internet interface included with Smart TV and locate the free thai channels offerings on the following excellent web pages:

    http://wwitv.com/television/204.htm
    http://thaitvnow.com

    The sendings can be viewed in fullscreen like the Microsoft Media Player. However, I must start receiving by clicking a "play" icon on the page shown from thai TV vendors. This "play" icon is not visible via the Smart TV Internet interface nor clickable. I make this detailed description so nobody should need to be in doubt about what I intend to do.

    So I wonder whether there is a way to solve this matter to have a fully working thai TV environment here with my BDP7700? Has someone done the same thing I try to do? Does this require the programming and setup of separate apps for every channel - there are small differences between the layout of interface between different vendors of free thai TV channels over the Internet.

    Can someone bring me knowledges and details about how to enable a fully working environment for this task?

    I hope for positive comments to get this mission successfully completed!

    Kind regards,

    Axel

  2. #2
    New Member
    Points: 324, Level: 3
    Level completed: 74%, Points required for next Level: 26
    Overall activity: 99.0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registeredOverdrive250 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    4
    Points
    324
    Level
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    0
    First thing you should do is to contact Philips about it and tell them your concern. In case it is not yet possible, there would be a chance that they will consider it in the future.

  3. The Following User Says Thank You to mydearcosmo For This Useful Post:

    Axel (07-12-2014)

  4. #3
    New Member
    Points: 1,579, Level: 11
    Level completed: 10%, Points required for next Level: 271
    Overall activity: 14.0%
    Achievements:
    Tagger Second ClassNew Achievement!1 year registered1000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Norrtalje/Sweden
    Posts
    4
    Points
    1,579
    Level
    11
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Mydearcosmo,

    It's a good proposal! I'll contact the Philips support promptly!

    Thanks!

  5. #4
    New Member
    Points: 1,579, Level: 11
    Level completed: 10%, Points required for next Level: 271
    Overall activity: 14.0%
    Achievements:
    Tagger Second ClassNew Achievement!1 year registered1000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Norrtalje/Sweden
    Posts
    4
    Points
    1,579
    Level
    11
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    One workaround would be to use a computer with WLAN and HDMI possibility to display on TV screen (HD output). And use wireless mouse/keyboard (2,4 Ghz) as control devices. But hopefully it can be included with the BD player in some way in future, let's see what happens.

  6. #5
    New Member
    Points: 50, Level: 1
    Level completed: 33%, Points required for next Level: 100
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!

    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    sibiu, romania
    Posts
    1
    Points
    50
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    You may also try on http://tvlive32.com. Technical information on various TV channels is also available.

  7. #6
    New Member
    Points: 1,579, Level: 11
    Level completed: 10%, Points required for next Level: 271
    Overall activity: 14.0%
    Achievements:
    Tagger Second ClassNew Achievement!1 year registered1000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Norrtalje/Sweden
    Posts
    4
    Points
    1,579
    Level
    11
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by mydearcosmo View Post
    First thing you should do is to contact Philips about it and tell them your concern. In case it is not yet possible, there would be a chance that they will consider it in the future.
    OK, I have now upgraded to the new Philips BDP7750!

    Not completely investigating it, but I can see that the remark regarding using a wireless keyboard and mouse has been enabled although not included with the packade. It must be installed as an extra equipment on the end user's behalf but this is not a problem - I'll do! I have tried to navigate using the remote control but the possibility to use wireless keyboard and mouse via USB port and a wireless piin is apperciated!

    Thanks to the Philips company to implement this.

    And I am looking forward to share experiences with more advanced users and others here regarding the improved Internet applications functionality too!

    Axel

Similar Topics

  1. Problems since moving to Thailand
    By ptudor in forum Smart TV: Installation
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 06-29-2012, 08:34 AM
  2. Smart TV
    By Philips in forum TV Forum
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 01-21-2012, 11:38 AM
  3. 37PFL9603D/10 digital reception - Italy HD free channels
    By Fabrizio in forum TV: Software 2009 models (and older)
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-03-2012, 06:30 AM
  4. Smart tv I can use?
    By jselu in forum Smart TV: Model Numbers
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 06-11-2011, 01:49 PM
  5. Philips Blu-ray 2011: 3D, Smart TV and YouTube for TV
    By Philips in forum Blu-ray: News
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-11-2011, 07:42 AM

Tags for this Topic

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •