Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 27
  1. #1
    New Member
    Points: 2,378, Level: 13
    Level completed: 76%, Points required for next Level: 72
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    7
    Points
    2,378
    Level
    13
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    DailyMotion does not work...

    Several days I tried the service DailyMotion. After starting up the loading of the page nothing happened when the loadingmarker was full. Does this work at all models?

  2. #2
    Moderator
    Points: 77,712, Level: 86
    Level completed: 65%, Points required for next Level: 638
    Overall activity: 26.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation First ClassTagger First Class50000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!Veteran
    Philips's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    810
    Points
    77,712
    Level
    86
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 15 Times in 13 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Thanks for reporting. We will look into it asap.
    What is your TV model number?
    Forum Mod

  3. #3
    New Member
    Points: 2,378, Level: 13
    Level completed: 76%, Points required for next Level: 72
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    7
    Points
    2,378
    Level
    13
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Philips View Post
    What is your TV model number?
    I have a 9704H/12

  4. #4
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,784, Level: 11
    Level completed: 78%, Points required for next Level: 66
    Overall activity: 3.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    29
    Points
    1,784
    Level
    11
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by lkwester View Post
    I have a 9704H/12
    Same issue on 40PFL7605H/12 with Q5551_0.140.23.0

  5. #5
    New Member
    Points: 1,553, Level: 11
    Level completed: 1%, Points required for next Level: 297
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Razorblade's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    1
    Points
    1,553
    Level
    11
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    I have the same problem.

    -----
    32PFL7605H (0.140.23)

  6. #6
    New Member
    Points: 1,619, Level: 11
    Level completed: 23%, Points required for next Level: 231
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    degsie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    7
    Points
    1,619
    Level
    11
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Same here... The progress bar goes to 100% on startup and then just sits there....

    TV model 40PFL7605H

  7. #7
    Moderator
    Points: 77,712, Level: 86
    Level completed: 65%, Points required for next Level: 638
    Overall activity: 26.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation First ClassTagger First Class50000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!Veteran
    Philips's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    810
    Points
    77,712
    Level
    86
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 15 Times in 13 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Quote Originally Posted by lkwester View Post
    Several days I tried the service DailyMotion. After starting up the loading of the page nothing happened when the loadingmarker was full. Does this work at all models?
    DailyMotion is fixed.
    Forum Mod

  8. #8
    New Member
    Points: 1,500, Level: 10
    Level completed: 75%, Points required for next Level: 50
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    3
    Points
    1,500
    Level
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    I have a 32PFL7605H/12 and this is a same problem. Dailymotion fix everytimes. ¿What are the problem? In Spain we have a limited services, and this channel don't work verywell.

  9. #9
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,728, Level: 11
    Level completed: 60%, Points required for next Level: 122
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    16
    Points
    1,728
    Level
    11
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    I have the same problem -- The progress bar goes to 100% on startup and then just sits there....--
    my suggestion.. it is depends on traffic to dailymotion, because in the mornig it sometimes work.!

    my NEXT problem :-( is: 3 days ago ARTE +7 does not work only I can start ARTE +7 but when I selekt a Program the window starts but it stop a view seconds later and shows error
    but the channel -ARTE LIVE WEB- still works. Philips Support pleas help

    Now i trying several videos to play and i note some videos play but the most does not work

    my tv: 37PFL8694H Philips germany
    Last edited by recall; 12-07-2010 at 06:55 PM.

  10. #10
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,728, Level: 11
    Level completed: 60%, Points required for next Level: 122
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    16
    Points
    1,728
    Level
    11
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    ARTE+7 does not work

    Today not a single video runs
    the error described above.....

    philips you have a hint or idea?????

  11. #11
    New Member
    Points: 1,583, Level: 11
    Level completed: 11%, Points required for next Level: 267
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Renkum, Netherlands
    Posts
    8
    Points
    1,583
    Level
    11
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    Again Dailymotion stops

    Quote Originally Posted by Philips View Post
    DailyMotion is fixed.
    My tv 32pfl7605.
    Same error occurs again yesterday (15 dec 2010)

  12. #12
    New Member
    Points: 1,466, Level: 10
    Level completed: 58%, Points required for next Level: 84
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    3
    Points
    1,466
    Level
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Same here, 32PFL7605.
    Valid as of 24 Dec 2010. NOTHING has been fixed for a month at least. Please mark this item as critical, urgent or something. The only 'video' thing available in Russia and worth taking a look at is Dailymotion.
    Thanks.

  13. #13
    New Member
    Points: 1,500, Level: 10
    Level completed: 75%, Points required for next Level: 50
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    3
    Points
    1,500
    Level
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    We want a good acces to dailymotion. When Philips solve the problem?

  14. #14
    Diamond Member
    Points: 51,439, Level: 70
    Level completed: 21%, Points required for next Level: 1,111
    Overall activity: 67.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    6,036
    Points
    51,439
    Level
    70
    Thanks
    156
    Thanked 174 Times in 155 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Hi,

    I think, this is a problem of DailyMotion since they provide the content app. Philips does provide only a surface with a link to the DM-APP...

    Toengel@Alex

  15. #15
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,728, Level: 11
    Level completed: 60%, Points required for next Level: 122
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    16
    Points
    1,728
    Level
    11
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    I again....
    philips, why are services available if they do not work?! it's just annoying ...., with dailymotion
    the probelms is now at least for 20 days.
    Last edited by recall; 12-27-2010 at 02:49 PM.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •