Results 1 to 6 of 6
  • Topic Tools
  • Display
  • Bookmark and Share
  1. #1
    Bronze Member
    Points: 770, Level: 7
    Level completed: 10%, Points required for next Level: 180
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    20
    Points
    770
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    Adjust Menu annoyingly slow

    Warming up old posts here (http://www.supportforum.philips.com/...ions-at-once-) )... but is it really just me who is dumbstruck by how the adjust menu (the one that pops up when I press the "Adjust" button on my 37PFL7676K) is designed?

    That menu, which could be a quick and easy access to the most important options, is just so badly designed that it annoys me every time I have to use it. I can't be the only one feeling that way?

    Why put in slow and jittery animations between screens with 3(!!!) configuration options, when actually the whole screen is used anyway and at least all the 10 or so configuration options would fit on one screen easily?

    I also can't imagine that users like to look at the animations when switching between an unnecessary amount of config overview screens, rather than doing what they actually started to do, namely quickly change some configuration!

    Can anybody shed any light on what use the current design should have? Readability from a thousand meters away maybe?

    Sorry if I sound overly accusatory here; it's just that even though I think the hardware quality of my Philips TV is great, and I love it, it feels like its software is in parts really neglected (or badly designed), this post just gives one example of the small problems and annoying stuff encountered daily. Unfortunately it seems, there is no real chance of that improving. But maybe Philips can prove me wrong here!
    Last edited by bfroehler; 08-14-2012 at 11:43 AM. Reason: more details

  2. #2
    Moderator
    Points: 963, Level: 8
    Level completed: 7%, Points required for next Level: 187
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Philips - Marco's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    101
    Points
    963
    Level
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Hi Bfroehler,

    Thanks for your feedback and please accept our apologies if the menu did not meet your expectations.

    Your request was escalated to the technical team and it will be considered during the next software update and for the development of new products.

    Regards,
    Marco
    Forum Mod

  3. #3
    Bronze Member
    Points: 770, Level: 7
    Level completed: 10%, Points required for next Level: 180
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    20
    Points
    770
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    Thumbs up Thanks!

    Quote Originally Posted by Philips - Marco View Post
    Your request was escalated to the technical team and it will be considered during the next software update and for the development of new products.
    Thanks for your quick reply! I know it may look like a small issue on first glance, but for me it's not (since I really use that menu a lot).

  4. #4
    New Member
    Points: 118, Level: 1
    Level completed: 68%, Points required for next Level: 32
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    31 days registered100 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    1
    Points
    118
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    I want to second that this issue really needs to be priority #1. A user experience this slow would not have been accepted in any other instance or device usage. Only reason people accept it is they probably rarely or never use it (also because it is so tremendously slow).

    Please remove the unnecessary animations and reorganize the first menu screen. And for the love of god do some optimization, you claim to use a dual core processor in some of your tvs but despite this the menus are slower than menus in a tv from 1995! Ridiculous.

    Quote Originally Posted by bfroehler View Post
    Thanks for your quick reply! I know it may look like a small issue on first glance, but for me it's not (since I really use that menu a lot).

  5. #5
    New Member
    Points: 160, Level: 2
    Level completed: 10%, Points required for next Level: 90
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Tagger Second ClassNew Achievement!31 days registered100 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Stockholm Sweden
    Posts
    5
    Points
    160
    Level
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    I also have to agree with the posts above concerning the "adjust"-menu. Why oh why only show three (gigantic) icons at a time? - And WHY the totaly unnecessary, painfully slow animations when switching page to view another three (3!!) icons?

    Don't you test your products for usability?

    Scrap the animations - shrink the icons, include at least nine (preferably all - there aren' t that many!) in the next firmware update.

    Edit: I own a Cinema 21:9 gold - and it IS a superb TV. But it's somewhat ruined by the poor handling, and that is a real shame!

  6. #6
    New Member
    Points: 160, Level: 2
    Level completed: 10%, Points required for next Level: 90
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Tagger Second ClassNew Achievement!31 days registered100 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Stockholm Sweden
    Posts
    5
    Points
    160
    Level
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    My post just disappeared - so i'll try again..

    I also have to agree with the posts above concerning the "adjust"-menu. Why oh why only show three (gigantic) icons at a time? - And WHY the totaly unnecessary, painfully slow animations when switching page to view another three (3!!) icons?

    Don't you test your products for usability?

    Scrap the animations - shrink the icons, include at least nine (preferably all - there aren' t that many!) in the next firmware update.

    I own a Cinema 21:9 gold - and it IS a superb TV. But it's somewhat ruined by the poor handling, and that is a real shame!

Similar Topics

  1. BDP3200 annoyingly HUGE OSD symbols
    By MidnightManiac in forum Blu-ray: BDP2000 & 3000 Series
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 09-28-2012, 10:06 AM
  2. Slow adjust menu animation
    By EdgarPrao in forum TV: Software 2011 models
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 09-27-2012, 03:30 AM
  3. NP3500 unusable: latency, menu navigation dead slow, auto power-off too fast
    By gs27 in forum Sound: Streamium NP Series (NP3900|NP3700|NP3500|NP3300|NP2900)
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 03-28-2012, 10:49 PM
  4. Slow menu animations between adjust screens.
    By goodboy in forum TV: User Interface
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-17-2012, 11:25 AM
  5. Bug adjust menu / NetTV
    By Huub in forum Smart TV: User Interface
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 11-19-2011, 08:57 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •