Results 1 to 4 of 4
  • Topic Tools
  • Display
  • Bookmark and Share
  1. #1
    New Member
    Points: 339, Level: 3
    Level completed: 89%, Points required for next Level: 11
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registered250 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    uk
    Posts
    5
    Points
    339
    Level
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    Exclamation SA3CNT skype audio too fast

    I have a SA3CNT.
    Build GGC3.01.06.10 (Latest firmware)
    I have set up Skype V2.8.0.920 and can make calls.

    However, I am finding that the audio from the SA3CNT is corrupted.
    If I place a call to the Echo sound test, then I can record a call, but when it plays back, the audio is running about twice the correct speed.
    If I place a call to a live contact, then they hear the audio at the correct speed, but with regular drop outs in the audio.

    If I enable the Technical details in the Skype call screen, then the statistics show that the CPU is about 55% loaded, and that the Transmitted UDP packet count runs at about half the Received UDP packet count.

    It appears that the SA3CNT is only sending half the audio packets required for the sample rate, resulting in about 50% loss of the outbound audio.

    Is anyone else experiencing this problem?

    I have no other applications installed and nothing else is running at the time.

    The device is unmodified, only did an update to latest firmware, from within the SA3CNT, not via Songbird.

    I have no problems with my network, as I have 2 laptops and an Android tablet, all able to make Skype calls with no issues.

    The other audio applications appear to work fine, but probably use a different codec to record from the microphone.

    The problem is no different if using the speaker or headphones.

  2. #2
    New Member
    Points: 339, Level: 3
    Level completed: 89%, Points required for next Level: 11
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registered250 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    uk
    Posts
    5
    Points
    339
    Level
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    So 41 views but no replies.

    Has anyone used an SA3CNT for Skype calls?

    Anyone from Philips able to comment, as the device is allegedly Skype certified, and claims to support Skype, but my device certainly is not usable.

    Anyone with a SA3CNT that would like to try a call to the TEST CALL contact and see if their audio is equally fast?

  3. #3
    New Member
    Points: 339, Level: 3
    Level completed: 89%, Points required for next Level: 11
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registered250 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    uk
    Posts
    5
    Points
    339
    Level
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    So does anyone actually have/use an SA3CNT (Go Gear Connect 3)?

  4. #4
    New Member
    Points: 339, Level: 3
    Level completed: 89%, Points required for next Level: 11
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registered250 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    uk
    Posts
    5
    Points
    339
    Level
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Just got a reply from Philips:

    Quote Originally Posted by Philips - QK
    Dear Gregadlam,

    Sorry to hear your issue with Skype. Checking this internally, it is a hardware limitation to support audio duplex function which is used by Skype. As this is a hardware limitation, we cannot solve it via software. Please contact your local support to see what possibilities are for your issue - usually if you are in warranty, you may have a full refund. However, this varies from country to country.

    Sorry for inconvenience caused.

    Kind regards,
    Philips Moderation Team

    This is somewhat disappointing, as your literature specifically state that SKYPE is a partner, and that SKYPE is supported.

    Also the SA3CNT is indicated as being a certified device when downloading/installing SKYPE.

    How can this be if the hardware is not capable of full duplex?

Similar Topics

  1. 46PFL8606 and Skype : how to ?
    By Francois in forum TV: Other
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 07-18-2012, 05:26 PM
  2. 32PFL5007H and skype
    By tkloizos in forum TV: Other
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-18-2012, 05:30 AM
  3. SA3CNT 16K/37 Music Playing Issues
    By GGG_2012 in forum Sound: GoGear SA3-series (2011)
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-23-2012, 09:46 AM
  4. Feature Request: Fast Forward + Fast Rewind + Go to Time
    By AndresG in forum TV: User Interface
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-15-2011, 05:03 PM
  5. ZDF Mediathek fast forward and fast backward bug
    By smart in forum Smart TV: Apps
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 02-25-2011, 02:08 PM

Tags for this Topic

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •