Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 16 to 30 of 49
  • Topic Tools
  • Display
  • Bookmark and Share
  1. #16
    Silver Member
    Points: 1,401, Level: 10
    Level completed: 26%, Points required for next Level: 149
    Overall activity: 36.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    242
    Points
    1,401
    Level
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    Rep Power
    3
    Well I used to have this product end 2007 till 2010... For me it looks like the product is to old already for any further support...its over 5 years now

  2. #17
    Platinum Member
    Points: 2,996, Level: 15
    Level completed: 82%, Points required for next Level: 54
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsOverdriveNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Discussion Ender
    Oscar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    722
    Points
    2,996
    Level
    15
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    @ericcsz, What was the outcome of your repair?

  3. #18
    New Member
    Points: 275, Level: 3
    Level completed: 25%, Points required for next Level: 75
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registered250 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    6
    Points
    275
    Level
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Hello,

    I think Philips must know what the problem is and what estimated costs for repair are. It would be useful if they tell us, so we can decide whether it is worthwhile to send it to repair in advance of making (unnecessary) examining costs and taking all the efforts to get it there.. So Philips please inform us..

    Best regards,
    Roland

  4. #19
    Diamond Member
    Points: 4,685, Level: 20
    Level completed: 9%, Points required for next Level: 365
    Overall activity: 25.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Frequent Poster

    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    1,083
    Points
    4,685
    Level
    20
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    5
    Quote Originally Posted by torilion View Post
    Hello,

    I think Philips must know what the problem is and what estimated costs for repair are. It would be useful if they tell us, so we can decide whether it is worthwhile to send it to repair in advance of making (unnecessary) examining costs and taking all the efforts to get it there.. So Philips please inform us..

    Best regards,
    Roland
    hi torilion,
    guess this is region/ case specific info. call call centre maybe they hv such info?

    hi eric,
    do you hv repair cost info to provide for ref?

  5. #20
    New Member
    Points: 275, Level: 3
    Level completed: 25%, Points required for next Level: 75
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registered250 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    6
    Points
    275
    Level
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    hello kwinnie,

    they say they don't know. however many people have exactly the same problem so at Philips they should know what it is somewhere... I don't understand why you think it is case or region specific since we all have the exact same uncommon problem...

  6. #21
    Moderator
    Points: 10,990, Level: 31
    Level completed: 63%, Points required for next Level: 260
    Overall activity: 16.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!10000 Experience Points
    Philips - Remko's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    555
    Points
    10,990
    Level
    31
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 5 Times in 2 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Dear users,

    The problem described by you is an unknown issue to us. For this reason you should contact your local call center or help desk as mentioned in my earlier post.

    Kind regards,
    Philips Moderation Team
    Forum Mod

  7. #22
    New Member
    Points: 153, Level: 2
    Level completed: 3%, Points required for next Level: 97
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    31 days registered100 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Penzance
    Posts
    3
    Points
    153
    Level
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    Unhappy

    Quote Originally Posted by Philips - Remko View Post
    Dear users,

    The problem described by you is an unknown issue to us. For this reason you should contact your local call center or help desk as mentioned in my earlier post.

    Kind regards,
    Philips Moderation Team

    Help desk couldnt help !

    They say minimum £49 plus vat and parts plus carriage
    Carriage alone will be £60 round trip then say another £60 if we are lucky, so £120 makes it a beyond economics repair and its only less than 4 years old.

    I think it is disgusting that Philips do not help their customers with this problem world wide !
    If it were Samsung , they would sort it quick enough.

    And the worst of it is PHILIPS CLEARLY ARE AWARE OF THIS COMMON PROBLEM OF LOW VOLUME

  8. #23
    New Member
    Points: 275, Level: 3
    Level completed: 25%, Points required for next Level: 75
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registered250 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    6
    Points
    275
    Level
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    yes, it's a shame indeed. not credible at all that they claim it is an 'unknown problem' as there are several people in this discussion already, so they must have had many of these devices in their repair department for this issue and must have heard about it on their 'helpdesk' as well I figure...

  9. #24
    New Member
    Points: 123, Level: 1
    Level completed: 73%, Points required for next Level: 27
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    31 days registered100 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Oregon
    Posts
    1
    Points
    123
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    This cannot be an unknown issue to Phillips because it is posted in their Forum as well as tracked in their call center. I have the same exact problem as of a month ago. We all spent a great deal of money on this product when it was new and cannot believe it only lasted less than 5 years. I could live with the disk door sticking but no sound does not help me at all. Please Phillips get back to us on this so we know how to repair as this should not be a "disposable" unit.

  10. #25
    Platinum Member
    Points: 2,996, Level: 15
    Level completed: 82%, Points required for next Level: 54
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsOverdriveNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Discussion Ender
    Oscar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    722
    Points
    2,996
    Level
    15
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    If it is posted in the forum doesnt mean they (philips) know it I think. The only way looks service so there they can see what happens. One user ericcsz went to repair as it looks but did not come back unfortunatly to tell what the outcome was....
    Anybody else already tried?

  11. #26
    New Member
    Points: 115, Level: 1
    Level completed: 65%, Points required for next Level: 35
    Overall activity: 80.0%
    Achievements:
    31 days registered100 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    2
    Points
    115
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    Same volume problem with HTS 8100 - New user - New information

    Hi,
    This spring I had the same thing happening with my HTS 8100. Only low sound at maximum volume setting (for all sources, being radio, cd, dvd or external (digital). I tried a firmware update, but no improvement.

    However, a month ago, I went on a long trip and disconnected my appliances completely, also the HTS8100. When I came back last week and connected the system again it WORKED!!! It behaved completly normal, volume and all. I was of course very happy. This happiness lasted for a day, after going to stand-by for the night, the problem reappeared the next morning when switching on. Whats going on?
    I now suspect its an amplifier circuit not coming online, or a dampening (protective) circuit beeing activated.


    Anyone had succsess in doing repairs?. I dont want to send it away if no solution is available or the repair beeing to costly?

    Regards

  12. #27
    New Member
    Points: 115, Level: 1
    Level completed: 65%, Points required for next Level: 35
    Overall activity: 80.0%
    Achievements:
    31 days registered100 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    2
    Points
    115
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    UPDATE: I left the system unplugged overnight. When reconnecting the next morning it worked perfectly again. I get the low volume situation sometimes when going to the stand-by or low pwr mode. A possible work-around is to leave the system completely unplugged for some time (overnight?). It works for me at least some of the times. This of course is not a satisfactory solution, but for the moment the only one....? (apart from buying a new one of course).

  13. #28
    New Member
    Points: 110, Level: 1
    Level completed: 60%, Points required for next Level: 40
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    7 days registered100 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Boston/USA
    Posts
    2
    Points
    110
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Similar issue here and its very very frustrating, mine worked great for about a year and a half and that was it, about six months ago I called up philips tech support for advice and they recommend the firmware upgrade which I had already tried with no luck. They then recommended that I call up a third party vendor for better software and when I did, they had no idea what I was talking about so I went down to a local tech who was stumped as well because of the luck of any acknowledgement from Philips that the NO SOUND issue that many of us are experiencing is legitimate and the multiple attempts at the firmware upgrade haven't help.
    I personally appeal to the Philips Moderator assigned to this forum to take time out of your busy schedule and tke to whoever you have to talk to and legitimize this issue because clearly there is a patent of your company's award winning product having issues with producing sound yet the promised sound experience was the main reason we all went out to buy your company's Home Theather System. I think that's only fair to ask of a reputable company with a flagship name PHILIPS.

  14. #29
    New Member
    Points: 110, Level: 1
    Level completed: 60%, Points required for next Level: 40
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    7 days registered100 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Boston/USA
    Posts
    2
    Points
    110
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Similar issue here and its very very frustrating, mine worked great for about a year and a half and that was it, about six months ago I called up philips tech support for advice and they recommend the firmware upgrade which I had already tried with no luck. They then recommended that I call up a third party vendor for better software and when I did, they had no idea what I was talking about so I went down to a local tech who was stumped as well because of the luck of any acknowledgement from Philips that the NO SOUND issue that many of us are experiencing is legitimate and the multiple attempts at the firmware upgrade haven't help.
    I personally appeal to the Philips Moderator assigned to this forum to take time out of your busy schedule and tke to whoever you have to talk to and legitimize this issue because clearly there is a patent of your company's award winning product having issues with producing sound yet the promised sound experience was the main reason we all went out to buy your company's Home Theather System. I think that's only fair to ask of a reputable company with a flagship name PHILIPS.

  15. #30
    Platinum Member
    Points: 2,996, Level: 15
    Level completed: 82%, Points required for next Level: 54
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsOverdriveNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Discussion Ender
    Oscar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    722
    Points
    2,996
    Level
    15
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    But this does not look like a fw issue at all but more like a technical failure

Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Similar Topics

  1. Alarm volume setting on AJ327 problem
    By zaktindegeute in forum Sound: Other Apple Docking Solutions
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-26-2013, 09:05 PM
  2. hts3530 volume setting
    By agentlee in forum Sound: Other Models
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 06-25-2012, 08:11 AM
  3. HSB4383 Low volume on Optical source
    By chrispis in forum Sound: Sound Hub (2.1 system)
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-15-2012, 07:34 PM
  4. HTS9140 low volume for DivX
    By saqman in forum Blu-ray: HTS Series
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-02-2012, 02:31 PM
  5. Low volume on headphone output. Model 26PFL5522D/12
    By Guillaume59 in forum TV: User Interface
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-03-2012, 10:26 AM

Tags for this Topic

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •